2002 Buick Rendezvous

Change Vehicle
2002 Buick Rendezvous

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2002 Buick Rendezvous 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$1,842–$8,774
Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 24–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 24 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 24 reviews

Loved this car!

by Ashley from Jackson, MI | June 6, 2013

Being a very picky individual who didn't want to spend a ton on a used SUV, I looked around for a long time before deciding what I wanted. Ultimately, I landed on the Buick Rendezvous due to good experiences with Buicks lasting a long time and the size seemed perfect for my needs. I really wanted a 3rd row, but not a huge vehicle to go along with it since I didn't need the extra seats on a daily basis. The dealership went to the auctions specifically looking for an AWD Rendezvous with a third row and a bench in the middle. They came back with the 2002 CXL model with 80,000 miles which also had a moonroof and heated leather seats. I almost didn't buy it due to the seats, I never liked leather before and was worried about my dogs damaging them. I am so happy that I did. The back was plenty large enough for my dogs to be comfortable and never need to be on the seats, keeping my interior much cleaner. The storage space was great and it was very comfortable to drive which was very important to me as I have back issues and drive a lot. I now feel the need to have a sunroof and heated seats in every vehicle, they were wonderful! The vehicle itself had quite a few miles on it and I did purchase an extended warranty but I never needed to use it. It handled great in the snow without being too big or bulky and met all of my needs perfectly. There were no issues with the engine the entire time that I had it, just regular servicing. I had the brakes and rotars replaced once, but only with an appropriate amount of wear on them. I do believe that the rear wheel bearing were replaced by the dealership before I bought it. I was told that they commonly went out between 70,000 and 90,000 miles so they just went ahead and did that for me. I never had any issues with them and I put another 65,000 miles on it. Unfortunately, this vehicle was totaled in an accident about a year and a half ago. Initially, I tried to find another one but when I couldn't get one "exactly" the same I decided to downsize to get better gas mileage. It didn't take long before I realized how much I missed my Rendezvous and I have started looking for another one again. I have also looked around at other SUVs since the Rendezvous are all older now, but nothing makes me quite as satisfied and I'm likely going to go with an older model Rendezvous instead of a SUV that is currently available.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


WONDERFUL CAR!

by Love to Drive from California & Missouri | December 12, 2012

Car has been driven 197,000 miles. I expect to drive this car to 300,000 miles. I had no repairs,(only maintanence) until it had gone 144,000 miles. I have only spent around $4,000. in repairs since then. The car is solid, paint is great, interior is holding up. It drives like a new car and has never had a breakdown, nor has it ever failed to start. It is a winner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Comfortable but Mechanical Disaster

by GKB from Long Valley, NJ | June 8, 2012

Comfortable car, but thank you for the after market warranty. The warranty cost about $2000. They spent about $10,000 to rebuild it! (Wheel bearings, AC, AWD trans, fuel pump, etc,, etc). The car now has 172,000 miles on it and is still very comfortable to drive. However, it has been a money pit from about 72,000 miles on. Average cost about $250 per month to own it and that is just maintenance, not gas and insurance. It has been rebuilt, except for the engine. Wheel bearings have been replaced two times on each wheel! My mechanic said the bearings are undersized for this weight vehicle. Buick took a comfortable car and made it a mechanical disaster. Very reluctant to buy an Enclave now.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


perfect

by auburn man from birmingham alabama | January 26, 2011

i have owned my rendezvous for 8 years, the best vehicle i have ever bought for the money. drives so smooth, not to meantion roomy for a small suv. i would recomend this vehicle to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2002 Buick Rendezvous

by Al from Lakewood, CO | December 8, 2010

this is a very good car. The power and pickup is not too satisfying and the mileage is in the 18-20 mpg. However, it is a comfortable car with all the bells and whistles. If they had added a turbo in this car, it would just knock your socks off. The size is good for a person that likes company and wants to haul large loads inside.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best vehicle I've ever owned!!!!

by Old Guy from Des Moines,IA | October 19, 2010

I own a Rendezvous and am looking for a second one for my wife. We have never owned a better vehicle and couldn't be happier! I bought my 2002 with 78,000 miles and now have 211,000 without any problems. I ahve a CXL with all the comforts including heated seats, heads-up display and a sunroof. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


115k - great car with one exception

by wendy from Maryland | October 4, 2010

I bought this 2002 in 2005 for 22k, it had 6k miles on it. Bought from Carmax and bought warranty - glad for that when the engine went at 90k - cost me nothing but I still think unacceptable for 90K. The car runs like new with no other major repairs and I am happy with it but apparently the 2002 had engine troubles so buyer beware!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


stay away

by me from Virginia | October 3, 2010

It's very comfortable. We got the extended warranty when we bought a used model and it was the best money I've ever spent. The odometer quit working, the seat track blew, head gasket, something else was leaking, the air conditioner expired and I don't even remember what else. All of this in the 2.5 years we owned it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Great and Reliable

by Judy Rudy from Detroit, MI | September 9, 2010

THIS CAR WAS NOT IN MY TOP BRANDS EVEN OF CARS BUT I LOVE IT. IT JUST SOMETHING ABOUT A BUICK THAT RUNS EXCELLENT THAT JUST KEEPS ME IN LOVE WITH THIS CAR.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fooled by luxury, comfort & good looks!

by Disenchanted from Ferndale, WA | May 19, 2010

I fell for the "automatic everything" leather, seat warmer, and it was a handsome vehicle. BUT look inside and it is a money funnel. We have put more money into this vehicle than it's value! Differential is going out, when the alternator failed we lost all power on the road. No steering, brakes or ability to unlock doors to evacuate. Luckily there was just enough power to put a window down enough we could put a key in the outside lock to get out. I would never buy another Buick if my life depended on it because I can't depend on the vehicle for my life!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 24 reviews

Featured Services for this Buick Rendezvous

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.