1997 BMW 318

Change Vehicle
1997 BMW 318
Available in 4 styles:  318ti 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$108–$6,048
Estimated MPG

23 city / 31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Great handling, expensive to maintain

by Fred from Fairfax Va. | August 16, 2013

The stick shift 318ic in an aquamarine color was purchased by me about 4 years ago. I absolutely love this car. I've had many strangers compliment me on how cute it is. But the reason I love it the most, it's just plain old fun to drive. Corners and brakes with most newer high performance cars and the mileage on the highway is incredible. I use regular gas with no problem and I get 35-38mpg on the highway and that is usually at 70-80mph. Plenty of power for a 4 banger. Drove non stop to Denver from DC and back. 2 days total travel time and could not have enjoyed it more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


`997 BMW 318 Convert.

by Walt from Raleigh, NC | December 1, 2010

Purchased this car new 14 years ago. A great car but a little pricey. BMW also seems to charge more for options. Very reliable. Although I have seldom had to repair this car, when I did, it was expensive if taked to a BMW dealer. I rated lower in performance since it has a 4 cylinder engine. I am now looking to buy a 128 convert. which is about the same size as the older 318 model.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Ride

by 318 ti lover from Los Angeles County | April 7, 2009

Very easy entry and exit...so nice on the knees and hips. Agile in traffic, quick up to the speed limit with plenty of reserve to make a quick pass. Stable in the curves. Not too big for just one person, yet, excellent for two adults and lots of luggage / groceries / or a big run to the hardware store or Costco. This is the factory standard BMW no bells or whistles to maintain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Black Beauty

by tomas from chicago,il. | August 6, 2008

This is one magnificent car and also great looks. I have a triple black convt. and get a lot of admiring glances. Handling and performance along with great gas mileage make this auto a joy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by German Engineering owns from Boston, MA | July 30, 2007

Overall great car. Handles unbelievably well, nice, quiet, solid ride, and manual gearbox is silky smooth. A little underpowered compared to the 328i and m3 also available that year, but still quick enough. Engine and transmission still very strong with high mileage. Overall has been very reliable. Extremely fun car to drive, especially with manual gearbox. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Least reliable car I've owned

by Burned BMW owner from Bay Area, CA | March 20, 2007

Bought the car new and had the radiator run dry in the first month. Over the years I have had the radiator replaced twice as well as every other part of the cooling system. I still keep coolant in the vehicle at all times. The car rides beautifully and smoothly, but I have been left high and dry too many times wth this car. Only drive it locally now and will ditch it before having to register it again next year, because it has something undiagnosable wrong with the emission that will make it fail smog. Would never buy BMW again. Would rather drive a Toyota or Honda.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


I can count on it

by car man from san fransisco | January 17, 2007

I have owned mine for almost 10 years. Was not sure of purchasing because of the small engine, but i insisted. I loved the color combination and the styling. Over the years I have been bumbed out because it does not perform as fast as the other larger engines, but when it comes to handling it is one of the best cars out there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


E36 318is

by BMW Enthusiast from Washington, DC | July 7, 2006

Great, fun car to drive with great gas mileage and reliability. More standard featrues than next generation 3 series (E46), e.g., dual climate control which is not available in E46 3 sereis. 4-cylinder engine is spunky and has great repair record.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW 318

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.