2002 Acura MDX

Change Vehicle
2002 Acura MDX

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2002 Acura MDX 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$4,222–$11,058
Estimated MPG

17 city / 23 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

2002 Acura MDX Touring with NAV

by NDSUARCH from Eagan, MN | December 27, 2012

Recently purchased a used 2002 MDX, and so far is has been an excellent vehicle. Very comfortable, drives and handles very nicely, and in my opinion is still an aesthetically pleasing vehicle even after 11 years. The vehicle still has the original bose speakers and they still sound great! I also like that if I ever need to replace or upgrade the speakers, they are very easy to get to. Even though the NAV is 11 years old, it is still very usefull and easy to use. Very much enjoy the MDX and look forward to owning it for many years to come.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2008 Acura MDX

by ll from Little Rock, AR | May 6, 2011

This car has 150,000 miles - has been a great car. No real problem - the transmission went out and had to be replaced about 80,000. after that there has been very little problem -I have run regular gas most of the time - it calls for premium - this has clogged up the engine a few times - other than tha, it gets about 20 MPG and runs every day.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Cheapest vehicle I've ever owned

by dinahmite from | April 26, 2011

213K miles and never a problem. Most expensive purchase price, least amount in maintenance and repairs. Avg. 22.8 MPG. Got 45-80K on every set of tires. Sloping rear reduced interior cargo space. Interior finishes, such as vinyl and plastic, very thin and scratched easily. Would have purchased a new one except Honda/Acura has sloped the rear even more and there's even less room there now. Got a Honda Pilot instead.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Exceptional Used Car I've ever had

by doubledown from Richmond, TX | February 26, 2011

I bought a used 2002 MDX from a private seller and I must say THANK YOU. Well cared for, all maintenance documented and just flat out a creamy ride. Thanks Cars.com

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car

by Car shopper from Acura of portland | November 19, 2010

Smooth ride, slight scratch on the right corner of car, small tear in leather seat on passenger side.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Anticipate Transmission Replacement

by jj0103 from Long Island, NY | April 15, 2010

This vehicle has a known transimission issue under NHTSA recall 04V176000 due to gear failure that could result in transmission lockup. This is exactly what happened to me at 113k miles. While driving 35mph the front end seized causing the vehicle to skid 5-7 feet coming to a halt. Luckily theere were no cars behind me thus avoiding an accident. Acura wanted close to $7k to fix the transmission and is using plausible deniability of a known safety concern (likely to avoid the similar class action lawsuit for the same issue in the TL, CL & the Oddessy.) I would only recommend this vehicle if 1) you don't have a family that you care about that would be driving in the vehicle and 2) if you are a transmission mechanic. Otherwise, be prepared for trouble as there are hundreds of similar cases that have been cited on online message boards over the years for this year of the MDX.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Great All-Around SUV

by Joe from Sun Valley, ID | September 9, 2009

This is my first luxury SUV I've ever owned, and hopefully my last! I've owned a '94 Toyota Camry, a '95 Honda Accord, and a '93 Chevrolet Suburban, and extensively driven plenty of other vehicles. My MDX has 136,000 miles and gets 18mpg in the city and 23mpg on the interstate. For potential buyers, I'll list some of the pros and cons of this vehicle. Pros Steering & Handling: I live in a mountain region so the exceptionally tight steering and suspension are put to use on a regular basis. Also, Acura used a shorter, wider wheelbase for this vehicle which shortens the turning radius and makes the vehicle VERY easy to maneuver in the city. Interior: The leather, in spite of being 7 years old, has held up nicely. The local climate is very dry so I recently started using a leather conditioner. Some nice features are the third row seat, the ease at folding the seats up and down to take advantage of the massive cargo area, and the additional power outlets in the jockey box and rear cargo area. A very well thought-out interior. AWD: This system is managed by the car computer and sends most of the power to the front wheels. When slippage occurs, power is automatically transferred to the rear wheels. Snowy and icy roads are the norm here for 4 months out of the year and the system performs very well under these adverse conditions. Honorable mentions: Bose 9 speaker sound system, V-TEC engine, Sun Roof, Heated Seats (a must in cold climates) and all the other standard included features. Cons Ride: The downside of a tight suspension is that rough roads can make for a rough ride. Also I had to rebuild most of the front suspension at 120,000 miles. Noise: On smooth roads, the noise is negligible, unless there is wind. With rough roads and/or wind, be prepared to put in the earplugs! Hill Climbing All of the great features on this vehicle do add quite a bit of weight, and getting this car up a hill requires a LOT of gas. It will climb okay, but be prepared to sacrifice your gas mileage. That's pretty much it for the cons. On a scale of 1-10 I would give this vehicle an 8.5

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good car

by Acura Enthusiast from San Jose, CA | July 26, 2009

All in all THE best cars in its class for that year. Roomy, excellent handling and very very smooth. Interior design required some more attention from Acura engineers - buttons and switches not in the most intuitive, comfortable or visible location. One disappointment, but I blame it on luck, transmission gave at 100K :(

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Tranny problems

by lemon anyone? from NY | June 11, 2008

I shopped for a Toyota and ended up with the MDX. Although I loved the car for the biggest part up until now, I have to say that I am extremely disappointed to find that I need a new transmission at 100,000 miles. That would be expectable if this was a Ford, but I expected to see this car go at least 150,000 before I had to change the tranny. After reading up on the Acura "blogs", I now find out that Acura had increased the size of the engine, thereby cutting back on the size of the tranny. The '02 & '03 Acura's are apparently known for this problem. Unfortunately, Acura doesn't want to hear about the problem. I am now shopping for that Toyota I should have purchased 4 years ago.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


3rd Row is nice in luxury mid-size

by Eddie from Seattle | April 1, 2008

My wife and I are not the mini-van types, but have two wonderful children, so we do need space. We quickly found out how difficult is was to find a luxury mid-size SUV with a third row. We really wanted a BMW X5, but of course no third row until 2007. The MDX is really nice, but an absolute gas hog. Just a little drive from the suburbs into the city and back again, you are looking at about 1/4 tank of gas. We are getting 14.9 city and 17.6 highway. With the price of gas these days, I recommend getting a luxury 4-door car, a smaller CRV-type, or gasp, a mini-van. It's not that this MDX isn't a beautiful car, but with the price of gas and the environmental concerns, I recommend buying something with a higher mpg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Acura MDX

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.