2005 Buick LeSabre

Change Vehicle
2005 Buick LeSabre
Available in 2 styles:  2005 Buick LeSabre 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$3,709–$11,005
Estimated MPG

20 city / 29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

Great Geezer Car

by gofinsc from Columbia SC | August 10, 2014

We had a '98 LeSabre, which succeeded a '92 Century, but traded it right after getting the intake manifold plenum problem corrected. We like the '05 Dodge Grand Caravan we got in exchange, but we, especially my wife, missed the LeSabre. So when this one had a price reduction, we took the plunge. I was able to sell a '95 Buick Century wagon which had been in various parts of the family since 2001, which helped make the '05 purchase possible. We're both geezers and we needed a geezer car. This is truly a great one. Plenty of room inside, lots of power, beautiful styling. The last year of this model. Once I can verify the intake manifold problem has been corrected, or get it done, we should have many more years of comfort and service from this one. (My brother had the manifold problem on his Park Avenue, and I lost the engine on the Century to it and had to have it replaced, so that's a real concern.) But everything else on this one, with just under 96K, seems to be perfect so far. It was clearly well-maintained, so we expect another 10 years at least. Or until we can't drive any more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Electronics bad, and no check engine light

by Terry Bell from usa | March 17, 2014

I scootwst throiugh this years inspection because even though the airbag light is on, there is no check engine light in the car, so no one noticed. The electronics in this car are horrific, I had multiple radios changed, lights on heater, steering wheel, radio and directions seem to work at will or more often not. No the radio still doesnt work the static is horrid and yet its no great loss i gave up dreaming about music 7 years ago. There was a major issue with the reburn valve un the engine, and the car would systematicly shut down, on the high way, in the woods, any where it felt the need... then after 3 restarts the code would be cleared and the dealer was helpless. Got to love that onstar - not. The car was in a parking lot spewing gas left and right running exteremeky rough and they came back and said 'you are going to fast up hill.' uh, im not even in the car lady, talking through the window because im scared. Soooo soo many problems. BUT i will say the size and design of the blue devil is better than anyhhing you can buy today The runk has a near flat entry and can hold wheel chair, waljers, assorted handicap devices and a weeks worth of luggage. The ride is smooth (once it starts, sigh) and the front seat is an acceptable height for people with mobiliy issues. The fact the car is large is a comfort. So when it shuts itself off for your safety, when you are driving 60 mph in the high way, you have some chance of survival even if the failed airbag is yours. Love/hate this car, Onstar? well its something to amuse you when you dial AAA on your cell. And you g et an insurance discount. If mom could get in and out of an suv, I would have dumped it the 23 times it was in for service underwarranty. And yes its annoying when the temperature control lights dont work or your idiot onstar rep says you can drive the car as long as the check engine light is not on. IT DOESNT HAVE ONE

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Buick LeSabre

by Had the LeSabre for 1 month from Northern Indiana | September 11, 2013

I really like the car, the way it handles and looks, and the gas mileage is great on the highway (gets over 30 mpg), and acceptable in town (around 24 mpg). Roomy interior, nice features (Cruise, Air, ABS, Automatic Lights, Leather Seats, and Seat Heaters). About the same outside dimensions as the old Taurus (2007 era), but much more roomier inside, could seat 6 if needed. Mine has over 139,000 miles on it (I've put on about 1,000 of those miles). Purchased used, as-is condition. Took to mechanic to have checked - needed new shocks, struts, one hub, and incidentals. But all motor, AC etc was still working great. Mechanic and dealer both said that the engines that where pu in the LeSabre are very reliable. Would recommend this car, but due to the age, would also recommend having your car checked by a Mechanic prior to purchase, as all used car conditions vary.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


iconic car

by lesabre legend from massachusetts | September 1, 2013

as the lesabres decline in supply(last produced in'05), it appears that their demand is rising(and their cost)...the car simply rides beautifully...it is not a sportscar, it is intended for sunday drives and vacations...rolling to savannah, ashville,montreal, etc.(from massachusetts), it offers comfort, great trunk space, smooth as silk cruising, 28+mpg, and enough bells and whistles to satisfy any 62 year old retiree(me)...i guess at least one of your window regulators will break at some time, but that seems to be the only truely weak part of the car... the engine, transmission,a/c, heat, etc. are well engineered...it is becoming iconic...i think the general crowd driving toyotas, hondas, nissans, etc., might be wondering what they are missing(if they do not move within 3 years, there won't be any gems left...i just bought 2(an '04 with 31k, and an '05 with 34k)...they are showroom like...most lesabre owners seem to treat their cars well...i guess they appreciate their iconic car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


very good car

by jacob 214 from dallas tx | December 30, 2012

had this car for a year it was a perfect car with no problems until some idiot pulled out in front of me and totaled it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best car ever

by Buickman from Ca | December 7, 2012

Around town or on the open road this is the best you can buy. Too bad changes were made that did not inprove the car. Over 30mpg OVERALL plus plenty of room for 4 adults and their luggage .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Most reliable car made

by Luxury Driver from Tyler,tx | March 21, 2012

I don't understand why Buick stopped production of this car I love the Le Sabre this recent purchase is my third one the other only replaced because of a wreck and falling in Love with this one.This car has great power and rides so smooth and great gas mileage 18 City 30 Hwy

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Wish they were still building this model

by Buick Lover from Indianapolis, IN | August 1, 2011

I would echo all of the other reviews. I am a big person so I need the roomy interior of the La Sabre. I am a salesmam so I live in my car and this is the car to have. I get 26-28 MPG consistently. I drive this everywhere interstate, rural roads and state highways. It takes it all in. My only regret is this was the last year Buick made this amazing model. With the super 3800 engine, it is a very reliable machine. Don't hesitate to buy one if this is the type of car you are looking for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Buick Roadmaster Estate Wagon Limited

by Buick Lover from London, Ontario | June 1, 2011

Buick Roadmaster Limited late models says it all! This vehicle is so appropriate for all around use including towing etc. Can carry lots of materials etc.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


really great car

by Big Will from san antonio | May 14, 2011

I love this car.....it is not beautiful but it is comfortable and gets super gas mileage for its size. Many four cylinder cars would be happy to do as well. All the comfort and economical to.. it rides so smooth. It is super quietm and really well built. It trivals Toyota for quality

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

Featured Services for this Buick LeSabre

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.