1998 BMW 540

Change Vehicle

1998 BMW 540

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  540 iA 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,708–$11,356

Estimated MPG

15–18 city / 24 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

The best car I owned

by Danny Boy from Rhode Island | July 21, 2011

When i first bought this car it had 63,000 miles on it I changed the water pump radiator transmission fluid brakes and rotors 3 years later still runs good burns no oil I have 125,000 still runs well great car lots of power great on the highway purrs at 80 plus.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


bullet proof engine and transmission.

by Cappy from | June 13, 2011

This car is a pleasure to shift, drive (like on rails) and has all the best equipment to enjoy with reliability and safety.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Spectacular car, comfortable and fast

by Ray from | January 13, 2011

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned. Since I have 3 children to me a safe, reliable, and comfortable car is a necessity for them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Wonderful Vehicle

by Bimmer from | June 1, 2010

I have the same vehicle as advertised here, even down to the same paint color. I have driven my 540i 80,000 miles in the last 2.5 years and have only replaced the tires. It is a comfortable, responsive, and fast vehicle that always turns heads. The car has a solid feel and safety features that really add to your level of well being should you ever get in an accident.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Love it

by Redsoxfreak from Templeton, CA | February 18, 2010

I've only had this car a week so I can't comment on reliability but it is a pure joy to drive. Comfortable but still handles like it's on rails, had planned on upgrading suspension but now I don't think I'll need to. I had a 96 vette and this can run with it and hold 4 people comfortably. Love this car. If you want a family car but also love the joy of driving this is the car for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


BMW 540i

by JImbo from | July 17, 2009

Very nice car fun to drive, very fast on top end. Handles great, will conitune to buy BMW's very nice for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Awesome Performance.

by Tony T. from Los Angeles, Ca. | July 15, 2009

Solid performance, quality materials and workmanship, sporty appearance along with prestige; the 540i has resilience in style and remains forever the premium motorcar.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Smooth and fast, best car we have owned

by BMWdriver from Kansas City, MO | August 6, 2007

Silent, fast and smooth to drive far above anything else - buy one and enjoy for yourself! Great looks, performance and value with BMW reliability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


quick and stable the ultimate driving machine

by pat from Rhode Island | April 27, 2007

One of the fastest cars around not too many cars can beat it ! Comfortable stylish and fun to drive makes this a really good car to own .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW 540

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.