2001 Chevrolet Camaro

Change Vehicle

2001 Chevrolet Camaro

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2001 Chevrolet Camaro 2dr Coupe shown
Print


Asking Price Range
Get Value

Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 26–31 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

camaro 2001 3.8 series 2

by chevylover83 from miami fl | March 10, 2014

i.m the proud owner of a fifth generation v6 camaro, i have to say that is a wonderful car cheap pieces confortable fun and fast i love my car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Lots of fun for the price

by Shady from | August 21, 2013

Don't buy this car if you want heated seats and back massagers. It is not uncomfortable but it was not designed to coddle the driver. For the price it is a fun car to drive with lots of power and the light weight aluminum v-8 makes it handle well. Opt for the 6-speed, lots more fun.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


A fun, enjoyable, every day sports car

by RPDRed6 from Milwaukee, WI | August 21, 2012

I've had this car for nearly six years now and have enjoyed it ever since day 1. Sure interior quality is typical GM but it's a big comfy couch on wheels. Long road trips? Not a problem with a Camaro, plenty of cargo room, good highway gas mileage (I usually get 27-30mpg at 65mph). The car is an absolute looker (though some cheap GM body panels don't like to stay perfectly together after 10 years and you'll surely get spider cracks on that front nose bumper) , and sounds great if you put some aftermarket dual exhaust on. Rear wheel drive? It's fun in the rain and on dry pavement, but can be a bit tricky in the snow. I've got the 3800 Series II V6 engine (which provides plenty of fun) matted to the 460LE and for the most part, the Camaro has been very reliable. In the past five years of ownership I've had to replace an AC compressor, brakes, starter, and a fuel-sending unit (which can be a costly repair). The biggest gripe I have is the electrical system, lights burn out then come back on, gauges sometimes stop working but then work, the PassLock 2 security system gets a bit iffy, etc. BUT these electrical issues don't take away from the fun of driving one America's last rear-wheel drive sports cars from the 2000s. The T-Tops are a blast. Cargo capacity is welcoming. I've put mountain bikes, a pair of skis, various suitcases or bags for roadtrips, and a full-set of wheels & tires in back. As someone who is mechanically inclined, it is pretty straightforward to work on. In terms of basic maintenance, things can be a breeze. This Camaro doesnt have all the high-tech nannies that new sports cars do: no electric power-assist steering, no advanced traction control or stability control, no auto/start stop, no automatic climate controls or touch-screen this. It's a simple, fun, reliable sports car. Overall, I love this car, absolutely positively love it. Go buy one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Loads of Fun

by VSixer from Gurnee, IL | June 13, 2012

I own a 2001 Chevy Camaro V6 3.8L and one word for it is exciting. Nothing beats rolling down the streets with the t tops off and the loud and aggressive V6 tone coming out the back (after market exhaust system). The car handles very well for an american sports car, love the rear wheel drive.... until the winter months hit. This is where you have to drive well under the speed limit and brake very soon. Otherwise, if your in an empty parking lot then its the best time you will ever have in a RWD drive car. One suggestion would be to buy the manual because yes sports cars should all be manual, the auto gets boring after a while. The seats are very comfortable if you're in the front seats. If your in the back then you better hope that the person in front is short because leg room is limited, but hey, who would buy a car for rear leg room. Interior design isnt bad for the time period, an aftermarket head unit really improves the look of it. I've only had a few problems with the car, fuel pump issue, upper intake gasket issue, and a misfire because of a bad ignition coil, but the car also has 122k miles. But other than that, it is a great car to own and is a fun toy to drive around.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great car, but buy the 6 speed

by Camaro z28 ls1 chicago from chicago | December 29, 2009

had it 3 years just gas and oil, preformance mods will come soon. but buy the 6 speed stick shift its a muscle car, not a little girl car. dont buy the auto. very reailable. never got stuck in snow, when i occasionally drove it in snow, my 2003 infiniti g35 got stuck 4 times

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very Good Car

by Chevy Fan from Salina, KS | January 1, 2008

The camaro is a great car for any age. The interior is designed for the driver not so much for the passengers. It gets me from point a to point b very well and it has a stiff ride but the joy of driving it everyday makes up for that. Also people give you looks that you would not recieve in other cars. Plus just the history and the performance of the car are excellent.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


110% worth the money!! VERY FAST and awesome!

by BJ from KY | October 30, 2007

Performance and power are outstanding!! They handle so well on any curve at any speed, they are very comfortable, they look very agressive, and they out-beat the compitition by far!!! Before you say you want a Mustang, Firebird, or GTO...drive a Camaro SS!! Any 1999-2002 SS Camaro..and you will quickly change your mind!! They are to me..the best car ever made in america! See for yourself!! Camaro SS = #1...5 stars!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Reliable and More

by Have always loved camaros! from Central California | March 10, 2007

I purchased my camaro brand new, and have been the only owner for 6 years now. This car has been completely reliable! Just recently, I changed the battery for the first time, and with the exception of regular maintenance, it has never been to the shop. It's funny, when I bought the car I was really only thinking about the how I loved the exterior sporty look, color, and t-tops! Reliabilty, although a very important factor, was an afterthought. I am very lucky my camaro turned out to be everything I wanted, even under the hood!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best car i have ever owned

by Camaro SS Nut from Chicago | February 2, 2007

I can't believe this car lost to the mustang. This offers alot of power for little money. I will definatly buy the 2009 Camaro, it is sure to be a hit!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Amazing Car

by Black SS Nut from Chicago, Il | July 27, 2006

Excellant car, afforable, powerful and stylish! I would definatly buy again or even buy another. May not be made anymore, but that that doesnn't meant it is not coming back!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Camaro

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.