2001 BMW X5

Change Vehicle
2001 BMW X5
Available in 2 styles:  2001 BMW X5 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$3,562–$11,942
Estimated MPG

13–15 city / 17–20 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

Qualiry Vehicle

by bmw from | June 11, 2012

A terrific vehicle at a very affordable price.........................................................

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


yes

by erica from Castle Rock colorado | April 18, 2012

Handles great .milage good in town 19-20 . She has done very well for me. I have never gotten stuck in deep snow. I have Yokahomas on it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


fun to drive suv, reliability ... not fun

by dima ru from minneapolis | March 10, 2012

I had an e53 m54 (3L motor). It is the best handling SUV in my opinion. Material quality is very high, I like x5 leather grade-- "finger-candy" quality:-) However, at about 88xxx miles head cover gasket had gone south due to a frozen oil separator. 6 hours of my own labor and $300 in parts later it runs again but with a little shimmy. Replaced various links up front, breaks, rotors. Shimmy is gone. BUT! temperature control unit failed-- replaced. Then a battery drain(poor electronics BUS design)... and the best problem ever... throttle body stuck half way. (bad, coroded wiring). I did not even bother to replace that... SOLD

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Bargin but beware

by BMWX5 from Chicago | February 1, 2012

Purchased used, very clean, one owner car, with 79K. The X5 is my third vehicle and used primarily as a winter driver, driving less than 10K annually. Overall very pleased with my purchase and it was a deal for less than $13,000. However there have been some minor issues that are inherent to BMWs and in particular X5s. Taillights bulbs burning out, cooling system (4.4 engine), and hood release, all repaired or replaced within the first 30 days of ownership. Buying a used BMW can be a bargain, however repairs can be costly. Prior to buying any used BMW, get it inspected and find an honest independent mechanic.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love It & Will Buy BMW SUV Again

by BMW4LIFE from Wilmington, NC | November 2, 2011

I bought my X5 new in 2001 and at 140k miles it is still taking care of me. After the warranty expired, I found a local shop that specializes in BMW's and have been very pleased with the cost of maintenance, as others have vocalized, can get expensive. For an SUV, the comfort of the X5 is excellent. For performance, I have enjoyed the vehicle in the mountains and on the beach sand. Best vehicle buying decision I ever made.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Unreliable Elec, Expensive Repairs, Bad Tires Etc

by McBee from Wash. DC Metro | January 10, 2010

I bought the X5 4.4i Sport at 20k miles and 1 year old. I owned 3 BMW's before (3 and 5 Series). The 3's and 5's were great and reliable, the X5 proved a nightmare. At end of warranty, all power windows and other electricals went bad, needed expensive repairs. Needs new tires every 6 months, also needed brakes every 4 months. The ride is firm and harsh. At one time it needed $7k in repairs, another time it needed $11k in repairs. It's sitting in my garage now, and get's out only if there's a snow storm. The engine is great, it's great in the snow, however this SUV has ended my love affair with any SUV made by BMW (maybe it's Spartanburg?). Buy this vehicle "only" if you can get an extended warranty to cover everything. I'll trade the X5 or sell it off as soon as I get a decent offer. It still looks good but it'll be good riddance for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


The best car I've ever had

by Love myx5 from Lexington, KY | June 1, 2009

Hands down the best and most fun car I've ever owned, and I've had plenty of luxury cars before. Great handling, very safe, I cannot stress the safety factor enough. My next car will probably be an x5 as well, only the new version. Some people have complained of the repairs, personally, I have a great shop that my entire family uses for their BMWs (a family car :)) and as long as I catch any potential problems early, the car runs great and is very dependable. I even cancelled my AAA roadside service because I never had any problems on the road and I've driven this thing for 40,000 miles now and thru at least 10 states.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fun to Drive, But Repairs Add Up

by GL1409 from Redmond | January 12, 2009

Agree with the other reviews. This SUV is fun to drive, very sure footed and handles like a sports car. However, watch out for the electrical problems! Had to replace the thottle moter, engine wiring harness, and the fan assembly, which had a draw that kept draining my battery.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Least reliable auto I've owned

by good bye to BMW from Owensboro Ky | March 11, 2008

Love the comfort and handling of my BMW but have spent thousands keeping it on the road and maintained. I enjoyed the first year of ownership and driving it but after that , it was at a dealer (50miles+ away from where I lived) and required that I have a back up car for transportation when the BMW was in the shop (MANY TIMES). I will be trying to sell it or give it away in the next month and will not plan to ever own another one, although when it would run, it was the best handling car and most comfortable one that I ever owned. It was however, the least dependable car that I ever owned and most inconvenient to get repaired (as only a dealer could make most repairs)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


SUPER SUV

by BillyP from Wellesley, MA | July 23, 2007

BMW X5 is the SUV to own. Flat-out better than the Porsche. There are two in my family and we are going to buy another. There is no SUV to match the comfort and sportiness.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW X5

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.