1999 BMW 528

Change Vehicle
1999 BMW 528
Available in 2 styles:  528i 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$1,915–$6,951
Estimated MPG

18–20 city / 26–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

Good bang for the money

by Nusuitman from Maryland | February 15, 2013

The car were as shown in pictures and as described. The car fax was my desiding factor well worth the investment even as I thought I would never buy a car with over 200k in miles but the Record was outstanding even compared to cars with way less miles. Thank Cars for being there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


dont believe all the horror stories

by trust me from Capitol city PA | October 10, 2012

what more could possibly be said about the 528i. a breathtaking ride in possibly the most well known style BMW is something few people get to appreciate but something everyone should experience. they don't call it the ultimate driving machine for no reason. this car does have its flaws but with enough research any mechanically inclined person can work on these cars with ease... provided you use the correct tools. the only real problem i had with the e39 was the cup holders. the car runs and drives like a dream, I've literally never driven anything like a BMW.i drove this car up and down the east coast, i bought one in Florida and drove it home to Pennsylvania. I drove back and fourth from Pennsylvania to various states such as North Carolina, Virginia, and Massachusetts, and was making these trips every other weekend for better part of 4 years. i ended up blowing the head gasket and found out there were three small cracks in the head. i drove the car from Chesapeake VA, to the Pennsylvania-Maryland state line with the temp gauge in the red (3 hours of driving in the red) before the head gasket finally blew, i had to dolly it the rest of the way home, but after i had the head replaced the car ran better than ever it was like brand new again up until about two weeks ago when i drove it off the road through someones yard and into a ditch, now its totaled which brings me here. I've driven many cars and trucks but nothing can compare to a BMW.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very nice vehicle

by steering my way through life from Chicago | April 3, 2012

I'm very satisfied with my purchase, a lot of vehicle for the price and only a few manageable and minor repairs to restore to excellent condition.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Not for a Modest Incomer

by 2 BMR's 2Many from Lehigh Valley, PA | May 6, 2011

Beautiful car, fantastic package with all the whistles and bells, but don't you dare miss a check up or fail to repair something the minute it breaks, because something else will break and you'll need about $1600 cash to fix them. Parts alone cost no less than $300, add the complicated repair labor...you're gonna pay out the wazoo! BUT, the upside of the car is that nothing drives or feels like a BMW. Once you've had one, it's hard to drive another brand.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


This car hugs you!

by Hatticol M from Virginia | April 19, 2011

Holds the road like it's glued down, steers with precission. Very powerful. Broken in while in EU. Easy on 87 oct., gasoline. Only 1 battery replacement in 11 years. Low maintaince. Downside is that windshield fogs up and it's hard to keep clean if you happen to be damp or rained on and has a blind side issue, be vigilant, always look over your shoulder before changing lanes. This was my 3rd Beemer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Outstading Cars

by Bill from | January 21, 2011

I have a 95 5-series with 200,000 miles and am the original owner. In 16 years, no major maintenance, and although I have a bunch of small problems (power windows, leather seats ripping, door locks...) the engine runs GREAT and I do not take care of my cars. I even drive mine on dirt roads and at 80 mph every day to work. Fix it yourself and save lots of cash, they are easier to work on than any Chevy. Don't buy expensive parts from the dealer. The engines are good to 300,000 miles, trans to 400,000 miles. Get one and ride to work or play better than your buds in a brand new (and really expensive) Honda, etc. I still get 28-32 mpg (highway) with my old 5-series. I like this 99 528, and live close-by and need another car...hmmmm.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


"Don't buy it without a mechanic & a warrantee"

by BrooklynBMW from Marlton,NJ | November 16, 2010

Since I've had this car I've been plagued with issues ranging from a faulty ABS module $1200.00 to brakes & rotors replace 2 timesw in 2 years $1500.00 as well as a new radiator,thermostat,resovoir tank$1030.00 The above mentioned items seem to be common in this model. It's a great looking car but, it has been pricy to maintain - even though I only payed $6700.00 for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


TRANSMISSION TROUBLES

by RJB from Pittsburgh, Pa | September 27, 2010

I have owned this vehiclefor three years and have spent 50% of the purchase price on a variety of problems. I have just realized that my automatic transmission is beginning to fail after just 114,000 miles. I did change the transmission fluid and filter at 86,000 mi. Repair costs are approx. $4,000.00 !! I will never buy another BMW as I hear that this happens often!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


best car you can buy

by bimmer from | May 14, 2010

i have owned 2. most reliable, best performing car for the money. and not expensive to fix like everyone thinks. especially bc it never needs anything.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best Model year

by carman from MA | April 24, 2010

1999 was the best model year for this BMW Wagon. The engine is perfect. I had 3 of them now. Drives as good 10 years down the line as the day it came out of the factory. The ones I had averaged 28 MPG on the highway. I would rather get one of these 10 year old cars than a new toyota or honda.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW 528

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.