2006 BMW Z4

Change Vehicle
2006 BMW Z4

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2006 BMW Z4 2dr Roadster shown
Asking Price Range
$10,953–$22,381
Estimated MPG

20 city / 30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

the E85 BMW Z4 3.0si... One Ultimate Convertible

by BMW fanatic from Irvine, CA | January 23, 2012

As a successor to the previous generation E36/7 (roadster) Z3, BMW adds a tastes of Bangle-styling to the new E85 Z4. It is indeed a love-it-or-hate-it styling; but after looking at it for a while you kind of get used to it... it does look more proportional, more appealing, and more sexy than the Z3. Step into the car you will find the bucket seats hugs you comfortably while it takes you onto the fwy and windy mountain roads with easy. It is great fun driving this little convertible. You can fit 2 golf bags in the trunk but you do have to squeeze. Overall, this is a great weekend car for a trip to the resort or just for some driving fun.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


FAST, SEXY, and gorgeous ride

by sports car enthusiast from los angeles | January 3, 2012

Driven the z4 for years and it is an amazing car. Take-off speed is fast, leather is supple. This car is classy yet attitude. No major problems, only occassional oil change.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great service

by Ava's old pal from Wayne, New Jersey | December 19, 2011

With excellent gas milage the Z4 which I purchased thru Car.com was everything I imagined it would be. With gas close to $4.00/gallon, Cars.com makes more sense than ever as when you decide to see a dealer, that's the last dealer you'll need to see. The other internet sites are clueless by comparisson.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


A Driving Machine

by Rocket Man from Lake Geneva, WI | April 30, 2011

If you go back to 2006 reviews by Motor Trend or Car and Driver, they were right on. This car pound for car and HP for HP is faster than a Camaro or Mustang. The 330 HP engine is quicker than larger HP cars. It is pure driving. Noisy and a hard ride with tight and awesome steering. It's a race car not a Cadillac. You will feel the road, but if it is a bumpy WI highway, you will feel that too. German, yes, but made in Spartanburg (Greer) USA. All new Z's are made in Germany. I love the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Watch the repair costs

by Mac from Brunswick, Ga | February 1, 2011

First time out of warranty check up get a $3,800 repair bill to include transmission leak which has a technical service bulletin by BMW but they refuse to fix or re-call. Tire flashings which must be repaired. Truly a break my wallet (BMW) car but when it runs you look good!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car


Top up? Top down?

by Susan on the East Coast from Falmouth, Nova Scotia | July 19, 2010

This car is excellent on a variety of levels. From handling to the seat design it's incredible. Aside from the technical aspects the car is a great conversation piece and what's not to like about the sun on your face and wind in your hair! It truly is a car to be enjoyed by those with a passion for driving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Nice Sunny Driver

by njestimator from Nej Jersey | May 28, 2010

Bought our 2006 3.0SI with 22K miles in 2009. We have a very rare Deep Green / Beige color combination. Fantastic acceleration especially with the “Sport” engaged. Handling can get to be tiring especially with low profile 18” run flat tires as they tend to get hung up in the road ruts. Will definitely take my time purchasing replacement tires when these Potenza’s wear out. Both driver and passenger seats should have better lumbar support and the driver’s seat should have the M4 style seat as standard. Cup holders are a joke and by reading other reviews I’m not along on this. The Business CD has great sound and provided you purchase a wind deflector you can enjoy it at up to 70mph with no problems. Without a wind deflector the buffering in the cockpit at high speeds does dramatically impact the sound quality and can become quite distracting. I will have the MP3 player adapter put in this year so we can use our I-Pod. All in all were very happy with this “sunny day” driver and hope to enjoy driving it for many years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


z4 3.0si CPO

by z4 3.0si CPO owner from | May 13, 2009

I bought a 2006 CPO z4 3.0si and have had it about a year. It is a blast to drive and I have not had any mechanical issues. Highlights: +The vehicle came with the optional hard top which I used during the winter and kept the car very warm and was easy to install/remove. +It gets just around 30mpg on the highway even at high speeds. +The sport mode really changes the dynamics of the car. Off, the cars is powerful but easy to drive in traffic. On, the car is aggressive and quick. I highly recommend the z4 for those looking for a balance of luxury and performance. My gripes with the car are few: -Cup holders are ridiculously awful. It holds cup at an angle and you're almost guaranteed to spill from anything less than a closed top container directly on your legs. -The ride on the 18" wheels is harsh and the car tracks with lines or unevenness on the pavement which can be uneasy. You need to actively control the wheel. I changed to non run flat snow tires in the winter and the ride improved vastly. My next set of summer tires will not be run flats for this car. Also the car did great in Chicago winter with the snow tires and traction control. -I knew there was not much storage space in the cabin when I bought the car. But the main storage compartment between the seats is surprisingly difficult to reach when seated and has sharp plastic edges. Lack of a ledge or other space behind the seats really makes you think twice about what you will tolerate in the cabin with you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


BMW Z4

by Z4Jeff from Miami, FL | February 19, 2007

Except for a few noises inside and a "boing" noise when changing gears it is a wonderful car to have. The Z4 is a completely different car when the top is down, and not many sport cars can come close to it's wonderful handling, especially any american one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


out of love

by EPM from Charlotte, NC | February 7, 2007

I've had the car in the shop more days than not in the past 2 months... luckily most of the work was under warranty. But since december I had to buy a new tire, for $400 at the dealership, because they are the only one that had it... no one else carries it. I've also had to have a computer module replaced, the steering wheel sensors recalibrated, and finally today had to leave it because the bluetooth stopped working. This all happened in the past 6 weeks. I am glad I leased it because I will turn it in and LEAVE the dealership. I DO NOT recommend another BMW until they get these quality issues fixed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this BMW Z4

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.