2004 Chevrolet Impala

Change Vehicle
2004 Chevrolet Impala
Available in 3 styles:  2004 Chevrolet Impala 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$1,862–$8,790
Estimated MPG

18–21 city / 28–32 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

25 out of 27 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 27 reviews

Olds Guy loves this Chevy

by Another Olds Guy from Massachusetts | June 29, 2014

We bought this as a second car for the family a few years back and have loved it the whole time. Bought with 55k on it, and have built it up to 84k with no major issues until a rather serious accident last year. Was told most other cars would have been totaled, but thanks to the wide availability of the parts was able to be fixed through insurance. Can't even tell it was in an accident, was fixed wonderfully. Even as a base model, there are all the necessities without uneeded extras. the 3.4L V6 gets through tough New England winters no problem, tackles hill on 2nd or 1st gear, and never slides. Roomy seat for the kids, front bench to seat up to 6 in a pinch, and a large trunk for luggage. Only minor complaints are dim headlights (even on high beams seem lower than most cars low beams), and no trunk light for nighttime. Other than that, HIGHLY recommended car for a family that doesn't quite need an SUV or minivan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Worst car ever purchased

by Al from Ohio | October 10, 2013

I bought this as my first car and have had nothing but problems. It was bought in 2011 and has be in the shop 10+ times. It had 90k and had to get a new transmission, head gasket, therostat and the gas gauge no longer works. It has been the worst car I've ever seen. Would not recommend it to any one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


not an american car guy

by ls impala from Santa ana ca | August 30, 2013

I've always had Japanese cars and never had an issue with them unless it was minor. My 96 Toyota Camry broke down and was desperate for a car. I ran into my 2004 Chevy impala and fell in love and so did my two boys they love it and the room it has for both there car seats is great. For the car it's self as heavy as it is its a great car to roll around town and to have fun on the freeway. Its the 3.8 non supercharged but I don't need it to go faster. It does its job and is very big inside and the trunk... so far haven't had much issues other than the regular oil changes brakes and maintenance items. I'm a mechanic so I make sure its always in tip top shape.... I keep it clean and it takes care of me... I hope to purchase a 2014 as in the near future ...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Love the SS

by Tinknocker from Delaware | January 29, 2013

I bought my first 04 Impala SS in 2006 with 30k on her. I had to replace tranny at 120k. I beat the heck out of this car and it took everything in stride. It now has 192k on it. I get 21 MPG and thats driving very fast...I usually top 100MPH everyday, so please stay out of the fast lane on I-95. This is the only car that I can ever say that I've loved. So much so, I just purchased a second 2004 SS with 65k on her. This car is a real head turner and I would highly recommend this car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


great commuter and all around car

by jay-jay from oak ridge,n.j. | December 4, 2012

purchased a used LS in 2009,with 62,000 miles,fell in love with it during test drive,took it home same day,3yrs later have over 170,000 on it,normal maintenace,brakes,oil changes,coolant flushes.Some minor issues,gauges (tach) does not function in cold weather,no other issues with gauges,had to replace front sway bar because it cracked in half,(hollow) I don't know whether it was replaced or it was factory equipped. And I am in the market for another one because last week I got rear ended,by someone doing about 45mph and I was at a dead stop,the impala took it like a champ,protected all passengers! Safety Rating from me is definitly a 5 STAR RATING!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very satisfied with the car purchased.

by Family man from Hinsdale | November 26, 2012

Second car purchased from this AutoAuction this year. The first experience was so positive came back for a second. The car pricing was reasonable and they worked with us. Al was personable and very helpful in all aspects. Very satisfied with the car purchased.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


SUPER IMPALA USED

by carscruiser from POMPANO, FL | April 17, 2012

MY 2004 IMPALA WAS A RENTAL THAT I BOUGHT FROM A DEALER FOR 14000 . IT TURNED OUT TO BE A GOOD BUY. IT HAS LITTLE PROBLEMS AND GETS 18-21 MPH AROUND TOWN AND EVEN BETTER ON THE ROAD. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO ANOTHER IMPALA WHEN FINANCES PERMIT. LOVE IT. LOVE CHEVYS

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Decided to not trade

by SS Impala Gal from South KC,MO. | April 16, 2012

Keeping my car because it's to good to trade. The SS Indy is stylish and gets excellent mileage. I would say to all that can find one, buy it and enjoy. Was offered a low ball price for it but dealer wants top dollar for half the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fourth Chevy

by Homer from Stratford, CT | January 14, 2012

Bought 04 used in 05, put on 60K with only a brake job and radiator flush and tires in over 6 years. I replaced the Goodyears with Continentals and run them 6 psi higher for tighter feel. Car has served me so I've treated it with synthetic oil whenever the CHANGE OIL light comes on every 6K or so. Power and performance are great, driver and passenger set their own temperatures, fold-down rear seats allowed a huge table from IKEA in the car with lid closed. May the fourth be with you too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nice larger Car

by ImpalaMan from South Whitley, IN | July 13, 2011

Very comfortable riding car, nice interior car. Lots of interior room which we have been looking for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 27 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Impala

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.