2006 BMW 530

Change Vehicle
2006 BMW 530

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2006 BMW 530 4dr RWD Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$9,045–$18,709
Estimated MPG

19–20 city / 28–30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

A Satisfied Discerning Customer

by JakeWY from Wyoming | February 1, 2014

I purchased my 2006 530xi wagon from a private party through cars.com. I was a little apprehensive about flying out and driving the car back 1,000 miles home, but was overall an excellent and memorable trip (for good reasons). A must for a purchase like this were a clean Carfax records, detailed service history, and great communication with the seller. All of these requirements were met, and I feel like I bought an exceptional car. If you are okay with working on your car yourself, a BMW is well-worth the money. Parts are more expensive, but higher quality. Paying for labor at dealerships is where most people begin to lose value with these cars (not that a qualified technician isn't worth it if you don't know what you're doing or have trouble). Little details with the car have been the nicest surprise. The passenger mirror rotates down to the curb for you in reverse, to aid in parallel parking. Cruise control allows you to bump your speed in either 5 mph increments or 1 mph. There is hill descent control. There is a built in cargo net partition (great for my dog) that can be used with the back seats up or down. The moon roof is huge and a great feature. It has a powered back hatch and the window also lifts on the hatch for easy access to groceries or cargo without opening up the hatch. Adaptive HID lights are a handsome and useful option (they turn with your steering and automatically adjust). The all-wheel drive system is a must for snow. Heated seats and steering wheel are great for cold climates as well. My purchase price (less than book) for a car that originally had a msrp north of 50,000 is an exceptional value. There are drawbacks to the car as well (iDrive is a little clunky with no Bluetooth streaming for 06', all-wheel drive changes the steering feel a little, and it takes a bit to learn the controls by feel as cruise control and the blinkers are right next to each other on the left side of the column). Gas mileage is as reported or better and it takes premium fuel. Recommended oil change intervals are 15,000 miles, and they take a lot of oil. Pay attention to figures by year, as gas mileage went down and power went up when they added bi-turbo in the newer models. Overall, if you want some luxury, power, utility, safety, and better gas mileage than an SUV you can't beat this very solid car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car!!!

by BMW lover from Philadelphia Pa | September 28, 2013

Amazing car. Bought it in 2010 with 55k on it and love it. Drive is amazing. Not the fastest car off the line, but on highway this car is king. Comfortable front seats and I fit 3 booster seats in back! Would recommend to anyone, just expect $1-$2 grand a year in repairs, but the drive is worth it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Excellent Vehicle, but buy used.

by Deebow from Portland OR | March 2, 2012

The 530 is the best that BMW has to offer. It is 50 grand brand new, but if you buy used you can get one for half that or less depending on mileage. We got ours with 54,000 miles and it runs like a top. Has all of the bells and whistles We bought the XI version for the AWD for the weather in the Pacific Northwest. The 255 HP motor is the one to get instead of the 215 HP motor in the 525 series. The inline 6 design is rock solid and proven. These are autobahn cruisers and built to be driven and they are much more comfortable and well optioned than American cars. The Dakota leather is awesome and the heated steering wheel is great on cold mornings. The iDrive system is simple to use if you take the time to read the manual for more than 2 minutes and set up the car the way you like before trying to drive it down the road while looking through the menus and attempting to avoid rear ending people at every stop light. People will say "if iDrive is so good why are there back up switches and dials on the dash for the same functions?" Hey, do airplanes have back up systems? If the iDrive does go bad, do you want to be able to turn the heat on and adjust the volume on the radio? The mileage is about 18 in town and 25 highway. Stay away from the run-flats and change your oil more often than the recommended 12,000 miles and the car will probably run forever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


sporty, comfy, roomy

by Sport sedan enthusiast from Ottawa, Canada | November 7, 2011

3 litre 6 cylinder smooth and powerful, 6 speed automatic seamless and responsive, sport mode eager and willing to rev. I'm a manual transmission kind of person (few and far between on the used market!) and this was for commuting (have a 3er for the track) and I am impressed with the auto. Can shift it yourself when playing on the backroads. AWD seamless, can't wait for winter. iDrive works well and is easy to use, even my tech-adverse wife figured it out in about 30 seconds. Lots of room with rear seats folded down (got the wagon). A bit apprehensive of all the tech goodies- they're fantastic right now (park distance control, heads up display, HID steering headlights, self levelling suspension, panoramic roof, logic7 stereo) but I tend to keep cars for up to 10 years.. will they last? Still, car is fantastic right now, only time will tell.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Just What I Always Wanted

by Hmmm... from NYC/VA | October 10, 2011

2006 BMW 530Xi Wagon. A rare beast. After driving SUVs for the last twelve years I was more than ready for a car. I commute weekly between New York City and Northern Virginia. It comes out to 35,000 miles a year. I need safety, reliability, comfort, size, economy and QUIET. This car has not let me down. The X-drive performs perfectly. I average 27 mpg on the highway. The 4-wheel disk brakes are so good that if I'm not careful they'll set the airbags off; and at 75mph, I can listen to to classical music on the 12-speaker sound system. After a 300-mile trip, I arrive more relaxed than when I started.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Citrusry auto

by jilttilt from Portland | October 25, 2009

I was pretty excited to own this 530 XI wagon when I bought it, but that excitement has turned to utter disappointment in the 5 short months I've owned it. Just out of warranty at 60K mi. little things started to fail: speedometer 3-4 miles fast, mileage nowhere near sticker, driver's side door tweeter intermittent, cup holder breaks, Bluetooth spotty at best and what's with no iPod jack (standard equip on '06 Subarus)?. Then the bigger and more frightening things: the rear lid latch assembly broke ($740 dealer fix!). Then the error messages: "Auto leveling system malfunction" every time I got out of the car I would hear the motor for the levelers groan for a good 5 min., pretty embarrassing. Today the error code: "AWD system malfunction, maneuverability limited, cautiously drive to the nearest BMW Service center" So that's it I'm selling this lemon and getting a Passat TDI. What happened to BMW?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


This may be the perfect car

by Love to drive from Central Missouri | October 11, 2009

Fun to drive, comfortable, xi better on slick roads than a Jeep, good mileage, good performance, quiet and smooth ride. iDrive's not that hard to use. If you can use a mouse, you can use iDrive. I'd buy my 530xi again in a minute!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


530iXT is awesome

by Bone Rep from Northern Wisconsin | September 24, 2009

I drive a lot of miles in 4 season country. I've owned Mercedes and Audi which were both pretty good driving cars (Audi's reliability stinks). The 2006 BMW 530iXT puts both Mercedes and Audi to shame. It's at least one step ahead of any other car I've owned in every driving category.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Best Car Out There.

by Nickk from Long Beach, CA | June 19, 2008

This BMW has been a life saver. It feels solid and safe, but at the same time luxurious and easy to use. People like to criticize the i-Drive System, it may take you a second to get used to or you'll love it right off the bat. If you are looking into a car I would defiantly recommend this one. We had only one problem with this car and it was the onboard computer, it would flash lights but we went to our dealer and they fixed it for free because of their amazing warranties.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best Car On The Road. Saved My Life!

by RAZR from Long Beach, CA | February 2, 2008

The Brakes Saved Me From Crashing Into A Piece Of Metal On The 405 Freeway. I've Owned 4 BMW's And Hope To Have More.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW 530

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.