2012 BMW X5

Change Vehicle
2012 BMW X5
Available in 5 styles:  2012 BMW X5 4dr AWD Sports Activity Vehicle shown
Asking Price Range
$28,700–$46,852
Estimated MPG

14–19 city / 20–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

X5-50i Non-stop Power Handling and Luxury in 1

by XX Retentive German from | June 27, 2015

An amazing combination of power and handling with room to throw in golf clubs, flat screen TV and kids. Sport seat w/cooling and massage make this car a long distance road warrior. V-8 growl is bad-a. More legroom in back seat than Cadillac Escalade. This machine does it all - with AWD that has RWD bias it keeps the fun factor in Cleveland snow storms and mountain twisties. I have owned other brands, but keep coming back to BMW. They have it figured out - the magic balance of ride and handling like no other. If you have to wear a suit, need a family friendly vehicle, but really love power and handling - the X5-50i is it. This car is buttoned down, but ready to rumble.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Awesome Vehicle

by Vista from Orlando, Florida | March 5, 2015

Great truck, drive like a sedan. Performance is great as well. First time BMW owner, have owned Mercedes. Definitely recommend the X5.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most comfortable vehicle I have owned.

by Dave from Gainesville, Fl | February 19, 2015

This BMW X5 is awesome. The get-up and going is excellent. Love the feel of the drive and the seat is very inviting.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Comfortable, Spacious, Excellent Handling

by Like Good Cars from Athens, TN | January 5, 2015

This vehicle handles well and is very responsive to driver input, both in steering and acceleration. It has quite comfortable seating in front and rear. It has numerous driver's aides that make driving a pleasure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


comfort and style

by chinaman from ny | January 29, 2014

Lovley vehicle,worth the money....i would recommend this vehicel to enyone....customer service was excelent..thanks to clark and gary.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Terrific car. It's quite powerful and it's diesel.

by Barbera from Hamilton, NJ | July 13, 2013

What a pleasure to drive. This Diesel engine is very powerful. Great mileage. Beautiful interior and sharp exterior Just love it. Sure beats my Mercedes! Hugs the road and is quite smooth. Great buy!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Greatest car ever

by San Clemente Mom from San Clemente, Ca | July 13, 2013

Beautiful to look at, a dream to drive, handles like a sports car, roomy, feels like a luxury sedan with all the same bells and whistles. I'll never drive anything else but a BMW.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2012 BMW X5 Premium

by MD from Mpls, MN | January 23, 2013

I've bought a 2012 BMW X5 Premium with 1780 mi on it and have been very pleased with my purchase. I have only owned it for a month but so far it has been a pleasure. This X5 has the convenience pkg, Tech pkg and comfort access. I guess I will have to re-evaluate the X5 after a couple years to have a true assessment. So far, very happy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Too much technology

by Suv guy from Scottsdale AZ | December 10, 2012

I don't keep my vehicles very long so resale is important. For this reason I bought an x5 diesel. I always buy my vehicles one year old with low miles to avoid the deadly first year depreciation.i don't like the diesel engine, give me a v/8 anytime. I really dislike the shifter. They have put reverse where park normally is and to go onto park you push a button.to go forward, reverse or into park, you have to actually study the console or risk going forward when you want reverse and vice versa. My wife has taken the car and phoned me as she couldn't,t figure out how to get it out of park. I also find the rear seat legroom too small and door and hatch unlock buttons awkward. The I drive is pretty easy to figure out and the back up, top view and mirror cameras are cool. I also like the multi contour seats. For me, however there are too many annoying things about it and I,m going to sell it. I miss my Lexus.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


THIRD BMW I'VE OWNED

by BMW GUY from florida | October 28, 2012

I have 3000k on my x5 disel , very happy on gas mileage. Average gas mileage city and hiway 23.5mil. per gallon. Not happy after 3000k,front tires worn outside and inside edge.Warranty weel alignment cover only under 2000k.Power steering box was replaced by recall,so alignment was done for free of charge.Overall car very funy to drive,very good brakes filling,recomend to every one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 BMW X5.


Featured Services for this BMW X5

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.