1997 BMW Z3

Change Vehicle

1997 BMW Z3

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  Z3 2dr Roadster shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$3,505–$13,013

Estimated MPG

19–23 city / 25.9–31 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Great Find!

by Fortunado from McLean, VA | December 2, 2013

I've been searching for a clean, well-kept vintage BMW Z3 for years. Finally found one. Just 100K miles - well broken in. Love the looks, feel, safety and performance!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Most fun car I ever owned

by BMW newbie from PA | November 17, 2013

After years of trying to convince my wife that we should get a sports car to drive on nice weekends, it finally happened. My BMW Z3 looked great in the add photos, but to my surprise was just as good in person. And driving fun is a 10 out of 10. Wish I would have done this sooner. I am well past my mid life crisis. Now I see what BMW owners see in their cars. This car is a 1997 and standing 3 feet away, it looks like new. Runs like new and outstanding performance. Mine only has 86k miles on it and the engine compartment looks like the day it was manufactured. I hope to have many years of fun with this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


WHAT A DRIVING PLEASURE !!

by jerry from OHIO | March 12, 2013

I HAVE PREVIOUSLY OWNED 2 CORVETTES IN MY YOUNGER DAYS. I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 1998 Z3 W/ 43,000 ORIGINAL MILES FOR UNDER $10,500. I AM THE SECOND OWNER. WOW WHAT A DRIVING MACHINE. IT HAS BROUGHT ME TONS OF COMPLIMENTS THAT REALLY MAKES ME KNOW THAT I MADE A WISE CHOICE ! NO I AM NOT SUFFERING A MID-LIFE CRISIS,AT THE AGE OF 66 I AM ENJOYING MY LIFE. WE ALL DESERVE THAT FEELING !!! IF YOU EVER HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY 2 BUY ONE DO IT. YOU OWE YOURSELF THAT MUCH... DO IT!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The Magic Carpet Lives

by BE HERE NOW from S.W. Michigan | December 14, 2011

Five years ago I sold my Honda VF 1100 Sabre motor cycle and bought this '97 2.8 liter Z and have never looked back. This is "car art." People in parking lots come over to me and tell me, "Great car!" It drives as good as it looks. I updated the sound system with a new Sony CD/AM-FM unit. You can slam this car around corners without restraint, however I spend much of my driving time just cruising. This roadster does not ride very well in snow, which doesn't matter to me because I store it winters. 110,000 miles and runs like it's new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great fun car

by Smurf Car Driver from Mississippi Delta | October 20, 2011

I have owned four "sports cars" in my life, and this one is the best and most fun to drive. Handling is superb, the 2.8 engine has plenty of punch for the size of the car. The 5 speed standard transmission is tight and precise. I could not be more pleased.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Reliable Car

by Don Z from New Market, MD | December 28, 2010

Overall great. So was the seller. Fun car to drive. Really great styling. The price was very reasonable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun to drive!

by Brian 182 from Virginia Beach, VA | December 23, 2010

Recently purchased a 1997 BMW Z3 Roadster for pleasure. This car is an absolute joy to drive! Handling is fantastic and acceleration is great! I drove the car from Virginia Beach, VA to Salt Lake City, UT and back again, without any hiccups. I highly recommend this vehicle as a pleasure car, but not as a primary vehicle.. Pros - Acceleration, handling, HWY fuel economy, comfortable Cons - Virtually no trunk space, very small cup holders, sun visors do not rotate to side windows.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


road and car driver

by jed from florida | October 25, 2010

amateur car machanics say this is a very safe and an extremey safe car. race car buffs say the sme thing.......safe........reliable...dependable

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW Z3

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.