See Also: 2007 Chevrolet Aveo

2007 Chevrolet Aveo 5

Change Vehicle
2007 Chevrolet Aveo 5

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2007 Chevrolet Aveo 5 4dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$2,982–$9,570
Estimated MPG

27 city / 37 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

21 out of 35 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 35 reviews

A Real Lemon

by Angry car owner from Casa Grande, AZ | January 18, 2014

I bought this car to save money on gas and this was my big mistake. The car had 55,000 miles on it and four months after we purchased it, we had to replace the engine! Now, a year later the radiator went out. I am constantly throwing money into this car for mechanical issues. One would think that Chevrolet would make a good car but that is not the case. I am buying a Toyota next!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


If you drive a lot, stay away....

by NomadDriver from | July 10, 2013

I bought this car because my previous one has an engine rod break, and given the circumstances (no savings, low income at the time among others), I had pretty much no choice in the matter. I bought the 2007 Chevy Aveo 5 Hatchback, manual trans with about 35000 miles on it.... It was pretty good for about a year or so. I put 53000 miles on it in two years and two months, and have NEVER had a car with so many problems. Granted, I drive a lot, but a cars transmission shouldnt go bad after 88000 miles. Buy this car an an EXTRA car. One you can give the kids to drive their friends around on saturday night or something. I still had about $3500 to pay on it, and it needed THOUSANDS in repairs at the time i got rid of it. If you drive a lot for work or something, the fuel economy is great, but dont expect it to last forever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


BEWARE!!!!!!!!!

by Chevy/GM HATER from Colorado | June 16, 2012

I own a 2007 Chevy Aveo with 66 thousand miles on it and the serpentine belt broke and because there is no kind of pretection plate on it it went into my engine and bent the values we had to have the heads rebuilt and replcae part that with this low of milage car this should have never happened and Chevy and GM will not do a thing for you! Your Screwed! I will NEVER buy Chevy/GM again! I bought this car when it was only one year old!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Favorite small car

by college kid from Youngstown ,OH | March 6, 2012

With 37 mpg the Chevy Aveo5 hatchback is ideal for college students who are on a tight budget. Got it as a graduation gift and have had problems with it. Back seat leg room is a little tight but makes up for it with the fold down back seats, they're great for hauling everything. The best feature of this car is the gas mileage, with gas prices constantly going up is nice to know that you can fill up (from empty to full) in $45. The interior is comfortable, great for driving no matter the trip. Does have front and side air bags, great safety for a little car. Factory AM/FM radio sound quality is excellent. Great performance for a small engine with a quick pick-up. Great car for any age.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Car with a Purpose

by X-Rendezvous Owner from Morristown, TN | March 5, 2012

I just purchased this 2007 Aveo 5 LS. I bought it for the gas mileage but have come to like it for other reasons. It an automatic but gets 28+ city mpg, is easy to drive, and the drivers view around him is great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good, basic little car.

by Lance from Portland, OR | February 12, 2011

Purchased my Aveo sedan new - have had absolutely no problems with it. I get it's oil changed regularly - at the local 'oil change' business. Comfortable to drive long distances in, spacious trunk, seats fold down to open trunk area if I need room to haul something longer. Accelerates well, gas mileage runs about 30 mpg, more on long trips with sustained driving -- not city stop and go. Just can't complain about it. My family has borrowed it for long trips - kids in car seats in back are comfortable. Great turning radius and handles well in city, or highway. A bit light, so if there are high winds... 50 to 60 mph, drop your speed or you will be buffeted about the road some.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A Mixed Review

by Semi-Satisfied owner from Ottawa, On | September 15, 2010

Summary: A good overall car, but has spent a LOT of time at dealer's repair shops ....... A lot of mixed reviews, mine is mixed too Details: Moderately comfortable ride, comfortable seats, sufficent acceleration/braking, a bit 'plastic-y' inside, good radio, good for short or long trips, great turning radius/parkability, good mileage (IF you baby it, don't accelerate hard, etc), loud engine when accelerating, does keep road noise to a good level. Handles better when you replace tires/rims with a 15 inch '+1' fitment. Not a really bad car - NOT a performance car, but good inexpensive transportation (especially to/from work) .... But I have had a LOT of issues in the 2 years I have had it (nearly all warantee covered): * Cylinder head replaced due to valve sealing defect (actually twice as the first one they got the valve timing wrong and damaged 2 valves - that it a loud clacking I will never forget) * Throttle body based check engine light, and so throttle body was replaced * timing belt idler and tensioner replaced at 30k (bearing noise) * parking brake equilizer rusted & caused one brake drum to lockup when braking/warped * auto trans fluid needing replacement at half the required replacement mileage (replace with Synthetic) * engine cooling fan resistor cracked/replaced *cooling fan shroud cutting into radiator (hasn't cut the radiator open ... yet) * oil pump gasket starting to leak a little.... (not a good sign) Plus 'normal' maintenance (ie by 40k, replaced front rotors/pads, front sway bar links, rear drums/shoes). Car hasn't had a major issue in 4 months now, which is a good sign (my record was 6 months between check engine lights). It is a fine little car, but frustrating that mine doesn't seem as initially reliable as I would expect for a 3 year old car. Now that I am out of the 3 year warantee period, I am getting my hands dirty with fixing things myself... - ie fixing the radiator fan shroud before I can add 'new radiator' to the list... I want to like it, but the un-sporty handling (it really sways in turns), and weak acceleration (I know it is a 1.6L, but I have driven 10 year old 1.8L cars with a lot more acceleration), and having to baby it to get good milage - maybe this is in line with the price of the car.... hence a mixed review....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


not that good

by comfort from chicago | September 5, 2010

not that good i have a lot of problem right now.to many things need to be fix that wasnt done when i bought it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


A REAL JUNKER

by fed up from TAXCITY, IN | March 28, 2010

BOUGH IT NEW HAD 20 K MILES THEN IT CAME APART ITS A DAEWOO NIGHT MARE 38 MPG NO WAY MORE LIKE 29 HIGHWAY NO POWER ITS A SIDE STREET BOMBER WAS ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN IT WOULD ACT UP TOP SPEED WAS 65 MPH AND THAT WAS NOT A STEADY SPEED HAD IT TO SHOP 8 TIMES HAD A TUNE UP NO HELP ITS JUST A BOAT ANCHOR TRADED IT A PERFECTLY GOOD FORD ESCAPE BAD MOVE FOR SURE BUT IF YOU HAVE A POCKET FULL OF MONEY AND YOU COULD CARE LESS IF YOU GO ANY PLACE THEN THIS IS A RAG MOP FOR YOU WE WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER WE SOLD OURS FOR 4,500 LOW MILAGE BECUASE IT WOULD NOT RUN LONG ENOUGH TO GET ANY MILES ON IT, BEWARE

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


The best value for an economy car I've found

by Destructo Girl's Mom from Kirkland, WA | June 24, 2009

I purchased a 2007 Chevrolet Aveo LS in Octber 2006. My Aveo is very comfortable to drive. Sportscar-like with a spoiler on the back and alloy wheels. Roomy enough for 5 adults. Trunk can hold a 36qt cooler, beach chairs, blanket, towels, change of clothes, volleyball and net with room to spare. Split rear seats are great when you need extra space. 11.9 gallon gas tank, average 30mpg for combo driving and 34-38mpg for freeway trips. Excellent Performance on road trips (no lugging on inclines) and Handling in inclement weather (snow, ice, driving rain and hail). I upgraded my LS with full ABS, power windows and doors, MP3 jack and anti-theft device. Fantastic value for the money. My brother was so impressed he bought one. Routine maintenance is all that is needed to ensure complete reliability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 35 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Aveo 5

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.