2001 Acura MDX

Change Vehicle

2001 Acura MDX

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  MDX shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$3,735–$10,627

Estimated MPG

17 city / 23 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

Do not buy MDX

by Michelle from Los Angeles, CA | September 2, 2011

Problems from day one - large bills constantly, paint oxidize, lights oxidize, raido doesn't work fixed four times, Acura does not stand behind. To bad because nice looking, comfortable and wish it was reliable. Had since new and always took care of - just not a good suv

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


most reliable car I've owned

by luxurious car from Douala - Cameroon | December 9, 2010

I will advice many people to buy acura MDX it is a reliable and comfortable car for family and friend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by dont do it!!!!!! from ny | October 12, 2010

this particular car is horrendous wasted time going to see it only find out no nav disc the interior is awful and the price is too high....b careful with this one!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great Vehicle

by MDX from | July 8, 2010

Highly recommend the MDX - extremely reliable and well-appointed. Great family vehicle with seven seats. Leather interior, good sound system, lots of room in the back.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


MDX is a Beast

by Acura Lover from N/A | March 26, 2010

I recently acquired my mother's 2001 Acura MDX. She was the original owner and put 173,000 miles on it. She had very little trouble with it and when I needed a car I was glad she was also in the market. Despite the mileage I am confident this vehicle will serve us well for at least a couple more years. It is extremely versatile and, of course, dependable. The MDX is a bit underpowered and uses a lot of gas. That being said, if you are considering a mid-size luxury or even near luxury SUV You will be hard pressed to match the balance of the Acura MDX.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


You cannot go wrong with this SUV!

by Racer MDX from Cleveland, Ohio | January 5, 2010

Great in the snow. Easy to maneuver - tight turning radius, Bose sound system, heated seats, spacious and quiet for long trips or around town. Everything you could want or need in a luxury SUV at a great price!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Never an issue

by Zounds from Los Angeles, CA | June 29, 2009

I was never once surprised by a mechanical issue. I replaced items as they were recommended by manufacturer life limit, and I handled the one significant recall item (Tranny, EGR Valve) and sold it only because my needs changed to require a pure truck. Loved the car for 70K miles after buying used at 48K. That third row came in handy a several times. Sorry to see it go.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Buy a Lexus

by Palmar from Chicago, IL | April 4, 2009

If you can get away with the smaller Lexus, do it. The quality diff is huge. From the day I bought my MDX, certified used with 50k, its poor overall quality has been apparent. Dont get me wrong, its not a Ford, but a luxury vehicle its not. A/C was the first to go out, 2 months after buying. Moisture runs in the window shaft during rain, snow, or after car wash and then gets the inside of the window wet if you roll the window down, which when in the winter when salt dries inside the window is pretty annoying. Trannie issues, rattling issues, and gas tank clunking. All of which Im told from dealer are "characteristic" of the MDX and there's nothing to be done. Im told these problems were fixed in later model years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Just Solid

by MDX Owner from White Plains, NY | November 11, 2008

I bought my MDX with 108K on it. I have had it for 6 months now, and have 115K. This is just an all-around solid vehicle. It's as inoffensive as a vehicle can be. The ride is quite comfortable and yet it handles as well as a sporty car. There's barely any lean on turn, and it simply sticks to the road. The thing that really stands out to me is how well everything works. Well over 100K and the seats are still great, not too mushy. Everything works perfectly. Every button, every lever, everything you touch is solid. Even opening and closing the windows and moonroof is a joy. There is a wonderful solid thud with each window/door/lock and every power option is trust inspiring. Make no mistake, this is not a Bentley, or a Porsche, but it is about as good in every area as a car can be. One note: '01-'02 MDX/Pilot/Odyssey had a tranny problem from design. You can go to Acura's website and enter your vin, and it will tell you if the recall was taken care of. Most had a jet oil kit installed to get fluid to the 2nd gear which was burning out too soon. That being said, 95% of these vehicles have been fine. Most of the others had the trannys replaced under the extended warranty, or quite often Honda has split the cost to install a reman. Your absolute worst case scenario would be a tranny replacement at a cost of roughly $3000. But remember, most MDXs are perfectly fine, and that $3K is mostly already reflected in the resale value. You can pick up a good '01 for about $10K, which is significantly less than you would pay for anything else that would even come close to the quality of this vehicle. Also, it's my experience that Acura/Honda takes great pride in their reliability ratings, and will almost always offer some concession to ensure the owner is satisfied. Buy it, you'll love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great vehicle for local, highway and off road uses

by Heavy duty truck service sales representative from Louisville, KY | October 11, 2008

Just bought mine and got a great deal, 86K miles, near perfect condition and only paid 8K with trade of 1997 Grand Prix with 122,000 miles that was worn out. Feel very forunate to have found this deal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Acura MDX

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.