1998 Cadillac DeVille

Change Vehicle
1998 Cadillac DeVille

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  DeVille 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$548–$7,684
Estimated MPG

17 city / 26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

Great classic ride!

by catwoman0129 from Dowagiac MI | April 11, 2013

I had been looking for another Deville for a while after having owned a 1995 about 5 years ago. Regrettably, that model year was susceptible to cracks in the aluminum motor mounts, and we discovered a problem with over-heating the first time we found ourselves driving in the mountains. Knowing we could not in good conscience try to re-sell the vehicle (we had obtained it in a personal vehicle trade), we traded it in during the Cash for Clunkers promotion. But I always wanted another one....without, of course, the motor mount problem. Assured that problem had been solved in later years' production, I found a beautiful one-owner 1998 at an area dealer. I didn't "need" another car, but I wanted the convenience of being able to listen to my audiobooks on cassette or CD's. Since they don't put both audio options in vehicles anymore, I guess you could say I bought the most expensive cassette player on the market! But I also got a great car with a luxurious, comfortable ride and great mileage for a "boat." It actually gets better mileage than my 2009 Toyota Venza!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Pure Joy

by lwh1959 from Chandler, Tx. | February 10, 2013

This car, by far, is the most enjoyable car I have driven. I was lucky enough to be at the right place at the right time, just when a person traded this Caddy in on another car. I have had to replace only the battery, and wiper blades, and a small leaking hose. The car had 96,000 on it and it has 103,000 now. It gets extremely good gas mileage, I have just now begin to have an A/C leakage problem. The controls on the steering wheel are a BLESSING, as I dont like to look down, while I'm driving to adjust the radio, or turn it up, nor adjust the A/C or heat. It can all be done on the steering wheel. The ride is excellent, and performance is out of this world considering the size and weight of the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


very riliable

by greg from saco,maine | January 23, 2012

best ride i have ever purchased.car is just like new with only 42,000 miles.you don,t feel the bumps and in maine that is very hard to achieve.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


caddy mechanic

by caddy fan from stroudsburg pa | December 29, 2010

always loved this generation deville. the only thing hurting these cars is the northstar headgasket problems. if it wasnt for that these cars would be the best in the world in my book, since when the motors are running properly the cars are a joy to drive. but. the northstars of this generation and the one after it all accumulate a blown head gasket at atleast 130.000 miles. i would never buy or own one with over 80,000-85000 miles, since at that point they are basicly a ticking time bomb. this problem can be a 1800-2500 dollar repair, and your replacing one hilage milage northstar engine with another middle-high milage northstar, wich will eventually due the same as the first did.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


One Great Car

by Mr. Blonde from Chicago, IL | January 6, 2009

I received my 1998 Deville when my grandparents passed away and it only had 22,000 miles on it. Everything worked and it road on a cloud of comfort. It is quite large tho, its as big as a yacht, but the Northstar V8 as enough power to pull and and then some. The acceleration is very good, but the handling is no Lotus..obviously. The problems that kept on coming up was electronic problems with the windows. These little gremlins came up quite a few times. But in all, it is a really good car to own.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good Car

by Car Expert from | November 6, 2008

My dad bought this car in 2005 and I love it. After I messed up my car, my dad went out and bought a seville and let me drive this car full time. The handleing and braking power has saved me from numerous accedents and it is a very smooth car to ride in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


A ROLLING EXECUTIVE CHAIR !

by JP from FLORENCE, KENTUCKY | March 4, 2008

The 1998 Cadillac Fleetwood Limited is an unusual car from many standpoints. Cadillac "outsourced" the construction of their Flagship sedan to Superior Coach Company (a division of Accubuilt) in Lima, Ohio. Superior, took a normal 1998 Cadillac deVille, stretched it 12"), and made a luxury cruiser worthy of royalty. The Fleetwood Limited is powered by Cadillac's standard 4.6 litre, 275 horsepower Northstar V-8 engine coupled with front-wheel drive, anti-lock brakes, magnasteer and traction control. For a price that was substantial for an American-made luxury car ($52,000), you got all the amenities you'd expect in a formal luxury sedan, including the usual Cadillac luxuries of power windows, door locks, lengthened and strengthened chassis (119.8 inch wheelbase, overall length of 221.8 inches, with a trunk capacity of 23.5 cubic feet), full tuxedo grain vinyl top, rear seat reading lamp, cellular telephone installed in the center driver's armrest, nuance leather seating areas in black, automatic dimming compass rear-view mirror, heated front seats, rear wheel well fender skirts, dual air bags, front side air bags, Zebrano wood interior trim, power rear view mirrors, power antenna, digital climate control, cruise control, adjustable tilt steering wheel, rear defroster, and other upgraded components. The Fleetwood Limited package added $6,630 to the price of a Cadillac deVille. I have further customized the car with an E&G Custom Chrome Grille, all "new" style Cadillac emblems, New Simulated top, New Moonroof (SUV size), 2008 Fender Engine "ports" (cut-out fenders and installed), and other items, etc. To say that the 1998 Fleetwood Limited is rare is an understatement. If you are NOT driving a Fleetwood you are NOT driving a True Cadillac !! Mine is a Triple black beauty. Black Paint, Black Top, Black interior.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


If Ain't a Cadillac, Don't Drive It

by Only a Caddy Driver from Tallahassee, FL | June 14, 2007

This car has been great since day one. The Northstar engine is great and provides plenty of power especially with highway driving. The A/C gets cool very quickly (a plus in the Florida heat), and the 12 disc cd changer makes for enjoyable road trips to Miami from the panhandle. One problem with a ground wire breaking and the air suspension compressor going out, but the repairs didn't spoil the joy of the car. And about 26 mpg on the highway at 75mph ain't too bad for a car this size!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Worse Caddy out 3.

by bizness from Kentucky | February 13, 2007

I've owned three Caddy's and this has to be the most disappointing. Several problems with electrical, radiator, HVAC, starting problems and on and on. Very nice to look at and does turn heads and draws compliments often. They have lost a loyal customer. I am buying foreign.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great vehicle, been in the family since new.

by Joe from MA | January 14, 2007

Excellent Car, one of the best I ever purchased, very reliable, good performance and great ride. This vehicle has beeen in my family since new and has always provided reliable transportation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Cadillac DeVille

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.