2002 Chevrolet Corvette

Change Vehicle
2002 Chevrolet Corvette
Available in 3 styles:  Corvette 2dr Convertible shown
Asking Price Range
$11,221–$29,853
Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 25–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

2002 6-Speed Conv.

by HowHo from Knoxville, TN | May 1, 2014

I bought my 2002 Convertible used with 36K miles. It is my 2nd Vette, my first was a 89 Coupe auto with 35k. There is a world of difference between the C4 and the C5, The C5 is a much better car in my judgment and convertible is definitely more fun. The performance of the C5 with the 6 speed is twice what the C4 with the auto was. As others have pointed out the interior is some what on the cheap side because of the thin plastic. The leather seats are fine but the carpet isn't to good. The handling with the variable suspension is wonderful, allow you to choose what you need.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


CORVETTE

by BOB from il | September 5, 2013

this car is in amazing condition. Its like buying a new car for half the price. The body style is one of the most comfortable interiors for a sports car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Reliable Performance

by Skip from Old School from Fredericksburg, VA | April 25, 2013

This is my second Vette - I owned a 1969 convertible for 25 years, - but that's another story. If you haven't owned a Vette before, I can give you my perspectives - just personal preferences. First off, buy a convertible - Chevy makes more of them than it does the hardtops - so be sure to test drive a conv. with the top down - enough said on this. I got my '02 with a manual trans. simply because the 4-spd "rock crusher" in my old '69 Vette was just so good - it gave a seat-of-the-pants/total control experience. Well, the fly-by-wire 6-speed isn't so much fun (the top two gears are overdrives) so no recommendations on picking a trans. type. BTW, the tires, suspension, and the HUD are most excellent - but they are high-tech (this means don't try to work on suspension and electronic systems in your garage - the dealer charge for diagnosis is Required). Contrary to others' opinions that vettes have no real utility, I have found them to be examples of premium engineering - and No, they are not "Chevys" in the sense that most backyard mechanics can work on them - don't fall for this common misconception - they are over-engineered for anything but outright abuse (this means racing) and so are reliable. Another perspective - however, if you like to do your own brakes/tuneups/oil you can still do it on the "02 in your garage at home. Yet another perspective: with the configuration of the engine compartment/hood/rear deck lid I would recommend garage parking - carport at a minimum, as the many crevices will catch water and then crud up with dust. I've never seen anyone write about this: If you haven't had a convertible before, know that it attracts vandalism. This is a real problem these days - even if the car is parked unlocked, ignorant punks slice the top to get in to get the radar detector, etc. I'm concerned to park anywhere out of line of sight. Last, if have been an armchair shopper - prepare for a performance experience - I have another "performance" car adverised with over 300 h.p., yet this corvette's 375 h.p. feels comparable to much more performance-wise . BTW, I have the Bose sound system, so I've learned that a flaky CD-changer in the trunk is expected. I like the 02 body style - it's still old school. And, I didn't want the plexiglas headlight covers - they seem a cheap styling shortcut - now if they just still had the hidden wipers a'la my '69!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Desert Runner Blue Convertible Corvette

by Jungle Jim from Arizona | January 7, 2013

This 2002 convertible is an awesome machine. Great interior with optional power seats. Electric blue finish makes this car a real attraction when the top is down. And it usually is down here in Sunny Arizona. She's a runner also with the lower geared optional trans axle. Even with the stock engine those monster run flat tires start smoking with the pedal only half way down. Jungle Jim

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


All Corvettes Are Red!

by Mike from Rochester | September 2, 2012

Bought this used red convertible at a well-known Vette dealer in Victor NY in June 2012. It had about 35k on it. Close to mint condition, which is pretty much all that this dealer sells. This is my 5th Vette, so no big surprises here. Goes fast, handles very well. A small surprise is how well it rides on long trips. We had an '84 with the Z51 race suspension and although it could corner flat at 100 mph, it rode like a tank and at the end of a long trip you had to see your dentist because all your fillings had vibrated out! This one also has the Z51 suspension but it rides like a limo! And (like the '84) gets great mpg: about 22-23 around town, pushing 28-29 on the highway. These cars admittedly have no real practical value; even with their relatively big trunks they are toys, pure and simple. But they are all head-turners and an absolute blast to drive. And if you maintain it, it will hold its value for a very long time. And did I mention how much fun they are to drive? If you can afford a sports car, this is the one to drive. Most Vettes will eat most Porches, Camaros, Mustangs and the high end exoticars for lunch, and for tens of thousands of dollars less. And because they are Chevvys, nearly anyone can work on them. This is pure American muscle car at its absolute best. There is nothing like a Vette! Go get one now. You can get a near-mint used one for less than the price of a Honda Accord. And did I mention how much fun they are to drive?!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Stunning Ride

by EET Prof from Wilkes-Barre,Pa. | July 16, 2012

Excellent acceleration with the six speed manual,great handling with the Z51 package,stunning to look at black coupe with black leather interior.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


02 Corvette Convertible

by jonnybog from New Port Richey, FL | May 14, 2012

This is the 2nd one I have owned! I liked the first one so much I bought another one! Performance and looks are top shelf and they are bulletproof to boot!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Got to have the Rag Top

by Classic Corvette Man from Houston, Texas | September 6, 2011

Have owned a few Corvettes and this 2002 Convertible is really a great high performance bargain and a beautiful car. The styling with the top down reminds me of the classic two seater styling. All the components are rock solid, low maintenance, a kick to drive (except the run flat radials) and even my best economy car in the garage. Lots of FUN for not much money if you find a good used C5 Vette someone has cared for and buy from a private party after checking the CarFax.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


This Corvette is a great car.

by Phil from Philadelphia, PA | July 21, 2011

I am totally impressed with my Corvette. It's a "loaded" edition with remarkable beauty, handling, and dependability. As a high performance sports car, the cross country comfort is excellent. We get over 30 mpg on road trips (and that includes moments of enjoying it's power performance); it carries light luggage; 20 mpg around town is easy as well. It's the most rewarding sports car I've ever owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Z06 factory Hot Rod

by RPO Z06 from Canada | April 7, 2011

This car is scary fast right out of the factory already, But what scare me more is you can still easily make it go faster if you like.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Corvette

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.