2000 Cadillac Catera

Change Vehicle

2000 Cadillac Catera

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2000 Cadillac Catera 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$770–$8,542

Estimated MPG

18 city / 24 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

2.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

2 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

I like this car, not for mechanically challenged.

by Al from Gary, IN. | November 15, 2013

I have owned this car for 6 years. In this time I have replaced. Timing belt, thermostat, and water pump at 114,000 miles. Replaced the heater bypass valve 3 times(average 2yrs). Valve cover gaskets twice(avg 2years). Rear shocks at 100K, Crankshaft position sensor at 85K. Current mileage 143k, needs fuel pump. Still looks and rides great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Hmmm....nice but not

by CateraOwner from Dallas TEXAS | October 25, 2013

I actually really enjoy driving this car! It RUNS fantastically, handles well, and is quick for its size. However it DOES have it's many issues....my speedometer and odometer haven't worked since I got it, nor the cruise control, radio or interior lights (most of them anyway). Lots and lots of electrical issues and leaks, oil leak, power steering AND coolant, gotta keep them filled on the regular! Quite a high maintenance car but for someone who doesn't mind it, it is a rewarding drive! I feel like I'm driving a Mercedes or BMW going down the highway or in city! If you have one, take care of it, keep it WELL maintained and check fluids! Also, I'm not understanding the suspension issues others are having, with all my issues I thought for sure I had seen them all, but my auto level and suspension has always been a dream!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Falling Apart at 40k miles

by Fish from Colorado | February 22, 2011

I recently bought a used 2000 Cadillac Catera for about $3,000. It only had 40,000 miles on it, so it seemed like not a bad deal. Took the car to a mechanic before buying it to check it out, and they said it would require about $800 in repairs, which was fine with me. However, there ended up being much, much more wrong with the car than what we were told, and within 3 months of owning the car we had spent over $3,000 on repairs. Even minor repairs on this car were expensive, and even the Cadillac dealer did not identify everything that was wrong with it. Bottom line, DO NOT BUY A CATERA. Sure, it was 10 years old but no car should be falling apart at 40k miles. I'll say it again, DO NOT BUY A CATERA!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best car ever!

by Catera is the best Car ever Made from Ohio | November 17, 2009

Wonderful automobile, drive one and you will fall in love with it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


WOW!

by YV from San Antonio | May 4, 2009

The engine light is always on, and they charge 1-2,000 to replace the computer. Had to replace the Mass Air Flow sensor and that was $300, now I have to replace the speed sensor and that's another $300. The AC has never really worked correctly, never strong enough and eventually it gets cold. The odometer and speedodometer don't work so I don't know how many miles it actually has. And I don't know how fast I'm going. Problems!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Love hate relationship

by fan from south dakota | March 25, 2008

I loved this car whenever it worked properly; which was seldom. Lets see, beside the constanst check engine light, there was constant coolant and power steering fluid leaks. This car is high maintenance and low reward.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Quality & Repair Problems

by Go Sox from Boston, MA | February 17, 2008

I owned the car for 7 years. The first couple years were good, with great handling and decent performance. The alignment is extremely sensitive though, and gets misaligned from minor road bumps that did not affect my other cars. But after a couple years, there were some repairs for parts that malfunctioned earlier than they should have, including the transmi$$ion. The warranties, regular and extended ($1700 for up to 100,000 miles - got it as insurance since Cadillac/Opel is still a GM) minimized the costs but not the wasted time. After 5 years, it just got progressively worse, especially with the electrical stuff. The battery started drained after two years, and the last one lasted less than one year. The Check Engine constantly came on. Dealers tried but were unable to pinpoint exact causes, but were willing to replace parts. With parts from Germany, the costs are high. Private garages avoid working on the car. One of the national tire chain stores would not replace the shock absorbers. The car quality seems targeted to last for 2 to 4 years, after which things go downhill fast.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Cost to much to maintain

by luxury car lover from California | February 8, 2008

What a lemon. Looks great feels great but to many problems with them. Like electrical, the heating core, you name it. Most deffinetaly a money pit. Most mechanics wont even take it on to fix it so even if you have the money to your out of luck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Too pricy too maintain

by joey from atlanta georgia | June 9, 2007

too mny problems with finding any one who woudn't charge ''an arm and a leg'' to fix its numerous cooling system problems

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Cadillac Catera

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.