2002 BMW 530

Change Vehicle
2002 BMW 530

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2002 BMW 540 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$3,638–$10,882
Estimated MPG

21 city / 30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

2002 BMW 530i

by Quality Car Enthusiast from Atlanta, GA | June 9, 2014

This is the best car I have ever driven. Everything is just like you expect it to be from a driving standpoint. The condition of the car is fantastic for the money and the age at purchase. The seats are comfortable and I commute 90 miles a day so that's important. Acceleration and handling are deceptively smooth and I have to be careful on the highways because you're at 80 before you know it. Cupholders and a place for my phones are a little lacking as they seem to be an afterthought in the design, but I can live with that.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


200,000 miles of great driving

by Jeff W. lover of great cars from Phoenix | June 2, 2014

Bought my 530 new in 2002 and just turned 200,000 miles last month. Still have the stock struts on this car.Rides great and the motor still runs perfect.You need to have an honest service center and fix things when they come up.As always,regular oil changes and keeping your tires at proper inflation levels makes life so much better. I'm going to see how far I can ride this outstanding piece of German craftsmanship.Maybe next post will be at 300,000.Hope this helps.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2002 BMW 530i Review - by maxxtruck9906 on Youtube

by Maxxtruck9906 from | December 20, 2013

I reviewed this car at 162,000 miles. It had a blown head gasket. However, this car got the previous owner(s) through 162,000 miles. I highly recommend this car. It is reliable, fun, and well worth buying.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Value for the money!!!

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Orlando, FL | February 7, 2013

This is a very luxurious vehicle, with a smooth ride and pretty good engine performance for such a big car. One reason I went with an e39 BMW was for the ease of maintenance. I would have gone with the newer models, but I didn't want to get into all the electronic issues that occur as a vehicle ages. The reliability is excellent. One thing I really don't like is the lack of cup holders.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best 5 series BMW

by friver from | December 29, 2012

This car confirmed my opinion that the E39 BMW is the best driving midsize car made. A great chassis combined with the peak of development of the classic BMW six cylinder engine make for an unbeatable combination of handling, performance and comfort. Costly repairs and maintenance are always a concern, but finding a reliable independent shop keeps them manageable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Siply the Best

by auric22 from Osage Beach, Missouri | July 2, 2011

Ordered new and built exactly as I wanted. Have had this car for 10 years in December - absolutely no problems. Maticulous maintenance, tires, new battery and brakes. Has been all over the mid-west and Florida - love it. The best BMW and car I have ever owned - while my Corvette is close - but this engine is without a doubt the best BMW ever built.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best car I've ever owned

by CVZ from Virginia | June 28, 2011

I bought my current BMW 530i new in 12/01. I currently have about 90,000 on it and it is without a doubt the best car I've ever owned. No problems other than routine maintenance (probably runs $1k per year now) and it can run at tip end all day without a problem. I have cared for it by the book and it is garage kept and looks and runs like a new car. If you take care of it, it will surely take care of you!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Classic BMW earns respect

by Kase Report from Chicago suburb IL | December 6, 2010

For those who find the Chris Bangle 2004 BMW 5 Series too goofy and unattractive to buy, the older 2002-03 models provide some classic lines and elegance. The 530 is preferred over the 528 with its smaller engine and torque. My 530i has good acceleration, decent gas mileage and good looks. Expensive to maintain, but reliable and safe transport. One day I had a chance to look at the frame when the BMW dealer had the car raised for an inspecrtion. The large frame looked like it wouild support a large truck. If safety is a consideration, this is signicicant.I have put 64,000 miles on this Sport package model and love the ride, handling and dynamics.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


love it , my best car yet!!!!

by bmw guy from phila pa | September 26, 2010

i bought this used, never had a problem, would highly reccomend. Drives great looks good low maintence cost which i was surprised!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


BMW 530i with M5 Sports Package

by "Big Guy" from BField, CT | December 23, 2009

Bought this car Brand new in 2002 for $50k. Very pleased with this car one of the best car on the road. With the M5 sports package and maunal transmission the car really moves on the highway. Great car and very reliable you wont be disappointed!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW 530

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.