2005 Acura MDX

Change Vehicle
2005 Acura MDX

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2005 Acura MDX 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$6,442–$16,230
Estimated MPG

17 city / 23 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

Best Used Crossover

by Big Jim from WI | May 3, 2014

3.5 Honda is proven bulletproof. I'm not sure how people are getting such low mpg- for me it's 26-27 highway (65-70 mph) and 17-20 around town, if I'm easy on the throttle. So comfortable! Cheaper than a used Pilot or a highlander around here! How can you go wrong?? (You can't ;)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Still luv it 5 years later

by luv mdx from East hanover, nj | June 30, 2013

I bougt this car over 5 years ago. It was certified from Acura. I have never had any problems. It is reliable, safe, great in snow and drives very nice. Probably will get another used MDX when the time comes. I have 90,000 miles on it and no complaints.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Better than expected

by mom of 2 boys from Orlando, FL | September 24, 2012

I have always been a Honda lover, but with a 3 year old and a 5 year old, as well as a 6'4 husband, I needed more space than,my accord could offer. We test drove the Pacifica and MDX, and I just had to have the MDX. As a taller family of 4, I needed leg room all around, and the added bells and whistles of the leather interior, nav, DVD system, xm radio, and third row seat had me sold. I know acura is a luxury car, but I wasn't expecting the perfection we got for the $. We've haf our baby for 2 months, and its proven safe, reliable, and more than comfortable for the whole family

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A good car

by Carloplum from Cherry hill NJ | March 28, 2012

The MDX was a great car, I drive about 28K a year. At 100k it needed cadalitic converters and a timing belt $4000. But trade in was $11,000 so we decided to trade in

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


I am in love with my vehicle

by GI Jane from Fort Worth TX | January 30, 2012

I bought this vehicle used from a dealer. Got very good deal at end of year. Only had it a couple of months, but I do have a 1996 RL and love it also. Would always recommed Acura.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Car i have owned

by Winter Driver from New England | October 17, 2011

My Acura MDX 2005, is the best vehicle i have owned. IT is very comfortable, excellent in winter driving, dependable, in short, it is worth evey penny. The only things i could possibly complain about are cabin noise, which is higher than it should be for a luxury vehicle, and gas mileage. But the mileage is decent on hwy, i have gotten 23 mpg, which is reasonable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Value!

by LordT3rd from Boston, MA | February 24, 2011

I bought this car used in 2008 with 40k miles and it performs like new. Never had any problems and never went to the shop. It's comfortable, the handling is great, the leg room and cargo space are good size. The only negative i can think of is the milage wich i am getting about 17mpg on average which i guess you kinda expect from a mid-size suv.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Overall good but not great

by owner from nevada | October 28, 2010

Reliability has been very good. Cabin is noisey, road noise pronounced. Door unlocking process is a pain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good but not great....

by jcwCT from New Haven, CT | September 10, 2010

We have put 80,000 miles on our MDX and, overall, it has been a good but not great vehicle. Driven day to day, and on long highway trips, the MDX performs very well. Engine & transmission performance, ride, handling, and NVH are all excellent. Fuel economy is consistent with the revised EPA ratings of 15 city/ 21 highway. And overall build quality is exscellent. That said, we have had the following problems: -- the brake rotors are clearly undersized and prone to warping. We have had to get them recut or replaced four times. -- the dash vents are flimsy, and three out of the four have broken over the years -- the AC system recently developed a leak and lost its refrigerant charge. Our local (excellent) mechanic could not locate the leak with either a leak detector or using the dye method. He recharged the system, it seemed to be working well, but lost its charge again after one month -- every few months since new, the stability control warning light comes on when the car has been parked overnight. Stopping the car, turning the engine off, and restarting corrects the problem. Nothing seems to be wrong with the system, and no diagnositc code is recorded.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I love the car!!!

by NW from Schaumburg, IL | July 23, 2010

I have been using MDX SUV for over five years. I have two kids and long communte to work, this car is very safe and reliable. It's one of the most popular SUV for family and good for winter time. No wonder it is the best sold SUV for Chicago area.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2005 Acura MDX.


Featured Services for this Acura MDX

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.