2000 Chevrolet Cavalier

Change Vehicle
2000 Chevrolet Cavalier
Available in 4 styles:  2000 Chevrolet Cavalier 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$403–$5,807
Estimated MPG

23–24 city / 31–34 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

Mediocre

by Josh from Ruston, LA | April 25, 2014

I bought this car second hand with about 50,000 miles on it. Was good to change the oil on time and everything. It now has 120,000 miles on it and the transmissions seems to be going out (flips between gears back and forth around 65 and revs funny). The ac has also gone out. I think the lack of cruise control when driving on the interstate is probably what killed the transmission. I would recommend it for driving around in town but long distance trips... not so much. That being said the car has been in a few small wrecks. I also have a toyota camry with twice the miles and I would trust it before the cavalier.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


So far so good

by jimmy from Lake Geneva Wi | January 21, 2014

We just purchased this car not to long ago so it is hard to give a review, but from first impressions it seems like it's a well built car. It is a one owner with 75k on it and seems like it was well cared for as one would expect after someone spend money on a new car. The ride is quite and solid with nice handling characteristics. I must say the rear speakers blew out and I don't know why as this is the wifes car and she does not crank the stereo at all. The deal was to get the rear speakers out (2door model) they are sandwiched between the metal structure of the car and the finished interior piece in the back window. I had to take out the seat (bottom and back) and then the two large plastic interior panels. All in all it took me like 2 hours!! I could have just cut the interior panel but that's just not how I roll lol

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


great little convertible with loads of room!

by momwith3kids from Maywood, New Jersey | July 8, 2010

I needed a car to run my children around town and did not want a van. With all the driving back and forth, wanted to have fun so i purchased this car. the back seat holds 3 people that folds down and is able to fit ski poles, skis etc. Trunk holds 15 bags of groceries. There is no other convertible on the road that has this much room for a small car. The sound system is better that our van that my husband drives by co. that begins with a T. This car is good for bringing large items home. Yahama electric piano, couch, and loads of srubs, Christmas trees (top down with heat running) that I was able to cart places... not to mention 20 ft. pieces of lumber from home depot with a red flag on the back. I wish that Chevrolet would start making these cars again. I would buy another one. It now has 95K miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best car I have ever owned!

by 2000 Z24 from | December 30, 2009

Bought my 2000 Z24 convertible with 37,000 miles on it cheap. Drove it hard for 8 years including towing a boat, not recomended according to the owners manual. Used synthetic 5w30 oil and changed every 12,000 miles. Developed a rod knock suddenly at 2,500 rpm @ 242,000 miles. Drove it home, could not feel any difference in the engine smoothness. Should have been nicer to it.Except for the fuel pump, spent $20.00 on a window motor and $90.00 each on front hubs. 600,001 between my last 3 cavs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best automatic car i have owned

by love my chevy from Fort Wayne, In | July 5, 2009

I have had my Chevy for a little over a year now and all i have had to do is regular maintenance and nothing major has went wrong. As long as you take care of this car it will take care of you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


heavy duty

by Grapefruit7625 from Windber, PA | September 18, 2008

I took this car off roading and it managed to survive that. I did have all the recalled problems, but I would recommend a 4 door one for safety reasons

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Newest Car Ive Owned

by Car Lover from Canada | August 18, 2008

I thought that the Chevy Cavalier was very comfortable, as I was in the back seat a lot. The Chevy Cavalier was lacking in performance. With the lack of performance it was a lot easier to handle. The Chevy Cavalier does not have very good exterior styling and Interior design. The features were even worse. It is very reliable since it hasn’t needed many parts and when it does, they come cheap because it is domestic.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


This is a little car with big savings in the tank!

by Jo from Geyserville Ca | April 29, 2008

I owned this little car from the time it was born till I hit a deer. Now being of sound body,It held up in manuverablity and proformed so good it took out only the headlight and the front fender with minimal damage to the hood.However it was totaled but should not have been by the body specialist own words.The insurance adjuster to avoid repairs did the total..I am apauled at that decission..but nothing I can do about it. Would I buy it again YES I WOULD it was a super car too bad it is now history..34 miles to the gallon..AWSOME in this day and age of huge fuel prices.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car for Cheap

by Kimmi from Logan, UT | July 6, 2007

I bought this car over a year ago and only had one problem with it since then. Which is relatively well considering how often cars have problems. It's reliable and comfortable and a great car for the money we paid for it. It's a nice vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Z24

by Shorty from Champlain, NY | May 21, 2007

Not bad for a car. A great starter or a nice all around traveling car. Good gas milage. Well build car. Cheap and great for your dollar.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Cavalier

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.