2001 BMW M5

Change Vehicle
2001 BMW M5
Available in 1 styles:  M5 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$7,490–$28,410
Estimated MPG

13 city / 21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Exciting Car for those with a Deep Pocket

by Jimbo from Carmel, Ca | October 23, 2011

The most exciting car I have ever owned. It has plenty power (400 horsepower). Handling is great. Plenty of room inside. Exterior is good looking. But, when it comes to reliabilty the car fails. The Vanos in the engine went out at only 43,000 miles. It has had other premature repair problems. Like rear sway bar mont needed to be replaced at about 38,000 miles. Rear Ball joint needed replacement at about the same mileage. And a lot of little things seemed to need replacement way early in the cars life compared to Japanese cars. And the repair cost for the car are very expensive. All in all I love the car I have owned a BMW 1995 530i, 1999 540i sedan and 2003 540i Stationwagon. The 530i and the 540i sedans where not own very long to see what the reliabity of the cara ending up like. But, I did drive the 540i Stationwagon until 72,000 miles and until it got to 45,000 miles it was pretty much trouble free but from 45,000 miles to 72,000 miles it was one problem after another. My M5 has been very similar but the problems came on earlier at about 35,000 miles. I would like to continue buying BMW for all the reasons mentioned about but after the last two cars it has soured me on owning BMW's. A editor of the BMW Car Club Magazine once put it. BMW's are great cars as long as they are under warranty. Because when the warranty is over you better get a extended warranty because you will need it. The local dealership and BMW of North America have been less than sympathic to my repair problems. It takes a deep pocket to buy a BMW and deeper pocket to maintan a BMW. So, if price is a major concern then look to Japanese for reliability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


great but best for enthusiasts

by le mans man from north carolina | April 24, 2011

This car is a gem. Incredibly fast and stunning to look at. I purchased my 01 m5 with just a hair under 60k miles. Passing power is exceptional blah blah blah but this car can be incredibly expensive to maintain even at 10 years old. Having mechanical knowledge is a plus and do your due diligence on yours before you purchase it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Sno mobile

by Car Nut from | February 17, 2011

Best BMW style, performance, and value. E30 M3 close send, but not the same. Two considerations when I bought the car gently used w/ 26k miles...reliability and nasty weather. The car has been in the shop once for "check engine"; no finding in 3+ years. I put snows/rims on in the winter. It is better than my Volvo '03 V70 2.4T wagon. Better balanced, better traction control, etc. This is one of the snowiest winters in Boston history. I drive the car daily. Not saying everyone will do this, just don't like the misinformation about 400hp and rear wheel drive. In the snow/ice climates, no one should ride without at least all seasons... if you can find one, buy it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most complete car I've driven

by Tall Sports Car Driver from Laramie, WY | November 29, 2010

Title says it all. Don't waste your time with a 540 like I did. The M5 is a wonderful, amazing car. It will make you smile each time you start it up. Do yourself a favor and buy one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


BEST CAR FOR THE MONEY HANDS DOWN

by MAGIC MARTY THE M5 MAN (NOW!) from SAN DIEGO, CA. | January 7, 2010

I JUST PURCHASED ONE AND AFTER 3 DAYS WENT ON A 2500 MILE TRIP. MY CAR HAD 105,000 WHEN I BOUGHT IT AND IT RAN THROUGH SNOW, HILLS, WINDY ROADS AND THE LONG STRAIGHT-A-WAYS OF I-5 LIKE NO OTHER! I WAS NOT MOVING AROUND IN MY SEAT TRYING TO GET COMFORTABLE ONCE. (WHICH I NORMALLY DO AS I AM A 250 LB PERSON) THE SAFTY FEATURES OF THE CAR LET YOU RELAX KNOWING THAT GERMAN ENGINEERING IS RIGHT ON. A GREAT EYE CATCHER TOO. THE STEREO CRANKS, ROCK OR RAP. THE DUAL CLIMATE CONTROL IS GREAT AS MY WIFE IS ALWAYS COLD, AND I AM ALWAYS HOT. SHE DID NOT HAVE TO WEAR A COAT WHILE IN THE SAME CAR. THE COMPUTER WAS FUN, KEPT ME BUSY ON THOSE LONG ROADS. I GOT 25.1 MPG FOR THE 2500 MILE TRIP. I GET 24.6 MPG FOR THE OVERALL GAS AVERAGE SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT. THAT INCLUDES A LOT OF IN TOWN STOP AND GO. ALL THESE THINGS I NOTICED AFTER THE TRIP AND WAS NOT THINKING ABOUT THEM DURING. GAVE ME A GOOD FEELING WHEN I WOULD THINK BACK OF THE TRIP. ALL THESE COMFORTS. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CAR TO ANYONE.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


not worth it

by hpking from chicago | May 28, 2009

this car is really not worth it i tried to make this car somthing it is not but faild evry time i suped it up it cost abouth $800 to fixe in parts alone if any one is thinking abouth picking up one of these and if they are not sure dont

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car


This car is by far the cream of the crop

by Patrick from MD | June 24, 2007

This car is for real. Performance wise, It deserves an ovation. 0-60 is great. 60-120 is sick. Bimmers perform, plain and simple. Handling a bmw is what you would expect from a car - handling an M exceeds your expectations. I've had an E55, CLK430, 330i, 528i,535i,325is,325,... This tops them all. All Bimmers handle well. the M5 on an open road or a curves road where you can get into higher revs and mid-high gears really makes driving come to life. The power puts it over the top.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The badge says it all

by O2 sensor from DC | October 27, 2006

2001 Dinan M5. Stage 3 suspension makes this the best handling cars I have ever driven. It is brute force in a pin stripe suit. You might be doing 140mph and not know it, it's that smooth.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW M5

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.