2001 Cadillac Catera

Change Vehicle
2001 Cadillac Catera
Available in 1 styles:  2001 Cadillac Catera 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$1,456–$6,992
Estimated MPG

17 city / 24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Worst car I have ever owned

by Driver from | July 25, 2011

i really liked the looks and comfort but it is always broke down.Check Cadillac Catera owners forum.These cars are nothing but trouble.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


BEST CAR I EVER BOUGHT

by pamperedgirl83 from moreno valley, ca | April 27, 2011

I got this car used with 68k on it. It has been almost a year and I have put almost 15k more on it and have put about $800 into the car. I knew when we bought the car that we would have to do repairs soon after since on the car fax there was only regular maintenance no repairs. When you buy an older used car you have to expect to do repairs. I will not trade this car for any new car out there...its just the right size and its so comfortable. I'm going to drive this car into the ground!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


needed repairs every 6 months

by rlm colorado from Colorado Springs, Colorado | October 12, 2010

Bought car used with low miles. After 6 months it needed repairs and there after numerous times. I was sold on the looks and styling of the car. but it is a maintenance nightmare. parts are very expensive and hard to find. the car is german made. Opal. If you dont mind spending money on repairs, then heres your car. Hopefully my mistake will not happen to others. even if you google this car you will find numerous others with problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Avoid this car!!

by Boycott GM from Monterey, Ca | February 7, 2010

Parts are hard to get, not to mention expensive, and the mechanical problems are plentiful. I regret buying this car, mostly for the credit card debt accumulated trying to keep it running and the fact I had to sell it to a dismantler after 10 months of ownership because I could not sell it. Worst decision I've made, hopefully you will avoid it too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Love it till it hits100000 then walk away

by Car Man from NJ | January 3, 2009

I loved the car and would have driven it forever but when it hit 100K almost to the day the electronics fell apart. Nothing worked from the dash to the engine and nobody knows how to work on this car “nobody“. So if you find one running good and real cheap buy it and enjoy if it starts acting up dump it don’t waste money trying to fix it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Catera Solid Car

by Caddy Fan from Denver, CO | December 30, 2008

I've had my Catera for almost 5 years and it's been a great car. I really like the styling and it's fun to drive. It does surprisingly well in snow and ice considering it is RWD. I've had to put some money into repairing the traction control, battery cables, and oil level sensors - but that was all under warranty. All in all, this car has been very reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A very good first car

by Mike from LI Ny | July 19, 2008

I have been driving the car the past 6 months and it has been trouble free. Power is just right(7.1 sec for 0-60 is fine for me), and i personally like the interior and the exterior. My only complaints would be leg room for everyone in the car(im 6 3 and im VERY cramped), and that premium gas is recomended even though i cant figure out why. Other then this the car makes a great first car and college car. I would not however recomend it to an adult since it does not live up to the cadillac name and makes you wishing for more. Just hope you find a good one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Couldn't have made a better choice.

by Chevy from Chicago,IL | January 22, 2007

I bought My 2001 catera used with 42,000 miles on it, it's just like new! I made an excellent used car choice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


good before 100000miles

by love sport and luxury from dallas, texas | December 13, 2006

it looks good and everything is just perfect,but just aske yourself why its doesn't cost so much, this car loose value so fast, so if you looking for something to keep forever buy it but keep money in saving for repaire once it get 100000mile it's good for trash, but if you need something to trade later on wrong way i am talking from experience, girl will come with because it look good

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best car ever

by Screw sport ot all about luxery from Chicago | June 3, 2006

The caddie is the god of all cars and always will be! It's inside is the best by all and the style is just so sleak and sweet. It has everything a person would want. Not a kids car (teens) LOL

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Cadillac Catera

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.