2012 Acura MDX

Change Vehicle
2012 Acura MDX
Available in 3 styles:  2012 Acura MDX 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$26,879–$38,111
Estimated MPG

16 city / 21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

20 out of 22 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 22 reviews

Can't beat this vehicle

by Tex from Texas | November 28, 2013

Have had it for about 15 months. Very nice overall package. It is comfortable, the ergonomics inside are just right, it is not too big and not too small, it is nimble and very confident in fast turns, and drives smaller than it is with plenty of power. Areas where it needs improvement are unacceptable MPG(21 on the highway), some road noise in coarse surfaces, and taut ride that sometime borders on nervous. The grille is another story, but after looking at it a couple of times you get used to it. It seems they could not come up with anything else distinctive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good car for the money. balanced package

by Suburban dad from Ridgewood, NJ | August 17, 2013

Wife and I shopped around a lot of different cars in class including Lexus RX, BMWX5, Infiniti JX. Each had their pros and cons, but looking at all, the Acura had the best balance of attributes. It was sporty enough (though cant compare to the X5's V8), spacious enough having an actually functional third row and the price was right cons include the crazy amount of buttons, the fuel economy and the blind spots.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Nice SUV

by JFB from MI | May 20, 2013

Handling in corners is amazing for a big fwd. Falls short of my BMW 330 sport, but orders of magnitude better than any other SUVs I have driven including our Pilot. Can be pretty heavy footed in the corners and still waiting for the lean that magically never seems to come.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I love love love this car!!

by JP from Gainesville, FL | March 16, 2013

This is the most stylish, luxurious, high-performance, amazing car I have ever owned. It has exceeded my expectations and I cannot imagine owning any vehicle other than an Acura MDX in the future. It drives like a sports car but rides like a luxury car and has the safety and space of a mid-size SUV. AMAZING!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


What are they thinking?

by ew from Bay Area, CA | January 11, 2013

Fuel efficiency unacceptable. Why not at least use cylinder deactivation like on Pilot. Why not diesel? New VW/Audi diesel significantly better at motivating this much tonnage, efficiency about a third better. Voice technology terrible, useless, must learn the Acura language. Blue tooth phone link also useless since sound is so bad can't have a conversation. Rattles, luxury Japanese autos should not. Lots of rattles some almost seem to be intentionally designed into the vehicle like the rattle that comes from the passenger seat belt receptacle or the one that comes from the top of where the 2nd row seat splits. AC and fan direction hidden when you turn on HVAC. Why? This is a distraction. Buttons are very hard to navigate like they want to force you to use the horrible voice activation system. Distraction. No interest in the car choosing the fan speed for me when I want to defrost the front windshield, sometimes I just need a little air flow, not gale force winds. Can't shut the 2 middle vents in front. Really? Fake wood is bearable but positioned so you get blinded by sun's reflection for prolonged periods when driving NE or making left turns. They can't figure out a rain sensing windshield wiper system? In California you must have your headlights on when your windshield wipers are in use. They can't program the "auto" switch on the headlight control to make the headlights turn on when the windshield wipers are in use. No, that would be intelligent, even luxurious. No power folding mirrors? Really? Interior is pretty nice and comfortable other than horrible control layout. It's been known for decades that knobs are better than buttons at things like changing temperature and fan speed. With a knob I could just go from zero fan speed to 1, or 2, etc., without having to verify on the tiny screen (no ON/OFF button required). Same with temperature, could just twist a knob if I'm too warm or cold not have too look over and down taking my eyes off the road. Why not show changes on the NAV/infotainment screen? Transmission wants to up-shift as early as possible to save gas I guess. This makes the downshift paddle necessary but the up-shift paddle unused. Tranny could probably use a few more gears but it is smooth except when you roll a stop and it clunks down when you hit the gas. Sport mode is pretty good. If the car didn't drive better than 95% of all other SUV's with 3 rows of seats I would call it a total loss.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Just love it!

by koolken from MONTREAL CANADA | December 22, 2012

Just wish the technology package would include mexico in their teck pack. It s to bad that the dealers in canada are so greedy. I saved 10,000$ by purchasing this car practically brand new in the USA.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Very nice car - '12 MDX

by no nick from Northern AZ | December 20, 2012

Very nice car and a lot of bang for the buck. It's my wife's car and she loves it...................

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Love our new MDX

by Happy MDX Owner from Springfeild, MO | October 17, 2012

We drove the RDL and liked it a lot and considered a purchase and just for kicks we drove the MDX and guess what we drove home in our new MDX the same day. Great vehicle and Great working with the staff at the local ACURA dealership. We are into day our fourth day of ownership and still loving the great ride from the MDX. Thanks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


love this cat!

by Repeat MDX Owner from San Francisco, CA | October 1, 2012

We love our new MDX. We owned a 2004 MDX which we traded in for a 2008 Toyota highlander Hybrid limited. Although the Highlander was tricked out, and was more expensive than our previous MDX, it did not get any better gas mileage (likely due to my husband and I both having a lead foot)... All the while I pined for our old MDX (The on that got away). It took four years, but we finally got a new MDX, everything but the external sensors and air conditioned seats. Love, love this car. I wish it were a bit more fuel efficient. But it is a sweet ride, great for long trips, plenty of room for kiddies and pets. Very satisfied customers. :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2012 MDX

by kframe99 from houston, tx | September 16, 2012

Great vehicle so far. Interior is over the top beautiful. Technology is crazy, almost too much. Plenty of power, great handling, drives like a car. Bluetooth, nav, USB, Onstar, etc. Everything you need

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 22 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Acura MDX.


Featured Services for this Acura MDX

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.