2007 Buick Rainier

Change Vehicle

2007 Buick Rainier

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2007 Buick Rainier AWD shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$5,988–$14,752

Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 21–22 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

very good

by smitty from hartsvillesc | January 16, 2012

Purchased with 42k miles on it, now have almost 44k. Well pleased. I have only had the vehicle for just over a month.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Almost Bravada

by captmg from Rice Lake, WI | December 19, 2011

I purchased a used Rainier as I had a 02 Bravada prior to this. The Rainer is supposed to be the same thing except with the Buick badge, while it is mostly I think the Bravada was quieter and had less wind noise and got slightly better mileage. I do like the traction control system but I have had several times that I will get a message to "Service Traction Control" and nothing is wrong and resets once car is turned off and turned back on again. Inside it is the same as the Bravada and like it could use more leg room for a tall driver and the driver side cup holder is useless if you have long legs. A couple other things that I liked better on the Bravada was the temp and fan control on the steering wheel and an overhead sunglass compartment that now houses the reading lights. All in all it is a well made mid size SUV that can get low 20's on the highway but only about 16 - 18 in the city. I like the new Explorer but can not get myself to spend almost 40K on a new one. My Bravada went for 145,000 miles with very little service needed and was still worth $6,000.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great value for the money

by Love the Rainier from Minnesota | February 6, 2011

We are on our second Rainier. First an 04 and then an 07. The 07 rides more refined than the 04 and the subtle differences plus the stabilitrak and traction control (finally standard on the AWD model) make the two Rainiers quite a bit different. They worked out a few of the rougher edges by the 07 model year. Both have the V8 and the power difference is night and day to the I6 especially for towing our very heavy boat and the mileage is the same as the I6. The 07 with the cylinder deactivation function provides about 10% better mileage than our 04 without that technology. Our 07 has every option offered including the navigation system which is nice but looks a bit dated compared to the new generation tech. If you have the entertainment system you can play a cd in the overhead dvd player and still use the navigation function. (only the SAAB 9-7x allowed you to play a cd and use the navigation disk simultaniously even though the nav units look the same the SAAB is different) I haven't used a cd in years though. I'm glad Buick made their version of the GMT 360 because they are a deal in the used market and most of the things that are options on the other version such as the Envoy are standard on the Rainier. Here is a sampling of what came on our 07 that can be options on other brands (excluding the air bags): Heated leather seats, side curtain airbags, wooden stearing wheel, AWD, Traction control and Stabilitrak, power moon roof, full screen navigation system plus the onstar turn by turn navigation, rear entertainment/dvd player, 6500lb tow capacity, 5.3l v8, 3.73 rear end, running boards, xm satelite radio, chrome rims, A warning though on the Rainier and similar. Get the 06 on up with Stabilitrak. We rolled our 04 over in a situation where, had we had Stabilitrak, it wouldn't have gotten to the point of rolling hence why we now have an 07. The 04 has standard locking rear differential which although fantastic for certain situations such as pulling a boat out of a slippery boat ramp, will make you have to learn do drive a vehicle that wants to spin out. The later models with stabilitrak and traction control (AWD models I'm referring to) don't come with the locking rear differential (G80 rpo code) as standard even though the professional reviews of the car say they do (it is an option for 07). The traction control and stabilitrak cured the tendency for the rear to want to pass the front on slippery surfaces like ice. In fact the car will refuse to do so unless you shut the systems off which are seperate and distinct. The reviewers simply carried forward their review of the 04 which was inappropriate. Bottom line, Rainiers are quiet, very able to tow heavy trailers, decent mid luxury appointments and both of ours had/have been trouble free plus they depreciate at a good clip so you get an amazing amount of truck based SUV for your money for those that need to tow but don't want to go as big as a Tahoe. I only hope the Buick Enclave depreciates as fast so we can replace our minivan at some point.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Riding car I have owned

by DuvafromCuba from | November 13, 2008

Not many mid size suv's have rear AC, but this one does. Turns on a dime, Know I know why buick and cadi's cost more. Suspension, luxury, ride, and features.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Buick the BEST!

by Morris the horse from OHIO | April 26, 2008

The best SUV i have ever owned! Buick has always been top of the line. Driving the Buick is like waiting to go to Kings Island -Fun to do! Buick has put a lot of time and money in thier Cars and SUV'S and it realy shows in satisfaction ,realy quiet tride and great to look at.You shoud at least give it a try.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Nice Vehicle but has Issues.

by Luxury Lover from Ohio | November 14, 2007

Major steering problem at 10K. Why does it only seat 5? Why can't the navigation be built in: placing a disc in doesn't allow you to utilize other discs simultaneously.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very Pleased Buick Rainier Owner

by Happy Buick Owner from Nebraska | October 1, 2007

The Rainier is in its last year of production and that is unfortunate. In our search for a mid sized comfortable SUV we kept returning to the Rainier. We have been more than impressed with everything about our vehicle. We love the ride and quietness in an SUV! Very pleased with this vehicle purchase. It is a pleasure to drive. Even though the Rainier will not be around when we look for our next SUV, Buick will be at the top of list whatever model they have at the time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most Comfortable, Smoothest, Quiestest SUV I owned

by PJean from Cliffwood Beach, New Jersey | October 19, 2006

I never in my dreams expected to own a Buick. The name Buick, just reminds me of my parents type of Vehicle. But I was pleasantly surprised by this SUV. I simple Love It! The Superior, Rich Look, The Smooth, Comfortable and Quiet Ride of a Cadillac has me going back for a New One this Year. I Currently have a 2004, now looking for a 2007. This is definitely the Vehicle for me. Anyone who rides in my Rainier, rave about it to everyone. You really should take one for a test drive, you will be pleasantly surprised. That's what happened to me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Buick Rainier

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.