1997 Acura CL

Change Vehicle
1997 Acura CL
Available in 2 styles:  CL 2dr Coupe 2.2 shown
Asking Price Range
$906–$6,082
Estimated MPG

20–25 city / 28–31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Best Car I've Ever Owned

by Love My CL! from Dallas, TX | April 6, 2013

I bought my 5-speed Cl in 1998 when it had 24,000 miles. Love this car & don't ever plan on selling it. Just got 26 mpg of combined city & highway in Dallas, TX. Just be aware that the ABS regulator is probably not working, as the replacement is $1,400 just for the part. Other than that mine is fully maintained including leather repair on the driver's seat, & recovering the console cover with added padding (which I highly recommend). I used to think the exterior styling was plain, however, now I think it's beautiful.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Black Beauty just keeps runnin

by Honda Lover from ny | April 5, 2012

It's a 97 2.2CL, which has 199,XXX miles on it as of today. Still on the original clutch, motor, and transmission. Just brakes, tires, tunes ups, fluid and oil changes for this car. The body's a little beat up but she still drives well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


All around great car, very reliable, very powerful

by Dan the Acura man from West Monroe, LA | December 20, 2011

This car has 192xxx miles, stock motor and tranny and has been driven very hard and still holds up. Only problems with the whole car is door window motors are weak. Very recommended car! I'm a very satisfied customer of Acura/Honda.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Not as the description described

by Mickey from Baltimore, MD | August 10, 2010

I went to view the car and it is was way more damage done in the inside and out than what is actually listed. When starting up the car it did not sound to well. I would not perferr this car to anyone that I know who is looking for something reliable and neat.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Cant go wrong

by DJR from NC | February 12, 2010

We've always been big on Hondas for many reasons. One day I may be able to afford a new, off the showroom Acura but until then, I'll settle on my 1997 CL 3.0. I bought this Acura with around 70,000 miles on it...it currently has 160,000 miles now, and is just as strong as its ever been. I've seen many reports of 97 models still running great in the 300k+ range. Its been as trouble free as our 2002 Accord. Replaced window motor, and brakes once. Keep the oil changed in these CLs and they'll drive forever. It has the reliabilty of any typical Honda, the luxury of a Lexus, the comfort of a lazy-boy and plenty of power, which we all like. The seats are roomy, and 2 adults can sit in the back without being too cramped. The Bose sound system has a decent quality sound. The heated seats are a plus during the cold months. The 200 HP Vtech is considerably quick and always fun to drive although stepping on the pedal comes at a price. Unlike the Accords and Civics, it doesnt get the best MPG. Didnt take long to notice this difference. Cant think of alot of changes I'd make except of course a 5-speed transmission and a more sporty exterior design. I'm thankful mine came with a spoiler. Without one these, the body style is somewhat bland to look at.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Fun & Reliable - Great Combo

by Driving Enthusiast from Nashville, TN | August 29, 2009

I bought my 1997 5-speed 2.2 CL with 50,000 miles on it in 2002. Still driving it today without an issue & I'm up to 175,000 miles and expect to keep it for at least to 200K. Very comfortable ride, good for both around town and long highway trips. Have even been a passenger in the back seat for a long trip or two, and it really does fit 2 adults comfortably. Gas mileage is terrific. On long trips it averages 30 mpg, around town it's 25 mpg. Takes regular gas - a treat when the prices start rising. With a big trunk & plenty of room for storing "stuff" in the doors, behind the seats, the center armrest, etc., if you spend a lot of time in your car - this is a great choice. This car replaced the 1991 Integra I'd bought new and had for 150,000 miles. Acura/Honda makes a great product.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


wonderful car

by 97 Acura 3.0 CL from Pebble Beach, California | May 18, 2009

We bought this new, loved it from the day we saw it and still do. Very Very comfortable & spacious interior for tall or large people. Wonderful seats, easy controls, and excellent all-around visibility make this car more outstanding than anything else out there. We have shopped for a new car several times over the past four years, and every time after looking at everything, we always decide to keep the 3.0CL. It is as good or better than any new car out there. Ours has been dealer serviced and we expect to keep it for at least another 10 problem-free years. If you find one for sale, you cant go wrong with this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


stored in my garage

by collector BOB W from CHAMBERSBURG PA | December 18, 2007

well yes i love my car, i bought it new in 96, a earily 97 CL , a rare 5 speed loaded up, i collect cars and i think this will be a future collector car for me, as of today 12-18 07 it only has 2000 miles on the car, maybe people think im nuts to buy a new car and put it away, some day someone will be glad i keep the first year for a new model. bob from pa its a Keeper for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Still a Great Car!

by Happy CL Owner from Dallas, TX | May 19, 2006

Date: May 2006 I recently bought a very clean '97 CL 3.0 Premium last month with 101K miles for 22% off original list and it is a wounderful ride. Runs & shifts very smoothly. Comfortable, quiet, quick and it should be good for another 100K miles without any major expense. And I can get 2 sets of golf clubs in the trunk easily, which is more than I can say about the 2002 Volvo S60 this car is replacing. I'll never buy another new car again. Only quality used cars good for 80K-100K+ miles after the original owner has taken 70%-80% depreciation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


rich

by rich from philly | May 15, 2006

its a nice first car i guess. i had an integra for a few months, then upgraded to the 3.0CL because it is a little bigger. it is nice it hasn't given me any problems, except the door handle broke once, but was replaced for under $100. it is a good car ill keep it for about 4 years. i just 100k, no problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Acura CL

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.