2003 BMW X5

Change Vehicle
2003 BMW X5
Available in 3 styles:  2003 BMW X5 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$5,444–$13,384
Estimated MPG

13–15 city / 17–21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

Great Car For The Money All Around

by New Family Guy from Chicago, Illinois | June 14, 2014

Since I had to make the switch from sports cars to a more family vehicle this SUV made the transition much more bearable. The all around performance & handling is impressive for what feels like a heavy/sturdy vehicle. Surprisingly the gas mileage isn't terrible, but it's a luxury SUV not a Civic. It's loaded with user friendly options, I only wish it had navigation. Aside from the it has everything going for it from safety, styling, comfort & performance. Since they can not be bought under $10,000 it makes them a value too!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Stylish, but with a cost

by Matt from Johnson City Tennessee | January 29, 2014

I've owned my 2003 BMW 3.0 X5 for 2 years. Many many memories were made with this car. I can't tell you how many of my friends told me how jealous they were of my car. Love the power and feel that comes with this car. The negative thing with this car is it had many maintenance issues. So many things went wrong including the power windows randomly not working, door handles breaking, trunk opener not working, and overall it feels like somewhat of a cheap build. Other than all of that I love this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Proven Vehicle Performance

by BMW Enthusiast from Corpus Christi, TX | July 22, 2013

I have owned four BMW's and find the overall vehicles to be solid, reliable and safe. My son had an accident and totaled an X5 and my daughter totaled a 528i. Both walked away without a scratch. I did not hesitate to buy a 2003 X5 with 115,000 miles on it. The unit I just bought was very clean. I bought it online as a cash purchase. The dealer-provided photos were excellent and the vehicle was delivered as expected. The vehicle was picked up in Austin. The only maintenance required in the last 3 weeks since the purchase was the replacement of a signal light bulb.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


bmw x5

by x5 killer from limerick pa | April 6, 2013

Great suv awesome power but trans issues have curbed me since the day I purchased it..I bought it on 2 weeks ago and I've put 50 miles on the x5. The trans is being rebuilt as we speak. I love the power,ride and style of the x5. I think BMW builts a quality vehicle and I'm not going to let this trans issue change my overall feeling of BMW..would buy another one tomorrow..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


The best SUV

by Bimmerman from Santa Ana, Ca. | September 24, 2012

Owned this after Mercedes GL470.. What a difference: The X5 offers WAY BETTER handling, mileage, safety, maintenance, and looks even though my Mercedes was 4 years newer. Definite great car for the money; a very affordable auto for an active family of 5!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


dependable

by blessed from Chicago, IL | May 2, 2012

I like my BMW X5. It has so many wonderful luxuries! It runs great and its better on gas than my previous car! That's amazing because I thought I would be spending more $$ on gas because of the 8 cylinders. So overall I'm happy with my purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2003 BMW X5 4.6is

by BMW Enthusiast from Texas | February 13, 2012

Very please with this vehicle. Being nine years old when I purchased it bothered me at first but the vehicle is unbelievably tight and solid. Even at this age the vehicle is very stylish and turns heads. I have been asked several times if it was two or three years old.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


good car

by bmw from el paso texas | May 1, 2011

just bought a 2003 x5 and love it. Has a few little things like the ac buttons feel cheep and the door handles. The x5 is a beautiful suv i also owned the infinity qx4 and the bmw x5 blows it away also holding its price at around $17,000 for a 2003 when the qx4 is down to about $8,000. the bmw is a great buy and awsome car for the price!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Excellent SUV

by Joe from Chicao, IL | March 16, 2011

This is the best SUV in America, smooth, fast, looks great, power everything and reliable, top driving experience.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Don't do it

by Recovering Owner from Austin, Texas | February 20, 2011

Pro: The 4.4l or 4.6l Looks fanatastic and on the freeway there is almost no other SUV that can touch it. Handles like a cat and stable as a rock at 80+mph. Con: Get ready of big time maintenance costs! Dropping a couple thousand on a repair is common. Needs premium everything. Complicated and has computers that control everything and only a specialty shop or a dealer can reset them. Parts are crazy expensive and most have to come from factory. Surprisingly unreliable for such a supposedly well engineered SUV.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW X5

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.