See Also: 2008 Chevrolet HHR Panel

2008 Chevrolet HHR

Change Vehicle
2008 Chevrolet HHR
Available in 3 styles:  2008 Chevrolet HHR Sport Utility shown
Asking Price Range
$4,709–$13,565
Estimated MPG

21 city / 29–30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

31 out of 35 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 35 reviews

my 3rd HHR SS

by Haul-n-SS from Atmore, Al | April 24, 2013

These cars give you great fuel economy along with superb performance and lots of cargo space. My 5 speed SS HHR wil run 158mph top end after having it tuned by trifecta tunes. These cars were built to be tuner cars to compete with imports. Chevy hit a homerun with the SS model. A mustang GT is a joke. They sound good, but can't compete with a tuned HHR SS 5 speed car. And still the thing gets 34mpg on the hwy! If you buy an SS model have it tuned and you'll get more mpg and lots more performance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


bought

by 1 from albertville ,al | April 22, 2013

I went looking for one thing and was amazed by russell sconyers and his skill he was very honest and direct and led me to the right car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


HHR SS

by ChrisDaFish from Chicago, IL | December 23, 2012

Purchased 08 HHR SS 5 speed. Love the gas mileage compared to my GTO that I got rid of. Motor is very strong 2.0T from cobalt SS and Sky/Solstice. Interior is pretty comfortable seat is a little high. Great storage cargo room car is very versatile. The interior is usual GM plastics but it does its job in this class. Its a decently reliable car if you like the styling and want good mpg in a fun versatile package, the HHR SS is a great option. Plus you don't see a lot of them which I enjoy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best deivery vehicle we have.

by DAWNY from Red Lion Pa. | December 15, 2012

MPG IS OUTSTANDING !!! WE like the dependability, user freindly type, and this has it all. Since they do not make the HHR Panel no longer, we will be purchasing another soon. Also like the options, power windows and locks are a must for us.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great little car

by Funky Car from Oklahoma | September 1, 2012

It's such a great little car, I wonder why Chevrolet stopped building it! Love it. Mine gives me 32 mpg at 60mph.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very nice vehicle. Great small crossover.

by nfmnh from New Hampshire | April 22, 2012

Traded in a 2000 Blazer for a 2008 HHR LS for better MPG. I have been very happy. The vehicle has nice pick up, feels solid with no rattles or sqeaks and I am getting a combined 27 mpg. The interior is mostly hard plastic but is practical, easy to clean and is not ugly. The vehicle holds a respectable amount in the back but get a cargo net to keep items from sliding around. The climate control system is very good with nice warm heat and very cold a/c. Chevrolet really hit a home run with this one. Too bad the model is discontinued.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Luv it

by Cheap Car Guy from Tampa, FL | January 22, 2012

I reviewed this car when I first purchased it comparing it to the Honda Civic that was my previous car. It now has 50,000 miles on it and it has been flawless. I just replaced the original tires with OEM's and they were $400 total at Pep Boys. I had the front pads replaced just because I was in the3 shop but there were still a few more miles on the originals left. When I reviewed before I complained that the interior was cheap, cheap, cheap and guess what, it still is. The hard plastic sux but it doesn't rattle or squeak. Compared to the cost of another Civic or Fit this thing has been the bargain of a lifetime. It was cheap to buy (used, $13,000 with 5K miles on it) and after 3 years it's still worth $9 to 10K. It's cheap to operate and it's cheap to insure. Chevrolet got this one right.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great styling and fun to drive!

by TJ from Clovis CA | December 13, 2011

Had the vehicle 1 month until it was involved in an accident. During that time it was a fantastic vehicle and constantly getting 33mpg at freeway speeds which is a big plus! Looking for another one now to replace it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Does It All

by DaGrinch from Western MD | November 14, 2011

We needed a vehicle that could haul a couple dogs as well as get good gas mileage around town and out on the open road. The rear cargo area is large enough for groceries or medium size dogs. The seats are comfortable, front and rear, and there's good visibility all around. The power window controls are a little awkward, being down low in front of the gear selector. This was changed in the 2009 and later models. Gas mileage is decent - 26-27 mpg @ 75mph in the Appalachians with 23-24 mpg in town. The suspension I have is a sport suspension, so you have a good feel of the road. Would I buy another? Yes, indeed! Too bad this vehicle has been discontinued. Those that have them plan to hold on to theirs for many years to come.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


nice hhr

by shadow from DALLAS,TX | June 26, 2011

BOUGHT OUR HHR OF THE SHOWROOM FLOOR IN DALLAS COUNTY STILL LOOKS NEW IN 2006 LT PKG ALL BELLS @ WHISTLE, ORIG BATTERY STILL IN CAR HAD NO PROBLEMS NOW IF I COULD ONLY FIND MYSELF A SS MODEL JUST LIKE MINE IN EXCELLENT COND..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 35 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet HHR

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.