We've given this page a whole new look

View the new design

1998 Cadillac Catera

Change Vehicle
1998 Cadillac Catera
Available in 1 styles:  Catera 4dr Sedan Base shown
Asking Price Range
$1–$7,681
Estimated MPG

18 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

2.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Mechanic's Nightmare

by Space Cowboy from Alpine, California | April 5, 2016

This is one of those cars that has to be maintained. Most GMC products, buy it used, and f it hasn't been kept up, you can replace the parts that are busted or worn and usually come out ahead. Not the Catera. If it hasn't been maintained, everything suffers, paint being the exception. The engine is solid, but one thing goes wrong, and the whole engine degrades. In 2016, I can't recommend buying a used Catera.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


worst car I ever owned!

by never again from Toledo, Ohio | September 30, 2013

Have had nothing but problems with this car since we have bought it. Have sank over 5000 into it plus paid 1500 for it. Can not drive it far at all. Oil pressure problems, gear problems, can only drive it no further than 5 miles at a time sending to junk yard!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Worst Car Ever

by Car Lover from East Windsor, New Jersey | September 26, 2013

This by far was the worst car I ever purchased. Intake issues,pump problems with hydraulics had to buy a used one and periodically have repair man bypass it and manually pump to rise the car or else it was almost on the ground. Issue passing emissions test. It's no wonder Cadillac only made these from 1997-2001 there recognized the disaster and you should too. I would not recommend this vehicle to my worst enemy. Mines is still at the shop after new engine it still has issues I told them to keep it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


reliable!

by yeah from new york, ny | September 21, 2011

best car you can get, gets you to where you need to go and is the best kind of car at and for comfort.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Bad car

by hans from California | April 22, 2011

This car is very un reliable. Do not waste time on this car. Engine issues, smog issues, seats are not comfortable. Car costs a fortune for repairs. Ebtcm module tends to go bad on these cars alot. speedometers then go out. Oil coller issues. Just stay away!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Catera = worst car made

by Cr*ptera from Sunny diego CA | March 9, 2011

This car is a nightmare. I would not let my worst enemy drive this car! I dont even know where to start This car has many allignment issues, electrical and engine performance issues, as well as leaks of all sorts waiting to happen. This car is noutorius for failing smog and is not fuel efficient. the speed sensor "ebtcm" goes bad as well and is a nightmare to repair/ pay for repair. No matter what you do this car keeps giving trouble. Materials inside and out of car are of cheap material. Dont let the "leather" seats fool you. everything looks rubbery and plastic. Comfort = 0 . You feel like your in a shoe box. The suspension tends to go bad and ride is very rough with slightest bump. I could go on and on much more of the frustrations i have had with this car. Got rid of it at the junker not too long, best decision I made!. I see these cars in the junk yard very often and certainley not suprised.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


not bad for 13 yrs old

by catera owner from | February 9, 2011

I bought this car mainly because I am tired of being in debt. I sold my truck, paid off the bank and bought this 13 yr old car outright. I now have no debt. If I am lucky this car will last at least a year or two. Long enough to save up some money to buy a better vehicle outright. Tired of be in debt to the banks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


bad

by badcar from san diego | November 4, 2010

Overall this car is trouble, i reccomend not to put interest, time or money in this car as i have wasted myself. it is only trouble and unreliable. A wanabe european car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great Value

by Rico from Chicago | August 12, 2009

I bought my 98 Catera brand New in Octyober of 98. Leased it. Car was awesome, never had a problem with the vehicle. Caddy dealer was great, service was done by them with a loaner. Only complaint, is that it could have used another 50 hp under the hood. I knew going in, but where can you go fast anymore anyway. Cruised at 90 no problem. Stereo was a Bose and was mind deafining. Chicago winters? no problem went through the snow without a hitch. I was sad to turn this vehicle in, but needed an SUV for kids.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


worst car ever buy , waste of my money

by jeep from new jersey | October 4, 2008

this car love be in the dealer, to much trouble to keep , beside very expensived to be all the time on the dealer. without saying the mechanic call the catera.. catrouble

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this Cadillac Catera

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.