1998 Chevrolet Astro

Change Vehicle
1998 Chevrolet Astro

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  Astro Van Passenger RWD shown
Asking Price Range
$763–$6,535
Estimated MPG

15–17 city / 19–23 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Astro Great Family Car, But Brakes Warp Too Fast

by Yakima Clipper from Bothell, WA | February 28, 2012

Had my 1998 Astro from 1999 to 2012 and put 115,000 miles on it without it ever letting me down on the highway in an out of the way place. Never even had a flat. Pulled an 18 foot boat with it and it does just fine with the exception of one thing. New front brake discs would only go about 1000 miles before warping, creating a pulsing brake pedal and pulsing stops. Other than that a great car. Lots of room, will carry a good load or seat 8. Two back seats come out allowing 4 X 8 sheets of sheetrock or plywood to be carried flat. Generally quiet and comfortable on the road. I really enjoyed owning it and can recommend to others with the exception of the brakes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Van

by David from Indianapolis, Indiana | May 4, 2010

My father owned one and so do I. They run great and are excellent for long distant family travel. And with the recent rain they are high enough they dont get stuck in high water. Love the van, would buy this one but i already have one..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Van

by Van Man from NY | September 17, 2009

I have owned 2 Astro vans, and each one ran without issue for ten years or more. The gas mileage was good too. The only minor issue I found was handling in snow. But when weight was in the rear it handled better. Our family lived well with these vehicles between traveling and soccer runs it did its job.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Runner!!

by Keep on truckin! from | January 7, 2009

I have had three of them and they work and run great! Great gas mileage for a truck!!! Heat gets hot in seconds!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


worst truck i have ever owned

by chevy hater from md | December 21, 2008

bought used 1500 5 months ago for part time job.it has been in shop three times now.gm should have gone out of business years ago.....stay away!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Stay away

by Disgusted Astro Owner from Idaho | June 12, 2008

Do not buy late 90's Astros. They have have design flaws in the fuel pump which is in the gas tank. It will cost you about $1000.00 to repair by the time you pay a tow truck to take it to a garage. I bought mine used with 97k miles. Another 10k miles and TWO original Chevy fuel pumps have gone out. I found out that this is a common issue with these vans. Some people have even chiseled access hatches under the rear seat to allow easier access to the fuel pump when it goes out. The first words out of the last tow truck drivers mouth were "did the fuel pump go out?" Now I'm afraid to drive it. Anyone want an Astro - cheap?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


3rd ASTRO/SAFARI will miss them

by Astro/Safari from Wisconsin | March 29, 2008

This is my 3rd Astro/Safari and I have to say I am going to miss them. My first was a RWD and got stuck a few times and the last two were AWD which is amazing. I used them for intents not desingned for i.e. pulling 3000# boat hunting etc. and they all held up great. Head gasket went on current one but at 136000 miles so I can't complain. Exterior held up great on all. Only minor mechanical work. I actually used mine as a camper. Removed seats (heavy) and put a queen sized mattress in the back. Heat/air, lighting, radio, storage. All the luxuries of home. Just put my supplies in a tent. That way I could bring my boat camping. I love it and only reason I am parting with it is that I am getting a bigger boat.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Astro

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.