1999 BMW 328

Change Vehicle
1999 BMW 328

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  328i 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$1,751–$9,871
Estimated MPG

20 city / 29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Brown M W

by Brown M W from Northern suburbs of Chicago | July 22, 2014

Fantastic car, handles and looks like a dream. Mechanical problems can be major and difficult to correct for the average mechanic but my dad is a BMW mechanic and solved everything. When I bought it used it had electrical problems which can be a nightmare. But my dad (BMW mechanic) was able to take care of ,them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


This car hugs you ll

by Hatticol M from virginia | April 19, 2011

My review should be for a 328i BMW NOT a 528! Sorry about that, somehow hit the wrong model. See my review for this vehicle titled This car hugs you....it really does. I throughly enjoyed this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best car ever

by tommy from sacramento, ca | February 13, 2011

love everything about this car, i would suggest you get one, more fun to drive than anything , safe fast , more reliable than a honda

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


328i with Sport Package

by Hondaboy from Frederick, MD | January 30, 2011

You would be hard pressed to find another car in this class that gives one more driving enjoyment. It is evident that this car was built for the driving experience. Handling is excellent. With the sport package you get the upgraded suspension and interior appointments that make this feel like a true sport/luxury car. This car begs to be driven hard through the curves but can also make long trips in comfort. The engine runs smooth and has adequate power for the daily grind. Fuel economy is reasonable, about 25 mpg on average, but premium fuel is suggested. That said, this car may not be for everyone. Reliability was a major concern for me. During the 2 years I owned the car I had more than a handful of mechanical problems, including replacing the brake calipers at 65,000 miles and replacing the ignition switch. Also, I had a water leak inside the car that soaked the rear floor, which was never solved. The engine light would come on and go off from time to time for no known reason. Overall, this is a great car if you don't mind dealing with a few mechanical issues.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A great convertible now past its prime:

by Timster from Southern Michigan | September 11, 2010

I love the comfort, performance and styling of this car. It now has 150k miles. Mechanically, the engine and transmission are flawless. I replaced the clutch at 140k, but this is probably a function of how it was driven before i had it. The convertible top is unreliable and not able to be serviced by the home mechanic. I've had more troubles with this top than anything else. Heating and cooling system is baffling without any sensible control at this point only on or off. I still really enjoy driving this car. I even drive it winters now with 4 winter tires and traction control it does great with a little weight in the trunk.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


smooth drive

by bugs from chicago, IL | August 13, 2010

had a car like this one before, i never had any problems of getting stranded. It is a great car to have

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Keep it forever

by Michael from Ohio | February 10, 2009

Bought it certified from BMW dealer. Drove it as my company car. Always enjoyed it on trips. I agree AC could be stronger and small repairs can be high at dealership. However, strong motor and fun to drive. Our BMW has found a home for a long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Coolest Car I've Ever Owned.

by nickk from long Beach, CA | May 4, 2008

Great Car! We had the one with huge wheels, Green Exterior. It was a dream to own. BMW has one of the best maintenance programs & warranty.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Good Car and Fun To Drive !

by kenmandoo from boston, ma | February 22, 2008

Approaching 165,000 miles on my 1999 328i 4dr 5sp Sport. Original clutch and many other stock parts. Weak point on these cars is cooling system. An easy do-it-yourself project. Front suspension also weak, however it is a DIY project and will save you money. Overall, great reliable and fun to drive car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car! Greatly Reliable ANYWHERE!

by Radio from Los Angeles, CA | June 12, 2007

this car has the look of a fast performance sports car and the comfort of a large sedan. the power put into this car is incredible. love to go fast and still be safe? this is the perfect car for that. recommend it to anyone. great fo any driver! young and old.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW 328

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.