1998 Audi A4

Change Vehicle

1998 Audi A4

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  A4 4dr Sedan 2.8 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$800–$6,068

Estimated MPG

18–23 city / 29–32 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Nice little car for girls

by Ideaman from Granville, OH | May 26, 2012

We have this car for the last nine years. It require usual regular maintenance. It is very good runner. Our daughter love this car. It gives between 28 and 30 mpg on highway and approximately 24 mpg in town. Delinquent has started steeling the side strips. We got the dealer to fix the strips and again someone stole both side strips. It happend in Youngstown, OH.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


No. 1 Car to own, So useful and reliable

by Audiman from New England | May 27, 2011

This car is great! i bought mine used in 2008 and it's been a great time ever since. the heated leather seats are so comfortable and the bose sound system sounded brand new: crisp and clean, not to mention loud if i wanted! The 2.8 v6 produces the perfect amount of power to have great torque without killing the mpg. and the Quattro all-wheel-drive system is so great. It feels like a perfects dry road even in the worst of rainstorms! It can take snow like a champ and when the rear seats fold down, it has so much cargo space, you can't go wrong with this car. It may be classified as a wagon, but it's such a classy car, it looks so nice

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Oldie but goodie

by A4 from West Bloomfield, MI | June 16, 2010

Great car for the age and money. Bought car used and it has been a great transportation value. Good mileage as well as comfortable ride with good handling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


First Car

by audiphile from Easton PA | June 12, 2010

This car is great! I love the look and so do all of my friends. It is very comfortable especially on long rides. even though it is twelve years old i would take it over many of the new cars on the road. It has many features and is so much fun to drive. It is great for people like me who ski too because of the quattro and ski sack. I hope to hold on to this one for a while. The thing that bothers me about the car is its reliability. I am lucky it is under warranty, but it is a fair trade off if you ask me to the incredible comfort, handling, and style.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


not too shabby

by audi maniac from Wauconda, IL | March 18, 2010

Overall its a great car to have. Its well on gas and if you like to floor it once in a while you got that too. Ive had no problems so far with it except when ever I turn the heater on it makes a weird noise under the hood.Handling is good it kinda slides once in a while when the snow comes in. But i still would recommend an audi to everybody!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


audi 98 reliability terrible great driving

by wife's car unreliable from chicago | December 28, 2009

we bought the car 2004 with 46000 was great for 5 years. We have spent 2200 this year on sensor engine lights and now need to spend another er1500 on a leaky rack and pinion and it needs brakes for the second time probably another 600. If you can afford the repairs, like the $75 dollar oil filter. Its a great driver. and heated seats are awesome. but its too expensive to fix.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


AUDI MAN

by Mills from Pa | August 10, 2007

Overall a GREAT CAR, I will never buy any other car other than an Audi, truly an amazing car. The quattro is great, never had any problems going through snow

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Bonded with, but..

by MidLife Crisis from South Carolina | March 31, 2007

Bought used in 2000. Never enjoyed driving a vehicle so much. Handling is its greatest asset. It has the 2.8 L engine with Quattro, which exudes power and control. That said, at 91K, it needs tie rods. Biggest weakness is display unit for trip computer, etc. It fades fast with time. Been replaced twice, and becomes unreadable after a year or so.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


It's a "cute" car.

by Young Saloon Enthusiast from Seattle, WA | February 16, 2007

This car is wonderful on gas if your looking for performance with economical benefits. The exterior styling is sporty and playful, The interior is very basic, but elegent at the same time. Maintance is very easy for the do-it-yourself. Handling is very good around corners, and glides across the street very nicely. For the money though I would reccommend getting a similar car offered by BMW.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Most reliable and exciting to drive car I've owned

by Car Enthusiast from TX | December 23, 2006

This car won driver of the year car 2 years in a row and is without a doubt a pleasure to drive. The car sticks to the road cornering beautifully. A real treat to any car driver enthusiast. This car is a drivers car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Audi A4

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.