1996 BMW 318

Change Vehicle
1996 BMW 318
Available in 4 styles:  318 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$978–$7,478
Estimated MPG

23 city / 31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Good performance, gas milage and very reliable

by Baskerville from Washington, DC | December 11, 2012

The BMW 318 IC car is very reliable that is why I am seeking a 2nd 1996 -1999 318 IC White with a Tan interior in good condition. My preference is 5 speed trsnsmission but I will settle for an automatic. Baskerville

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great bargain performance and versatility

by 318ti driver in Seattle from Seattle, WA | April 16, 2012

Great city and touring (small) car while still having seating in the rear that doesn't leave adults too cramped. MPGs in the 20s, minimal maintenance and unexpected service requirements (though a owners' manual service interval versus BMW's "schedules" light would be nice). I've run Falken tires (Ziex 512s) and need to find something different, as these tires lasted 26k or promised 50k. Not tires' fault though, nor my driving habits - I baby the car so I hope it lasts. I have put about 30k on the clock and I got it about 6 years ago when it was around 25k. Timeless styling on the E36.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car will buy again

by Dryclean from Cleveland OH | March 23, 2011

I bought this car used 10 years ago with 40,000. I now have 240,000 I have replaced the water pump and alternator 1 battery 1 big brake job. Always got me to where I am going. People think it is a newer model Love this car looking for anouther

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Car I ever had!! I have the 318is

by wallabbie from Plano, Tx | May 15, 2009

and I still have it at 100,000 miles- it drives like a dream. A couple of mechanical things had stopped functioning correctly, like the electric windows, but I had them fixed and am good to go! mpg is still around 25 in the city. Engine pickup is amazing for a 4 cylinder. Great little car. My mechanic told me this is one of the best models ever and to hang on to it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Solid Fun

by German auto enthusiast from indiana | April 19, 2008

Well, it's a BMW, so handling, exterior styling, reliability, features, and value are what the company is built upon. Unlike some, I gave the performance of the 318 a 5. My reasoning? Comparing 4 cyl. with 6cyl. is apples to oranges. The 1.8 performs superbly for its size, plus with gas prices the way they are, people should factor in the 318's great fuel economy when thinking of "performance." Best car I've ever had, with features that are just now becoming standard on domestic vehicles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Smooth and Comfortable

by dantheman from New Zealand | March 8, 2007

Things are starting to break now after 180,000kms but generally a great reliable car. Sticks to the corners and very stable at high speed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Nice Handling, Fun, and Reliable

by lowrider from Cleveland, OH | February 20, 2007

An unbelievable car for an even better price!! This car never let me down whether I was 2 miles from my home or 2 hours away. I was very pleased with this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


BMW 318 Convertible Super Fun Car

by Wally from GA | September 21, 2006

I owned this car for 7 years. It has never failed to start, or perform as asked. Great gas mileage, even with a heavy foot. Get up and Go is one way to describe this little 4 cyl.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW 318

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.