2005 Chevrolet Aveo

Change Vehicle
2005 Chevrolet Aveo

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  2005 Chevrolet Aveo 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$2,532–$8,640
Estimated MPG

27 city / 35 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

Worst car I ever owned

by Boston Joe from West Newbury, Massachusetts | November 15, 2013

Purchased a 2005 Aveo while living in Florida in 2011. It had 41000 miles on it. Within one month the thermostat went and also had to replace the whole mechanism to the oil plug. Moved back to Ma and the timing belt went which destroyed the engine. I would not recommend this car to anyone unless you want to empty your wallet. Last be not least to replace the engine was going to cost 2600.00 so I had the car repossessed. It was not worth the expense.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Dispose after used.

by 05 aveo from Silver Spring MD | January 31, 2012

34,000 miles - Thermostat housing exploded. All because it is made of plastic. 40,000 miles - Timing belt problem. All because the timing belt tensioner pulley; idle pulley is made of plastic. It is not even a Chevy. it is a Deawoo!!! I think all the small Chevy is just re-badge from Daewoo and Fiat. they just don't know how to make a small cars. They can only change the logo. They should merge with Lego.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Not an econo car

by Ziggy from Nova Scotia | October 18, 2011

In order to replace a small part on this car a whole section needs to be bought. In order replace bushings you have to purchase an axal with the bushings attached, most parts on the car are like this. Therefore, not an economy car as the parts go regularly and every time you leave the mechanic it's cost approx. 500$.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Worst car ever!

by Never making that mistake again from Wichita, Ks. | September 20, 2011

Wow! I thought this car was a great deal! Wrong. I bought it in good shape in Dec. 2007 with 51,000 miles on it and it started breaking down within a month. I have repeatedly had problems with the transmission, then engine is falling apart, the power steering went out, and the rear break system completely fell apart! I spent $7,000 on this vehicle and have put about the same smount into it since it was purchased. The interior is not suitable for people with small children as car seats and booster seats completely dominate the back seat. The trunk can hardly fit a medium-sized box. There is no leg room in the back, and hardly any in the front. Most of the accent lights on the interior have gone out, and the lock for the driver-side door fell in within a year. We also has mysterious problems with the electrical system just shutting off while driving that no ASE certified worked can figure out. This happens mostly in extreme temperatures. I would NOT recommend this vehicle to anyone, unless you just want to sell it for scrap.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


My sensible Chevrolet Aveo.

by Nick from Pittsburgh | July 28, 2011

I purchased a 2005 Chevrolet Aveo sedan with a 5 speed manual. The Daewoo-built Aveo was good when it came to reliability but for speed, it was slow. It needed twelve seconds to get to sixty mph. The Aveo will be a PERFECT first car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I love my car

by Shirley is my cars name from Dover, TN | June 23, 2011

I've had my Aveo since it had 14 miles on it. This car handles curves excellent, great gas mileage, and more room than it looks. The backseats lay down, which is really good when you don't have a truck. I've used my car to move and it held more than I expected it too. I totally recommend this car to anyone that is looking for a dependable, good on gas mileage, and that's a sharp looking vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Dependable Basic Transpertation

by Driver from Spokane, WA | May 13, 2011

I have owned my Aveo for six years and over 60,000 miles and have never had a breakdown or a repair need. On a road trip through back country mountain roads the Aveo gave us 38 mpg. In my commuting and errand running around town it averages 30 mpg. It is surprisingly big for a small car and easy to get into and out of. It has been able to carry a load of 10, 8 foot long 2X4's fully enclosed in the car. On another occasion it hauled 660 lbs of concrete mix to a construction site. So it can also double as a 1/4 ton pick up truck. That is an efficient design.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


small , but reliable and cheap to own

by 63 falcon guy from Millville, NJ | May 4, 2011

I have 78K miles on my '05 Aveo, and drive to work 65 miles round trip a day. I do all my own work and other than one set of tires at 40k have done nothing but gas and oil changes. I keep checking the brakes, but they look and work fine! I did change the trans fluid at 50k. It is a little tight inside if you're 6' tall, and dont expect sportscar acceleration with the 1.6L engine. However, you will be rewarded with as high as 38mpg on a long trip. The car gets over 30mpg always, averaging around 33mpg per tank with A/C on and auto trans!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


timing belt issue

by birdman from new york city | February 10, 2011

these cars have an interference engine. if it goes your engine is done. just don't buy this car please!!!!!!!!!!!! they go at about 60 k it is not worth buying one especially a used one with high miles. they are very unreliable. poorly made. junk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


2005 aveo owner

by 2005 aveo owner from ottawa, on Canada | October 6, 2010

fit and finish... 1. drivers side door lock dislodged and fell inside the door. 2. a/c/heater fan motor very loud. 3. many squeeks, rattles while driving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Aveo

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.