2002 Chevrolet Impala

Change Vehicle

2002 Chevrolet Impala

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2002 Chevrolet Impala 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,633–$8,549

Estimated MPG

19–21 city / 29–32 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

02 impala

by Mcasey from Braintree MA | March 19, 2014

I bought my used impala LS with 36xxx miles on it (bought in 2012) I have put another 60k-70k miles on it and I really haven't had a problem with my car. I'm 6'2 and surprisingly the car fits me and there is still room to spare. The radio in my car is phenomenal, the LS model comes stock with an amp (not sure about the other model) and it plays loud and clear and the speakers haven't blown. this was my first car and I hope to have it for a long time because it is fun to drive and I like the features on the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Light switch

by Jim from Dayton Ohio | May 12, 2013

I have owned a 1990 and the same thing hapend to this 2002 whitch the turning signal switch does not work or the brights and dims dont work either. You have to hold the switch back to have the brights on. The switch cost $175.00 plus labor to replace. I just cant afford this anymore

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


2002 Impala

by paul d from Summerville SC | August 16, 2011

I purchased my Impala new in November 2001. Has been across the country a five times with no major issues. Replaced catalytic converter at 100k miles and a manifold water leak on warranty. now has 134k running great, good gas milage, second set of tires and battery, Great second car now retired. Worth keeping, first tune up at 130k miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


THE BEST CAR I EVER OWNED I LOVE IT

by MRS CAMPBELL from PGH PA | February 14, 2011

I LOVE MY NEW 2002 USED CAR LOL IT THE BEST <3<3 I LOVE CHEVY DOE ITS VERY ROOMY FOR MY FAMILY I CANT WAIT TO GO PLACES IN THE SUMMER I LOVE LOVE MY NEW CAR

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


amazing car

by owner from Bonkers | September 21, 2010

i purchased this 2002 impala LS in early 2010. This car is fast, handles well, and is better than most AWD cars in the snow. Gets almost 35 mpg highway, even when going 70. overall great car with no major mechanical issues

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


bought it used..

by love my impala from Corning, NY | August 26, 2010

I bought my Impala used, about 110000 miles, 1 previous owner before me. Love this car, its so comfortable, and spacious! Still has the factory struts and shocks (i know i sshhhould replace them) which are just starting to really need to be replaced lol. Has electric issues however, wipers only work on high setting, blinkers work when they want too, and every once in a great while it doesn't start. But regardless..i love this car. Definately plan to continue to purchase Impala's when this when rip's! Oh! and the paint on the back of trunk got really thin and papery feeling and peeled off-nothing a few bumper stickers can't patch up! ;-)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Big bang for the buck

by Daily commuter from Zeeland, MI | August 18, 2010

As a second owner of an 2002 impala, this car has done very well for me. I'm a commuter and I've noticed an average of 25 to 26 mpg on the hwy. I initially got the car when I worked only 20 minutes from work. Now I driver 1 hr and 15 minutes to get to work. Aside from the normal oil changes and regular maintenance, performed by yours truly, I can honestly tell anyone the impala is a good car. With over 176k miles under its belt, some of the more extensive maintenance is surely just around the corner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


9 Years Old And Still Looks Great

by Happy Driver from Upstate NY | August 11, 2010

i purchased this 2002 impala LS in early 2010. This car is fast, handles well, and is better than most AWD cars in the snow. Gets almost 35 mpg highway, even when going 70. overall great car with no major mechanical issues.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Overall good car just very unreliable!

by Former Chevy lover from Kentucky | June 5, 2010

I test drove my impala and fell in love because it drove just like my Olds Cutlass Supreme i was getting rid of! My mechanic told me that they are good cars and insurance is cheap and it looks good and great on gas.... sold! The car was great for the first few months and then the front axles had to be replaced and then the PC silenoid in the transmission went out and it went down hill from there.... After $4000 in repairs i keep it only to try and get some of that money back! I do love the way it drives and rides, gas mileage is outstanding for such a big car! I really do enjoy driving it, when it wants to stay out of the shop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Never know when it's going to go

by a very disappointed user of chevy from MA | March 31, 2010

I have had this car for 5 years and put three sets of front brake discs and pads on, Car overheats when the temperature goes above 60. The worst problem is that you never know when it is not going to start. some times it starts then other times it wont, very very random problem. My daughter calls from work late at night and tells me dad the car wont start. I worry about her in a dark parking lot she's a waitress and gets out late. I have spent about $4,000 on repairs since I've owned it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Impala

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.