1998 BMW 528

Change Vehicle

1998 BMW 528

Available in 1 styles:  528i 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$3,950

Est. MPG

20 city / 29 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

best well rounded car

by martrya from south haven MI | January 29, 2014

the best car iv owned gets 30 highway and is quick can do 130 with ease interior is very nice heated seats kick butt and all auto window are great

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great purchase

by Cruiser from Baltimore, MD | July 24, 2012

This car is great. It has held up great for its age. Drives great. Definitely worth every penny spent. Had a little water drainage issue but overall a great vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Happy wife is happy life....she loves it!

by D.A. from Sioux Falls, SD | July 17, 2012

We have had 7 BMW's in the family; and this is the best all around vehicle---gets 30 mpg on highway; and handles snow, ice, cold and hot starts. Very comfortable long-distance cruiser---have run over 24hrs. straight several times.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best mid-size luxury sport sedan on the market.

by sportI from Georgia | September 11, 2010

Great car in all areas. Performanc, ride, handling, luxury and gas milage. None better. This my 5th BMW and I will continue buying them. Yhis car has 130,000 miles on it and still looks new and runs great abd has no rattles or squeaks of any kind.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very Impressive

by Mike from Lancaster, PA | May 4, 2009

Own the 5spd manual. Bought the with 50,000, and now I have over 120,000. Agree with all the prior reviews. It is a dream to drive. I enjoy going to work and coming from work in the car. Being at work is another story! Handles, accelerates, and performs wonderfully. Interior - cup holders broke, AC/heating/ventilation still puzzles me to this day. No other issues besides. AWESOME CAR.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


bmw

by thfhfgh from | January 30, 2009

excellent vehical,i couldn't complain about a singal thig, very dependable. bought used for with 100,000, still going

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best car I've ever owned

by Bimmer Enthusiast from Granger, IN | December 23, 2008

I have owned my 1998 BMW 528 since new. The car has been great and there is a wealth of resources available to keep it up. BMW dealers are very good but expensive, especially for the late model cars. I used the dealer for the first 60k miles, but then moved to a independent german car shop. I saved a ton of money and they treat the car like its their own. The car runs, handles and still looks nearly as good as new after 120,000 miles. But, you have to keep it up. Every year I plan to put $500-$700 per year into it for everything from brakes to tires to something unforeseen. Tech Talk in the Roundel magazine is a great resource.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Comfort and performance

by Fireman from North/Central Califonia | May 17, 2008

I purchased my 528 with 68k miles four years ago. Now, I have 150k. Very comfortable and excellent performance. Passing vehicles is never a problem, excelleration in the 45-65 mph range is smooth and quick. Combined city/hwy driving I average 24.8 mpg and regularly get 30 mpg on the open highway. Repairs... 2 rear window regulators, trunk latch, headlight assembly, radiator (upper hose connection broke by mechanic doing level II service. Not entirely happy with BMW service center, but this could be a local problem. This is my first BMW and it will not be the last. I can settle into the seat and drive Sacramento to Seattle stopping only for gas and restrooms!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Held Up Great

by Chuck from Central NJ | November 12, 2007

I have a 5 Speed manual and wouldn't go with an automatic. The car still accelerates at 60 mph. I don't drive aggressively but have had to move quickly to avoid other drivers and the car held as if it was glued to the ground. Major safety feature is its handling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Solid Chassis and Drivertain - flaky interior

by Chris from Nashville TN | September 12, 2007

I own the manual - no mechanical problems at all. BWM is still a pleasure to drive after nearly 10 years. Gets 30MPG on the highway. The interior is a pain to maintain - you have to just grin when the cupholders break and the power windows fail and plastic parts fall off in your hand. It's still a great car. I've only put 68,000 miles on my '98 - so hope to get another 10 years out of it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW 528

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.