2002 Acura TL

Change Vehicle

2002 Acura TL

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2002 Acura TL 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,635–$9,443

Estimated MPG

19 city / 29 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

most reliable car i have owned

by usanyc99 from Brooklyn NY | August 18, 2013

super car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great car but...

by Dinghy60 from Brooklyn, NY | August 13, 2013

I bought my 2002 TL in 2001. It runs great and have not had any engine issues. I give it 3 stars for reliability because at 45,000 miles I had to put in a new transmission. Rides well, still looks great, fit and finish are holding up well although the front drivers seat as 3 cracks in the leather which I did treat from time to time. Also wheel covers pit easily, I kept them clean and got the break dust off regularly but still pitted. Changed the battery and had a major problem resetting the radio. Controls are well placed and it offers a smooth comfortable ride. I can give this car 4 stars overall.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Dave from Covington, LA | May 9, 2013

Really nice interior, however; I don't like the back end of the exterior. The only negatives I would put on this car is the requirement for premium gas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Cannot believe these reviews

by needyouradvice from Southlake, TX | September 29, 2012

I bought a 2002 TLS brand new. Albeit the car is a nice riding car with a balance of power and luxury. I was simply disappointed in the total cost of ownership relating to the poor quality and reliability of this car. That is why I am shocked at some of these reviews. Aside from normal maintenance, here were the key areas that struck me this way. First, I am on my third transmission, thank God that it was all under warranty. But at that rate, I was replacing transmissions every 35k. Second, the disc rotors would warp every 35k. After my second time with that costly repair, I installed Brembos and had no problem since. My third item is that the engine mounts need to be replaced every 30k. Thats $800 a pop. And lastly dont buy cars with low profile tires. Havent found a tire that lasts over 30k. Been replacing them every couple years. I have been an avid Honda lover for years until now. Run.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


2002 Acura TL

by TL from | September 15, 2012

The best vehicle I've owned. As with all cars, some parts needed to be replaced over time. After ten years, though, it nearly runs like new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most reliable car I've owned

by Acura from Maryland | August 21, 2012

Nothing bad to say about this car. I bought it used and drove up the miles. Only things replaced were the timing belt and breaks. Very reliable and safe car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


all around great sport sedan (type-S)

by acura owner from chicago | February 4, 2011

After 80k miles it has all the energy, keeps comfort, good milleage and never breaks. keep rotating tires often to give them more longevity; 260bhp are a bit demanding on the front wheel drive. very few choices of good all-year tires if you live in cold climates (expect at least $700-800) a set.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Recurring Transmission Problems

by Sam from Texas | May 3, 2010

Bought a 2000 model. Transmission went out recently. The extended warranty is out at 100k miles. Transmissions on these models are horrible. Dealer wanted $3500 to replace transmission. Do not buy this car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Excellent car since it is a Honda

by lookingforacar from New Jersey | July 7, 2009

Honda makes great cars that are reliable and long lasting. My 2002 TL Type-S has decent power and handling for a sedan and has given me no problems whatsoever. There was a recall for a hot 3rd gear (oil cooler installed I think) but other than that and normal maintenance it has been great. 7-8 years old and approaching 69K miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great car

by edelman from Columbus, OH | February 10, 2009

I love this car. Never had any problems, super comfortable, great features, and strong as a tank. Highly recommended.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2002 Acura TL.


Featured Services for this Acura TL

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.