2008 BMW M3

Change Vehicle
2008 BMW M3
Available in 3 styles:  2008 BMW M3 2dr RWD Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$26,024–$42,616
Estimated MPG

13–14 city / 19–20 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

5.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

Fast car and dependable

by Sports car driver from | January 29, 2014

This car was one of the most dependable cars I have ever own. Great everyday car as well as long distance. If you take it easy on the gas it even gets decent gas mileage for its size its just so hard to do that when you have 420hp... Fun car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Wonderful Car

by Taybee from Seattle, Wa | August 13, 2013

Luxury, speed, reliability, and it's beautiful...what more can you ask for? It sounds great, rides great, and I literally have no complaints...Minus an oil change costing about 300 dollars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Lots of fun! A petrolhead's dream!

by Asianstig from Maine | December 10, 2012

After driving this car for a few thousand miles in just a couple of months, I am still in awe of the M3's performance and all around design and comfort. If you don't mind paying extra for gas and the horrendous gas mileage, this is the car for you! The M3 is all about fun and it's great to take your girlfriend or wife out on the town and always looking and feeling good. This car exudes confidence as it will change the outlook on your life. It's the best all-arounder in luxury cars. You won't ever regret buying it. Just make sure your bank account is nicely padded.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The car against which all other cars are judged.

by BigDoggie from Ontario, Canada | April 10, 2012

Everything that magazines and tv programs tell you about this car is true. It can do and does everything excellent. I firmly believe that everyone who enjoys driving should own a car like this at least once in their life. It would be unfair to tell people how great it is without mentioning it's faults. It has only two. The bluetooth doesn't pair properly with a bunch of phones and it's a gas pig. Really though, when you drive it, you could care less about calling someone or when your next gas stop will be. If you are considering an M3, just get one. It cannot disappoint you. I have two suggestions when choosing an M3. 1. Go for the upgraded stereo/nav/Idrive - while the menu system is not what I would call instinctive, it does allow you to customize the car to your tastes. 2. While the automatic with paddle shift is technically a quicker car, you will rarely if ever be put in a situation where that few tenths of a second means anything. Get the Manual Transmission. Theres no feeling like shifting from first to second at 8300rpm. This is the type of car you want to feel. This car makes me smile every time I press the accelerator just a bit more than needed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Car I've ever owned, perfect family car

by Hockey Player from New Jersey | January 3, 2012

Five Stars to the BMW M3 sedan. Two baby seats fit in back. The trunk fits my hockey equipment, and you can take the car to the track on the weekends. I even put winter tires on the car and drive it all year round. What other car has four doors, a V8 that screams to a 8,400 redline and can do 0-60 in 4.1 seconds with a true manual transmission? only the M3 sedan. One must have option is the Electronic Damping Control (EDC). When you're driving around with the family, use comfort, when on the track use the stiffest setting. The normal setting adjust on the fly. The standard PS2 tires handle great in the wet or dry. I use blizzacks for the winter. The M3 sedan is a sports car that can be driven every day. Tell your wife it's the perfect family car, because it is.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


It's A Missle

by Bmw4life from Canada | November 19, 2011

What a Missle. A+ to BMW engineers. Perfect handling, very good power for a 4.0L engine without any turbos or even supercharge. The only cheap thing is found on the coupe & that's the seat belt pusher, it's made very weak & looks like a chep plastic piece. Overall, it is a very nice car. I would like to see more horsepower in the new generation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Spectacular!

by UDM Lover from Morrison | September 12, 2011

You shouldn't think twice about getting an M3, especially the 2008 to 2012 model. It is a spectacularly powerful and great handling driving machine. The only thing I would ask is better fuel efficiency, but, since that would likely reduce power or require an engine that's not naturally aspirated, there nothing I would change about the car. Don't think twice if you can afford it; it's worth it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


ITS A BMW M3 HARD TOP CONVERT, WITH THE TOYS THE P

by PULL NO PUNCHES J from | June 28, 2011

GREAT COLOR COMBO , IT WILL MACTH WHATEVER U FEEL LIKE PUTTING ON WHAT CAN I SAY TEST DRIVE ONE, AND THEN U TELL "PULL NO PUNCHES J" WHAT I ALLREADY TOLD U I OWNED 1 AND I TEST DROVE A FEW IN MY DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2008 BMW M3 convertible

by Old man who has "had" them all..... from Florida | June 23, 2011

I've had them all: Porsche's, Mercedes Benz's, all model BMW's...and 6 different M3's over the years. NOTHING out there comes even close to the performance and reliability of this M3 with the new style DCT replacing the SMG transmission. I am writing this review for a 2008 BMW M3 and I now have a 2010 M3 convertible, also with SMG. Incredible power and workmanship. Highly recommend!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Excellent all around car

by M3 Steve from Pittsbugh, PA | January 1, 2011

Great handling, excellent steering. My Corvette Z06 was faster but not nearly as fun to drive. Car can be driven as a "daily driver". The computer is overall extremely complicated, Nav, radio and settings... Read the book! I'm looking forward to the next generation M3, if it's half the performer of this model it will be a winner....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW M3

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.