1996 Chevrolet Impala

Change Vehicle
Asking Price Range
$5,642–$22,262
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Coming Back Home to Chevrolet

by 96 Impala SS Lover from Northern Illinois | December 1, 2014

12-1-14 My first car was a 1965 Chevy Impala SS, 396 with a four-on-the-floor. The Caprice made its debut that year, based on the Impala. In an ironic twist of fate, the 1996 Chevy Impala SS, the last true RWD muscle car to be built by Chevrolet, was based on the Caprice of that era. I purchased my dark cherry 1996 SuperSport from the son of the original owner. With 98K on the odometer, this car still looks, runs, and drives like a new car. The engine is quick, powerful, and responsive. The transmission (still a four-on-the-floor, but now an automatic) shifts smoothly and quickly. The stainless steel dual exhaust has a deep growl that hints at the powertrain's frisky nature. The car cruises down the road straight and true, and corners like it's on rails, with hardly a noticeable yaw or body roll. It delivers a solid, comfortable ride. The suspension, brakes, and cooling consist of a "police interceptor" package. This vehicle is extraordinarily reliable. It starts easily and quickly regardless of weather extremes. The leather seats are comfortable and solid, and the lumbar support is excellent. As a handicapped individual, ease of entry/exit from the car, and the comfort and support of the seats was essential. The factory Bose AM/FM/CD stereo system still works perfectly and gives great sound. The turning radius on this beautiful beast is one of its drawbacks. Tight spots require alot of maneuvering to get in and out. The center console should have been designed with at least one cup holder, but one can always make do. As a highway cruiser, this car is stellar. It's quiet and comfortable. The controls are easy to reach and operate (lights, radio, and climate control). I'll be looking for a way to increase fuel economy, but currently averaging 16 mpg. I use it mainly for picking up groceries, mail, and driving to the VA for medical appointments. At almost 20 years old, this car turns heads everywhere I go, and has even gottten some double- and triple-takes. In between my Chevy SuperSports, I've driven cars from every GM Division. Now that I'm back in a Chevy, I feel like I'm back home. I'm looking forward to a road trip next Spring or Summer!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


SWEET SLEEPER

by JB from STANHOPE, NJ | October 27, 2012

I must say that this is probably my favorite car that i've ever owned & i've had 'em all,,, 'vettes, camaros, trans ams, rocket powered oldsmobiles, & this car rides like a corvette on a cadillac frame,,, this cars' stance looks like it's doing 65 mph sitting still & feels like 65 @ 100 mph & has no problem getting you there in true muscle car fashion,,, she rides smooth & tame w/ a mild exhaust note while cruising & is snappy & grippy w/ a surprisingly aggressive growl (if you can imagine that "BAAAWAAAAAHHH!!!" head turning sound) while getting froggy,,, like most RWD sport cruisers, it's not good in the snow,,, i get many compliments from people that recognize this car for what it is, a classic, asphalt eating collectable...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


1996 SS Impala

by SS Owner from Kansas City | September 13, 2011

This car looks great and runs good. It's probably not going to be the fastest burner, just because it weighs a lot, but it does have some pop. I sold my 2004 Mercury Marauder and bought the 96 Impala, so their was a very noticable drop off in performance, but that was to be expected. It looks better than it runs, but runs faily good. It's a 1996, so for that time, it ran pretty good. For the most part, if you take car of it, it will take care of you if you ever decide to sell it. By the way, you may have to make some upgrades to get some more power and a smoother ride, new tires, exhaust work, K&N Cold Air Intake system, etc. You should enjoy it while you have it! Not so good in the snow, get a back up car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Impala SS

by sport car from phoenix | June 28, 2011

Standard equipment Power Windows AM/FM Radio Power Door Locks Air Conditioning Power Steering Rear Spoiler Cassette Cruise Control Leather Power Seat Driver Dual Air Bags

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Gentle Giant

by Godspeed from Monroeville, PA | July 31, 2010

I ordered my SS new, took delivery 12/6 and was in ATL the next day. It has been my road car period. It is the most plush muscle car you could ever own. And muscle its got. At speed the faster you go the lower it gets to the ground. No wonder cops still drive 'em. Its a Corvette you can double date in. Handles like its on rails, no crying tires here. Could use more support in the lounge seats, great for passengers not for a driver. I only drive in the city to get off the Interstate, so I only have hwy mileage of 26.6 @ 72 mph. No problems ever. I put new brakes on because after 10 years they just looked cruddy, same for the tires. Gets props where ever I drive. Use synthetic only.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Phenomenal handling and ride comfort

by SS fan from WI | November 14, 2009

I have driven many cars and still have yet to find one whose combination of monster available torque, superior ride smoothness, exceptional braking matches this. The classic shape is immediately recognizable as the best SS Chevy has come out with. I love the power at hand, you never deress the gas pedal when driving, a gentle change in pedal presssure is all it takes to move this vehicle up to speed. If you ever need additional power, you know it is always there and eager to please. The braking effort is minimal, but the stopping power is excellent. Upgrade the sound system and you have a car for a lifetime.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


the best car ever

by co from | November 26, 2008

i would reallly recomend this car to anyone nd plus i love this color need to have seat fixed thats alll

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very Fun Big Car

by mechz11 from mi | January 4, 2007

I have owned my Impala SS for 1-year. It is a very good handling highway car. Plenty of smooth power to pass other vehicles. The interior is very comfortable and roomy for a, 6'2" guy. I like the roomy trunk, also very handy. The only dislike is the lack of electronic interior gadgets such as an overhed display and heated seats. Great 11-year old car with outstanding resale value!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Impala

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.