1996 Chevrolet Cavalier

Change Vehicle

1996 Chevrolet Cavalier

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  Cavalier Z24 2dr Coupe shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$296–$5,212

Estimated MPG

23–25 city / 33–37 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Buy At Your Own Risk

by Mopar Randy from Quad Cities, IL. | January 24, 2014

A little disappointed with the sellers knowledge on vehicle. It seems like they pretty much just take them in. Price them and turn them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Like the grandmother Chevy bel Air

by chevyman from medwest , IL | September 27, 2010

I bought my cavalier since 2004 , it is very dependable car , and I get 32 mpg in highway and 27 in the city, I did some basic maintenance, don’t blame GM for head gasket leaking, blame the company made that gasket, I used ( head gasket fix) and the brand is ( BAR’S LEAKS) just for 30 bucks instead of mechanic repair !!! And 2 years ago I replaced the alternator, not big deal, the future for this car will be like the Chevy 1955 bel air !!! For me it is real decathlon!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Sonia from Millen, Ga | January 28, 2010

I have had this car for 13 years and bought it used. KNOCK ON WOOD! I've never had a problem. It has like 180,000 miles on it and I still drive it. The only fault I have with the car is the cloth seats didn't hold up but after 13 years of getting in and out they were bound to show wear and tear. This car has been more reliable than most of the people in my life. I love my car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


UGH!

by Gimme Somtin Else from Putnam valley, NY | February 20, 2009

Okay, i got this car from my dad last spring, and ever since i have been spending money on it. My dad had spent over 3,000 bucks while he had it (he bought it brand new in 96) in repairs. I have spent almost 2 grand since ive had it. the slave cylinder broke, so my clutch is soaked and needs to be replaced. my brakes go out every 2 months. I have to fill up the clutch fluid every morning before i start the car and the transmission slips when i put it into 3rd 4th and/or 5th gear. It's nothing but problems and i just cant wait until it dies! Im going to go buy a dodge and it will be sooo much better than this.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Great first car!

by oc21 from Ocean City MD | December 12, 2008

I bought a 96 cavalier 6 years ago when I was 16 as my first car. It had 80k miles when I purchased it... and now it has 220k miles...and although its been through a a lot shes still going strong! Im going to miss my little car when I buy a new one. Altough this car is not the cutest on the market...Ive had a great experince and its a great value!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


What a worthless piece of junk

by Angry Mom from Kentucky | August 1, 2008

My daughter bought this car and had it for 3 months before the nighmares began. It had to have new strutts, muffler, transmission, head gasket, and numerous other expensive mechanical things. One headache after another. It's been in the shop more than in our driveway. She picks it up from the shop today after yet another breakdown. She will be putting it straight in the paper to dump it before something else blows up on it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


It does what it is meant to do.

by Mikey from Chicago, Il | November 7, 2007

I've owned two of these cars, my current one I bought used three years ago. Its a basic car with the 3 speed automatic transmission. The car can take a beating and handle it. Besides normal wear and tear I've had only two parts go, the Clutch on the AC (both cars had it happen at the same time in their life) and the fuel pump recently stopped working. With the car being 11 years old I am happy that the car made it that long and I continue to drive it. I usually put 40 highway miles on it to and from work. Within the next day or so the car should reach 100k miles. Here's to another 100k!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


best little car i ever had

by CallieCavi from Dallas, Texas | March 8, 2007

my car was the best gift i ever recieved. i have been able to save sooo much money on gas n stuff that i have enough money to buy a new cell phone for talking to my girls!!! plus its super cute!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Not a bad car

by The man from St. Louis, Mo | January 13, 2007

I have a 96' cavalier that I purchased and I think it runs just fine. If you are looking for a sportier cavalier though, buy the z- 24. The cavalier base and Ls have the SOHC setup witch makes it a little slow vs. the DOHC of the z- 24. I've never had problems with the car and have owned it for a few years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


The worst car

by sports car enthusiast from miller place,ny | November 18, 2006

I drove 20 miles after i bought the car and it blew up on the way home! This guy told me that this car ran excellent. He lied to me. He wouldent give me money back.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Cavalier

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.