1997 Buick LeSabre

Change Vehicle
1997 Buick LeSabre

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  LeSabre 4dr Sedan Custom shown
Asking Price Range
$850–$5,822
Estimated MPG

19 city / 30.1 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

With maintenance, great cars

by Rick from Indy | May 17, 2014

Mine's a '96 LeSabre. Bought it w/ 86k on it, now has 327k and still going. I drive a lot, am a little larger than most people, but always enjoy driving it. Very comfortable. Things to look for: lower intake manifold gasket, water pump, a/c compressor, radiator. I also rplc'd struts & shocks, a fuel pump, sub-frame parts, a wheel kit, some suspension parts here and there, brakes, tires, etc. Keep in mind, I have a LOT of miles with this car, and with that many miles you will have maintenance. They are machines after all. Too bad GM stopped making these. For the money, fantastic cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Give me another

by Cleatus from | September 4, 2013

Had a 1997 all the way through college. Wasn't the greatest vehicle for finding girls, but was an excellent car for me. I am 6'9" and about 265 pounds. This car not only has enough leg and headroom, but you can put a smaller adult behind me. Not to mention, I put 6 adults in this vehicle for weekend trips often. Mechanically you can beat GM's 3.8. Has a gasket leak that is relatively common, but a good mechanic will tell you when to replace. I averaged about 27 MPG combined. Hoping I can find another, but it is highly doubtful.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


best car you can buy

by Lesabre lover 2011 from bushnell,il | December 23, 2012

i have had my 1997 Buick Lesabre Custom for going on 3 years now. i got it with 114,000 miles an its at 169,000 miles and i must say its still drives like a dream. mostly just drive to work in it. i have also taken it on a couple trips and have averaged 35-37 mpg on the interstate. i get about 24-27 in town. makes me laugh at some of these newer cars. besides normal maintenance and a couple minor parts here and there this has been a wonderful car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best gm. car ever!!!

by finny from BALLSTON SPA, NY | May 25, 2011

TOO BAD GM. STOPPED MAKING THE LE SABRE! SENIOR CITIZENS LOVE THESE CARS AS WELL AS MID-AGED ADULTS.IT IS HARD TOO FIND ONE BECAUSE LIKE OURSELVES, PEOPLE HANG ON TO THEM. THEY CAN'T BE REPLACED WITH TODAYS NEW CARS. NO COMPARISON. MAYBE THAT'S WHY GM. STOPPED MAKING THEM. THEY LAST TOO LONG THEREFORE , PEOPLE DID NOT BUY NEW ONES.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


most comfortable and relatively quiet car

by mickey from knoxvilkle tn | November 10, 2010

at 3400 pounds, the car rides like a 4500 pound car and the 3800 v6 is very adequate . is 13 yrs old but is built to last at least 20. if you can find a southern buick, buy it . you wont be disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


my favorite car

by normal person from Grand Forks, ND | September 23, 2009

I own a 1997 Buick Lesabre, it has 231,000 miles on it and still going, i have had it for 5 years and it still going strong

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


150K and still going strong

by buick guy from houston | December 9, 2008

Need i say more then the title. Ever reliable. starts in one go even after weeks of rest. very smooth and comfortable ride. No major repairs just regular servicing and other regular changes like timing belt, spark plugs etc as all those are 11 year and 150K old. However the engine and transmission is as powerful and smooth as new and has never been touched. it feels smoother then my 2002 accord. I will probably buy another newer buick with the same engine. This coming from a Japanese car fan speaks in itself about the value for money and reliability of the lesabre.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love my LeSabre

by Lin from Vermont | July 18, 2008

The only "new" car I ever bought & I have NO regrets. It has 186,000 plus miles on it & have done no major repair other than the fuel pump & a new gas tank because the original rusted out. Now the body is too rusted to pass inspection(lots of salt on our winter roads). It is with great sadness that I'll be permanently parking the LeSabre!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great car for teen

by mom from richmond, va | March 15, 2008

This is the best handling car we have ever driven. My husband drives rental cars most of the time, and he has never had a rental that drove as well as this car. We gave the car to our daughter when she started driving. It was not really the type car she wanted (to big) but she and her friends quickly came to love it. She is in college now and can put five of her friends in it comfortably. It is the chosen car when they are going somewhere. I got a 2004 crown vic when we gave her this car. HA I much prefer to drive the buick. It has 127,000 miles on it and we have replaced the transmission twice (a problem with the overdrive we have been told) and other than that, just normal repairs. A great, safe car for anyone!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Underapprieciated car is one of the best.

by Not your typical Buick driver from Holt, MI | March 12, 2007

I have heard that this is one of the best selling cars GM has made. And it is definitely proving that value today. While it has had some annoying difficulties, such as a failing fuel sender (which turned out to be a weakening of the quick-connect seal), the car has never stopped running or not been able to get you where you need to go. Just now a 10 year - 100,000 mile car, it is going strong and powerful. New struts on the front and a new tie rod (this might be one of the few errors on the car, as it could have been a real hazard) have given the car a fresh, responsive feel again. The paint is glossy and very resistant to penetrations and rust. My main complaint would have to be how annoying it is to replace the lightbulbs on the tail. Again, no matter what anyone says about this car, the thing everyone one will agree with is that it always goes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Buick LeSabre

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.