See Also: 2008 Chevrolet Aveo

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

Change Vehicle

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5 4dr Hatchback shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$3,849–$9,993

Estimated MPG

24 city / 34 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

do not buy this car or a chevy

by unhappy chevy owner from Troy, NY | March 26, 2014

I Have had my aveo for 7 years now. I thought I could save money with a small car as well as save gas cost. Since owning it I have been in and out of the shop spending well over 8k on it now. I keep all the reciepts to prove that number. I have replaced the alternator, 3 wiper motors, numerous wires, all major fuses and amps, all radiator hoses, numerous rear lights, hatchback issues, and muffler and exhust systems.I have never been in an accident and have a clean drivers abstract. I understand upstate New York has it's share of weather but all other cars seem to do just fine. America...it takes more than Bob dylan to sell cars. A good product Iis a good product. Chevy should be ashamed of themselves for the conscious choice of putting this kind of car on the market. Suggestion to them is to think of what they can give in a car and not what they can get for it! It is flat out offensive and a waste of your hard earned American money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Unreliable hatch, brakes, clutch

by Low purchase price ends up being costly in the end from Ontario | August 31, 2013

I would not recommend purchasing this vehicle. I have been unable to use the hatch effectively for a couple years as there have been chronic problems with its opening mechanism. The brakes were repaired at a high cost last year and now need to be done again. The clutch was replaced last year.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Ms Lisa

by Baby Blue Bell from Florida | July 26, 2013

I wish I had found this car sooner . Love love love , love it . Roomy inside , comfortable for long distance driving , which I do a lot . Gas ha , can I get a woo hoo for that . never gonna own a big car again . Looking for a matching bike to strap on the back right now . There should be more designs like it .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Will never buy a chevy again

by M from Grand Rapids, MI | May 30, 2012

Replacing my second alternator in 4 years. Worst experience of my life dealing with GM and Chevrolet dealerships over the past two days. After being told it would be covered, I was basically laughed at by GM customer service reps, then hung up on. While one dealership did replace the first alternator outside of warranty two years ago, because they said it must havee been a bad part, when it went out again less than two years later (two days ago), they wanted to charge me $960 for a part my husband can install for $150. They have no answers as to why I need to replace an alternator every two years. This is not to mention the shocks, other electrical problems (haven't had a working clock in years) and other problems with the car. I can't wait to trade it in for a different brand. I'm very lucky that when I was stranded this time (at 9 months pregnant) that my husband happened to be with me. You cannot count on this car or on GM.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


My 08' Aveo

by firstnewcar from Alaska | April 14, 2012

The throttle body went out at 50xxx miles. It handles decent in snow, however deep snow its quite pathetic. I live in Alaska and this poor car just hates the cold! I plug it in when the temp dips below 20 degrees and it still sounds like I stepped on a cat when it starts up. Gas mileage you would think would be great considering how small the car is. I average 28 mpg and I drive mostly highway. Bought for $9600 brand new, resale is very very low. MUST change timing belt before 60,000 or your 5 year/100,000 powertrain warranty is voided. (Nice little bit of info I learned after I took it in for when the throttle body went out). Over all- Its a cheap commuter car and you get what you pay for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


MY AVEO

by aveo idiot from | October 22, 2011

Good thing they dont make this car anymore. electrical parts are a nightmare! 23 headlights, 5t throttle bodies, to numerous to mention all of the sensors that have gone haywire. 6 timing belts. Would not reccommend this car, but then again I drive 150000 miles per year. Car now has 301256 miles on it, new cars are to expensive to buy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Lots Of Car For The Money!

by Porschelover from Appleton, WI | September 8, 2011

I have been driving this car for almost three years and never had a problem with it (compared to VW...). It just stands there and is ready to go! Almost like a dog. I love it! Also like filling it up at the gas station because it has such good milage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2008 Chevy Aveo Hatchback

by Shaner90 from Rockford Il | March 20, 2011

I've owned this used 2008 Aveo for about 6 months. My hatchback is fully loaded but its still pretty basic. I wish the gas mileage was a little better. I have the automatic and average about 28mpg and I spend ALOT of time on the highway, and im not much of a speed demon sooooo.... Also the timing belt problem is a real bummer (NOTE: at 60,000 miles get that belt changed!) My mechanic sees more of these cars on the back of trucks then driving in. I got my timing belt, serpentine belt and water pump changed for $550, but the repairs would of doubled if the belt broke... All in all its pretty decent car. I live in Northern Illinois and this little car handled like a champ in the snow, and if u live up here you know we got a lot of snow!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Highly recommended

by JAG_WAR of Val. Phils. from Valenzuela, Philppines | May 3, 2010

I had my aveo for the last 2 yrs and have not given me any trouble at all. I am very much satisfied with my aveo. I highly recommend car lovers to get one. In Philippines Chevy cars are not yet so popular but i think it will change because of this chevy aveo.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Our Aveo saved our life

by Aveo Survivor from Michigan | February 1, 2010

We purchased the Aveo for our daughter. She had a couple fender benders and the car protected her very well. My wife and I were using it one afternoon, driving 55 mph on the highway and a lady ran a stop sign and hit us. We flipped and ended up on the side of the vehicle in a ditch. We both were able to climb out of the car and are very thankful this vehicle is built as safely as it is. We have our life thanks to the safety features in this vehicle. thanks Chevrolet for the Aveo

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Aveo 5

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.