1998 Chevrolet Blazer

Change Vehicle
1998 Chevrolet Blazer

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  Blazer 2dr 4x2 shown
Asking Price Range
$895–$6,311
Estimated MPG

16 city / 20–21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

kg

by kg from nh | December 1, 2011

We have had about 6 blazers in the family. All have been a good vec. great tow and work truck, good ride.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Garbage

by Brian from Placerville, CA | April 26, 2011

This is not a well made vehicle. Problems with fuel pumps are common ($900 repair), as are clogged spider injectors (also $900). I spoke with 3 mechanics who all said they saw these Blazers for these issues all the time, especially years 97-98. (My tow truck driver said his brother had to replace the fuel pump 3 times during the life of his earlier model Blazer.) When the vehicle is working, ride comfort is not good, noise levels are extremely high, handling is atrocious, and the vehicle just feels plain clunky. Avoid!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does not recommend this car


Best first car

by Brett from Kansas City, MO | March 6, 2011

Parents bought it new, i drove it after it was already 12 years old and besides for the stains on the floors its as good as new. 86,000 miles on it and it runs like a beauty.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Good starter

by General Motors Expert from mansfield, Ohio | September 20, 2009

This is a great starter car, very reliable, never had any problems with it, and is great off roads.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


You won't be disappointed

by SUV Man from Frederick, MD | September 19, 2009

Bought New in '98. If you have had water pump problems its because of Dex-cool. Any other recurring problems are so easily fixed - Do it yourself and buy GOOD replacement brands! I have only ever had to do major maintenance once - Intake manifold gasket. The AC dies under warranty which is on par for GM vehicles (Expect this) I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS VEHICLE AND WANT TO MAKE IT LAST FOREVER!!! This vehicle has a nice interior, it is very comfortable and the AC (With the cheap Delphi compressor replaced with an AC Delco) is very cold, sometimes even too cold. The electric mirrors don't work any more, they died after about 8 years, but the defrosters still work. Engine still has plenty of power after 145K miles, EASY TO REPAIR!! EASIER TO TUNE-UP THAN MY '95 S10! My maintenance: (Routine stuff not listed. i.e. brakes, oil, filters, consumable parts) -AC Compressor -Parking brake pedal assy -Front Wiper Motor (once, then never again) -4-wheel drive switch (got rear-ended & my coffee went into it and made it stick) -Intake manifold gasket -3 waterpumps (Before I changed from Dex-cool to the old school coolant, since then: never) -Repaired 1 rust spot Pretty good for 145K in my opinion. None of them were too hard. More time consuming than hard. Longest was 5 days and that was intake manifold gasket + all the upper gaskets just because I was in the neighborhood.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Will drive it till it dies

by Karsailz from Cinton Twp. MI. | June 15, 2009

I recently bought a 98 LS 4X4 4DR. with 200K on it. It is in very nice condition, never painted( all original paint) or smashed, mint interior etc. Things I know have been replaced: Transmission,ball joints, fuel pump , wiper motor, alternator, EGR valve, rear differential,shocks, drivers door pins. Things I fixed- wheel bearings, rear wiper motor, universal joints,a/c compressor,tensioner, brake pads, front rotors and new tires. Im in it for about $3,000 including repairs. Drives and looks new. Very happy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Test Drive

by SUV Trouble from Dublin, OH | May 14, 2009

Drive the vehicle before reviewing it. which, mean I drive test before I decided to buy this nice truck. I personally find some few problems: • Outside mirriors control doesn't works • Weak Breaks • Tires/Wheels is to big • Poor acceleration • Tail Light lose • Right rear seat wonldn"t fold down • Few rusty spots.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does not recommend this car


Least Reliable Car I've ever owned

by BlazerMoneyTrap from New Jersey | June 27, 2008

Look on any blazer forum and you can see the same things failing early: water pump, door pins, wiper motor, tranfer case seals, loose steering, ball joints, coil pack, .... Worst design I've ever seen.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Solid Vehicle - B Student All the Way

by Vegas Wms from N Utah | May 5, 2007

Plenty of power for towing, hauling, and passing. Relatively comfortable. Only two mechanical issues: alternator went out @ 60k miles (no reoccurrence after that) and weird suspension noises when full opposite lock / vibration @ 65-75 mph (hasn't effected driveability and I've seen this on other GM trucks). Very reliable other than those hick-ups. Was $8k less expensive than the similarly equipped 4-Runner I cross-shopped. Relatively comfortable and love the adjustable lumbar support. Cat-con hump on the passenger side is VERY uncomfortable during a long drive. Decent cargo capacity and chock full of comfort / convenience features (dual sun-visors, cargo cover that extends sideways vs. front-to-back making it easier for short folks, grab handles, overhead console, many others) and storage cubbies. Overall pleased w/ my purchase; 10 model years old and plan to keep at least 3-4 more years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


best car i have owned

by chevy guy from oklahoma | April 18, 2007

mine has all the options including leather seats , heated mirrors, heated seats, power windows, power locks, radio stays on till door is open, ccd player, cassette theft lock radio, bucket seats in front, center console, rear hatch open button, full size spare, tinted windows also luggae rack , driving lights, fog lamps, auto on head lights , over head consloe with compass, miles per gallon fuel used , miles till on empty, instant fuel economy, outside temp, love the way it handles would ride better with new shocks good gas mileage 17 in town and on highway still getting 21 bought it used 1998 170 000 miles no leaks no mess, i

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Blazer

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.