2004 BMW M3

Change Vehicle
2004 BMW M3

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2004 BMW M3 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$8,607–$31,835
Estimated MPG

16 city / 23–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

M3 Convertible for fun

by Corvette Johnny from Northern VA | January 18, 2014

I bought a 2004 M3 conv. for a fun car to drive on the nicer days of the year. I already drive an 09 Caddy CTSV, so this car is slower but still a lot of fun. I have started to replace a couple of wear and tear items to bring this completely stock car back to original condition. Shifting is brisk and natural. Car feels composed over bumps and road imperfections. The balance is excellent. I feel in control, almost connected to the road. I can imagine the coupe is even better. As for the engine, I love it. It is not overpowering and provides direct/linear power. I drove an '14 Audi Q5 2.0T the other day and I immediatley noticed how much the Q5 lacked linear power delivery. The power button changes the throttle response and makes the car a little more lively. I always feel like I am driving the car (lack of computer nannies) and in complete control. Love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


An 04 with Less than 55k

by luvsbmw from Sacramento | May 12, 2012

I have an 04 BMW M3 with less than 55k. Want $23K Very clean, lovely. Most fun driving I have had. Takes hills ez and mountain curves like it's part of the road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


2004 M3

by coochr1 from NJ | February 1, 2012

What a great car and value. Searched high and low for an E46 with low miles. Drove many performance coupes, owned G35's, E30's and newer Z's. This car demands respect. It's a velvet hammer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


A true drivers car

by Roadtrip1098 from maine | October 29, 2011

I purchased my Laguna Seca Blue M3 with the SMG 6 spd. about two months ago. With 100,000 on the clock I had anticipated a few mechanical issues to arise, and of course they did. First was a water pump at $370, then a gear position sensor at $350. I did the installations myself, so no labor costs. The good: The engine revs readily to a screaming 8,000 RPM redline, the suspension is fantastic, shifts from the SMG are fast, smooth and flawless. Rear seats are surprisingly spacious. Giant trunk, rear folding seats make for generous storage capacity. The bad: There are two cup holders, one's under the center consoles armrest and it is pretty much useless. The stock exhaust gets a tinny sound at high RPMs. Overall If you're a gearhead and you haven't had one of these in your driveway yet, you owe it to yourself to get one. If you are not mechanically savvy, I'd stay away.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Smg worst trans. Ever!

by Prior owner from | September 19, 2011

The smg transmission is horrible. Everyones pump goes bad and still no recall on it. Cost over 3000 just to fix.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Can't beat the price for the performance!

by Jetpilot5 from Houston, Tx | September 16, 2011

Bought my 04 coupe with 79000miles for 19k from a dealer there was a leak in the diff and rattling from the front turns out it was a seal and some bushings 700$ to fix but everything else was mechanically sound. After that was fixed you hang on for dear life the performance is unbelievable. The ride is stuff like a race car but afterall it is a track car right? Also there isn't alot of space to put things you would normally have room for like in a sedan. Overall fantastic machine. Maintenance will bite you if you get a lemon. Lots of cars with frame damage so be careful. Very glad I chose this over the rx8

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love the M3

by M Crazy from Virginia | June 22, 2011

I have a 2004 M3 coupe and live to drive it in my free time. Handling is nice and tight and the engine always seems eager to please. Sport mode is a dream and will deliver every joule to from the engine to the tires. Not the car to drive cross country but it is the car to take to the track or the back roads.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


What a MACHINE!!!

by Rocket Man from N Myrtle Beach, SC | June 18, 2011

I've had Corvettes, Z's, etc and this M3 Convertible blows them all away! SMG is great for versatility. Performance cannot be described IF you've never driven an M series. A real HEAD-TURNER too!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best car I've ever owned

by bblazek from Iowa | August 3, 2010

This car is just awesome. My only negatives are the cost of tires, no spare tire, and I had problems with paint flaking off the plastic portions of the interior, and the onboard computer/navigation is hard to negotiate while driving. This car is not lacking in the performance department. The acceleration is phenominal and it takes corners like it's on a rail. The 6 speed manual trans is a must. Also the back seat is good sized and will fit a car seat so it's easier to convince the wife.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


mydreamcar

by bmwm3 from Berkeley, CA | April 1, 2010

This car is by far the most powerful and and yet comfortable car I've ever owned. I highly recommend this car to anyone who wants to have a beautiful convertible car from BMW.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2004 BMW M3.


Featured Services for this BMW M3

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.