2006 Chevrolet Equinox

Change Vehicle
2006 Chevrolet Equinox
Available in 4 styles:  2006 Chevrolet Equinox FWD Sport Utility shown
Asking Price Range
$4,719–$11,763
Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 23–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

32 out of 43 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 43 reviews

Best vehicle I've owned to date!

by Cat from Pennsylvania | June 25, 2014

I own a 2006 Chevy equinox. I wasn't crazy about the color but the price was right. I think it had 14,000 miles when I purchased it. I now have 173,000 and it's still going. I hope it lasts another 30,000. Just love it, drives great in all weather conditions. I've put very little money into this vehicle outside of normal wear and tear.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Equinox LT AWD gets 10 stars**********

by Wicked from 44094 | December 18, 2012

This is the first SUV I have ever owned. I made the right choice! My Equinox LT ooks and drives lgreat- happy happy. I just cant believe how great this SUV is. The Equinox is the Queen of SUV's. Great Styling, purrs,beautiful black amethyst metalique paint, Super interior with heated seats, mp3 player, great speakers, drives smooth and just is wonderful. Equinox thumbs UP + 10 stars********** :))

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Mostly great

by Infrequent Buyer from Nebraska | September 4, 2012

As noted in several other reviews, the cup holders are in a very awkward spot for the front seat. Also, our moon roof leaked in a very hard rain, but not in a car wash - we think motor to close it is wearing out. Otherwise, I can't say enough - nice styling, solid-feeling. I went from a car to this SUV & had no trouble transitioning to something that sits higher but is basically as long as my car was. Black shows dirt so don't over-wash it or you can damage your clear coat - I use Macguiar's Detailer & it looks sparkly w/no damage. Gets as many or more compliments as a co-worker with a 2011 Equinox - main differences seem to be electronic, which didn't matter a bunch to me. LOVE my 'new' wheels!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best car ive owned so far

by heavy chevy from | July 16, 2012

I love this car but the cd player does not work and its kind of a gas guzzler but its roomy and i needed that for my extending family

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Overall - A great crossover vehicle!

by Chevy Fanatic from Wisconsin | May 9, 2012

This vehicle can basically go anywhere. It handles well in all kinds of weather. It's roomy interior has lots of leg room.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Poor choice

by killeremtb from Oxford,Ia | March 1, 2012

I bout my suv in 2010. I purchased it with 50k miles on it. I paid 1400 dollars to have the heat fixed. Their is a small door that breaks in the dash by the firewall. They have to tear out all of the dash down to the firewall to fix it. Then the engine blew at 102k and is costing me 2k. The seats stain easy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


New car

by Thatdude from Philly | January 2, 2012

The car is pretty good. Steering in not that great. Few mileage is just average. Cabin takes in alot of wind when on the highway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great vehicle

by Tech Guy from | July 12, 2011

Really enjoyed my Equinox. Powerful engine but a fuel sipper. Great for a growing family without upgrading to a minivan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Big love for the equinox.

by Small SUV Lover from Columbia Heights, DC | May 26, 2011

Chevy's Equinox has a ton of room on the inside, both for storage and for leg room for both front and back passengers. All that with out being a beast in overall size; it's very 'city friendly.'

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Kept Secret for Chevy

by 2006 NJ Driver from West Orange, NJ | May 7, 2011

I am following up on the vehicle I have had since 2008, I bought for 10,500 with 32k miles on it with no trade in. Was not sure how it would hold up, but now I have 60,000 miles on it and I can state the following, Still have original brakes, tires and just replaced wiper blades. Drive the vehicle from NJ to South Florida over 5 times, never a sputter or rattle in the car. That's saying something for a Chevy. Engine is quiet, oil is changed every 3,000 miles. Window controls, yes awkward, interior, get leather, fabric stains too easily and forget about stains coming out. I am almost 6 foot, and still plenty of room for legs and comfortable back support, do love the adjustable manual seat for height. Very surprised Chevy had that in the car. Many vehicles I see on Cars.com, have close to 200,000 miles on the Equinox, so happy with the choice and with 22 mpg to boot and is extremely easy to get onto highways fast. A great overall vehicle, with the reclining back seat backs and adjustable seat in the back, Again, another secret Chevy I did not know about. Very versatile and this car/suv should last a good long time. I will definitely buy the new redesign, looks like a Lexus. The resale for this vehicle is holding up like any foreign car, so very happy with my purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 43 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Equinox

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.