2004 Chevrolet Colorado

Change Vehicle
2004 Chevrolet Colorado

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 30 styles:  2004 Chevrolet Colorado 4x2 Regular Cab 6' box 111.2" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$4,817–$14,797
Estimated MPG

17–20 city / 22–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

Great little truck!

by Crandall from Thompsons Station, TN | April 18, 2013

On July 31, 2004, I bought a brand new 2004 Chevrolet Colorado LS Extended Cab with the 3.5 liter 5-cylinder and 4-speed automatic. This past weekend I passed the 160,000 mile mark and very easily I might add. Over the past 4+ years I have averaged 22.7 mpg, I got 99,838 miles out of my last set of tires (BFGoodrich Long Trail T/A Tour), and the ORIGINAL brakes, front and rear, are still on the truck and doing fine with a lot of life left on them. Like just about any vehicle, take care of it and it will last. I've made a few repairs over the years, but have never been left stranded. The only complaint I had was that the catalytic converter was welded improperly which in turn caused me to get it replaced twice for a total cost of $1,050. Like I said, it's been a great truck and at this pace I should get 250,000 miles out of it without much trouble.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


new car lots of troubles

by bear from Tacoma Wa | January 30, 2013

I bought it new. it is comfortable, pretty good gas mileage, yet within the first 3 months these problems drive shaft to short , kept getting stuck in third gear, catalytic converter was improperly wield and was coming off. then the exhaust manifold had a crack all the way across. break handles break, brake light switch faulty, heater/ac fan only works on high power 99% of the time. fuel tank does not properly read the amount of fuel in it when it is lower than a 1/4 tank. i do like how it rides.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


best truck I've ever owned

by rick from Ohio | July 29, 2012

Bought it as a low mileage used vehicle and found out quickly it is a great vehicle. Crew cab is very spacious and comfortable and while bed is shorter it still is large enough to haul what I need to haul. I would definitely buy another Colorado.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


What a Horrible truck

by Jmarine81 from | July 18, 2011

I bought a used 04 Z71 used with 40k miles on it before I even drove it off the lot it stalled out. didnt have problems again until about 50k abs light comes on and off..now Im getting the infamous spit and sputter and wanting to stall changed fuel filter and pump been to dealer and many shops no one knows what is wrong with it. It is weak, no power. it rattles to the point of me wanting to rip my ears off or shove ear plugs in them. Half the truck is made out of plastic. I wouldnt recommend this new or used to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


great picup

by my plain pu to SS from Turlock Ca | July 9, 2011

i got my chevy colorado as a certified used 18,900 miles have 40,100 miles on it now and the only problem i have had is i had to have the fan switch fixed it wouldnt work on third speed

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Chevrolet Work Trucks

by Z71 from North Center Ohio | May 27, 2011

Big truck feel. Crew Cab bunch of room. Good power. Averaging 23 mpg straight 5 cyl. Wish GM would have put a nicer looking wheels on the Z71 two wheel drive. Do not like GM cloth interiors get dirty and stain quickly, would like to have the leather. GM needs to offer nice vinly interior seats like they use to years ago; use to be cloth or vinyl.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Impulse buy

by Jay Christopher in San Diego from San Diego, CA | July 4, 2010

Ok so I needed a new vehicle and i wasn't sure what I wanted. While driving threw newport news i spotted my truck. I didn't even test drive it, I got the ZQ8 edition. And for being a complete impulse (the sale took less then 3 hours) I love my truck. I will never own another truck, at the same time I will never for as long as I can let go of my truck either. Come to think of it since they got rid of pontiac i wont be buying another chevy either. But I digress, Bottom line if you can get your hands on one of these trucks buy it. These trucks have the pick up and go and they are just grrrrreat!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Has been a great truck!

by Dave from Ripley,WV | June 1, 2010

I bought this truck new.It now has 150,000 miles on it ! very few problems all were covered by the factorys warrnty. Good gas milliage for a 4 wheel drive 22 mpg!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


great truck

by chevy guy from beckly,wv | October 3, 2009

this is a great truck for onroad of offroad i raced at the drag strip in north carolina and it ran 11.83 seconds on 1/4 mile at 106mph it is the v8 extrem edition i have the engine completely stock but it has a lift kit and 23's best truck ever

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Mid-Size Truck There Is

by G from Broken Arrow, OK | July 5, 2009

The four wheel drive is awesome. As well as the I5 engine in it. Great exterior styling with a comfortable interior. Love this truck and will probably get another colorado with my next car search.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2004 Chevrolet Colorado.


Featured Services for this Chevrolet Colorado

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.