2002 Chevrolet Cavalier

Change Vehicle
2002 Chevrolet Cavalier
Available in 6 styles:  2002 Chevrolet Cavalier 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$1,027–$6,103
Estimated MPG

24–25 city / 33 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

Best car for cruising!

by Chevy Girl from Statesville, NC | February 10, 2014

A great place to by a new or used car is Gerry Wood Auto Group in Salisbury NC. They offer excellent customer service and go above and beyond to make sure the car you want is the car you drive away with!! The best sales person to talk to about your car buying needs is Jimmy Yelland! A HUGE thank you to the team at Gerry Wood Auto Group. I appreciate your assistance! I love my 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier! It has a spacious interior for a smaller car. This car has great gas mileage. The interior seating is soft and comfortable to sit on. This is definitely a car to go cruising around in! I think I made an excellent choice when I chose this car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very reliable car!

by lnolan2002 from Mt. Prospect, IL | July 20, 2013

I just recently traded in my 2002 Cavalier because I just recently started to have major trouble with it over the past month or so. Otherwise I had a great run with it! It was a very reliable car for the 10 years that I had it. I even purchased it used back in 2003. If you are looking for a car that can go the distance, I would definitely recommend the Cavalier! I had mine for 10 years and put on 86,500 miles after I purchased it with 18,000 miles on it already,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


happy

by goldie from | March 13, 2013

It was totaled at my first job by an old lady who was trying to run away from it all,so I was left without one back in 2004 or 2007. Never got another car again it awas from Frank Parra on 183 frwy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Engine

by Dale from Everett, Pa | September 27, 2012

Chevy commented that one quart of oil in 3000 wasn't considered excessive, even brand new! Good mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2002 Chevrolet Cavalier

by HM2006 from Cincinnati, OH | June 16, 2012

My family purchased a brand-new 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier 10 years ago now, and it was a great car! We had the Cavvy for only three years, we lost it in 2005 due to financial issues, and I sure do miss it. We never had any problems with it at all. The 2.2L inline 4 cylinder was peppy and had great gas miles at 30+ mpg overall. Trunk was surprisingly roomy for a small car, but the rear seat was a bit tight, however. Overall, one of the best cars we've owned!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


'02 Cavalier Base

by Wulfman from Tacoma, WA | June 4, 2012

Found a screaming deal on a Cavalier. The miles were on the high side, but the price was right. It had 159xxx on it but the way it drives, you wouldn't know it. It has plenty of power, the interior has ample storage and a surprisingly large trunk. It's not a luxury car by any means, but it is above basic transportation, gets great mileage with the 5 speed manual and doesn't cost me a kidney to fill it up. The only con with this car is that the gear box is EXTREMELY tight.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I Love My Cav

by Commuter Mom from Morenci, AZ | February 5, 2011

My Cavalier is almost 10 years old and has 211,000 miles at 30+ mpg. I've never done anything but regular maintenance and haven't had any problems. The interior looks great although the exteriod paint has started to fade (we live in AZ). The engine is compleatly clean, and the manual transmission has never given any problems. There is one thing I need to fix- the wheel nut covers that hold on the hub caps have gotten worn and squeek, which my son finds embarassing; at $6 each it will cost me $120 to fix the problem. My goal is to drive it until it quites, but at this rate that may take another 10-15 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


dependable car

by pinkdrawers from chicago,ill | October 12, 2010

i have had this car for 8yrs its an great car to hav now im having problems continue to run hot i had an water pump and thermostat put in what do you suggest his the problem?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


02 Yellow Cavalier with 163,000 miles...

by East Coast Traveler from Virginia | May 9, 2009

I bought my Cavalier new in 2002 and had the 100k warranty on it. I LOVE this car and the first time I had a problem with is was at 98,000 miles. The head gasket and a cylendar were replaced under warranty out of suspision. I currently have 163,000 miles on it and I just replaced the fuel pump, but something else is making it stall now. I never thought I'd get this many miles on a Cavalier, and I hate to see it go, but I've had a blast with this car considering I put around 28,000 a year on it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


excellent commuter, reliable, and economical

by commuter from loganville, ga | November 18, 2008

Purchased car in the Fall of 2001 for the purpose of commuting to work. In the last seven years it has filled that role perfectly. It has been a reliable and inexpensive ride. After 58000 miles except for scheduled maintenance the only repair to the car was replacing a backup sensor. Around town I get a steady 29 mpg and on the highway I get 38 to 40 mpg. With 4 dollar a gallon gas it was a blessing. The value has been excellent. I am now retired and to show my trust in the car I am giving it to my daughter to use while she is in college.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Cavalier

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.