1997 Chevrolet Lumina

Change Vehicle
1997 Chevrolet Lumina
Available in 3 styles:  Lumina 4dr Sedan LS shown
Asking Price Range
$202–$5,154
Estimated MPG

20 city / 29.1 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Great car

by Car enthusiast from | January 17, 2014

Got mine with 224k on it had for about 8 months only had to replace spark pugs on it and i slid into a curb havent done any repairs to it now its got about 250k on it still running like a champ even after all the off roading driving through puddles and going through water that went up to the windows ive put through things a little s10or ranger could only dream of going through never got stuck once and still running great

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Faithful old steed

by Careful from | December 16, 2013

I got a 97 Lumina with the 3.1 V6 with 165K miles on it, now up to 281K miles! Biggest thing to watch out for is the lower intake manifold gasket leaking. It's a well know fault. Besides that, nothing big (gas tank, widow controls, water pump, time chain cover gasket). Finally rusting to death after 15 years, but it's running great right to the end! I'll shed a tear when I get rid of it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Junk, piece of junk

by LIL'JON from Penna. | April 2, 2012

bought 2 months ago with warrenty, been in shop 5 times with warrenty no help...complete junk 4sale.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


One of the best cars I had

by 2kidsinator from Shawnee,OK | February 5, 2012

I had this car for three years!It did not boom out on me.I just wanted something different because I drove it everyday.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


1997 Chevy Lumina LS

by Eric from | August 24, 2011

Purchased this car used 10 years ago. It has just under 160,000 miles on her. It is extremely comfortable with lots of front and rear leg room. I take it everywhere, including camping in the mountains along dirt roads. It has been rear ended twice and still going strong. Still drives straight and true. Great performance, great acceleration and gas milage. I get from 29 to 33 miles per gallon highway depending on speed and condtions. I have replaced the serpintine belt, starter and water pump. Other "consumable" items I have replaced include Spark plugs, Spark plug wires, transmission fliud and filter, coolant, battery, tires, fuel filter, head lights, brake lights and other exterior lamps.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


What a trooper - GREAT car!

by ColorfulAries from Cincinnati, OH | July 12, 2011

I've had Chevy's my whole life, and this one is the most reliable I have ever owned. I bought it at an auction (it was a company car for a local company) and it had 92,000 miles on it. That was 8 years ago. I still own it and drive it EVERY DAY and it has around 168,000 miles on it now...and showing NO signs of slowing down. I've replaced the very basic wear and tear items (alternator, tires, battery) and the most expensive thing I had to do was replace the catalytic converter. Good on gas, starts right up every time, even in winter, good in the snow, comfortable ride...the only downside to this car is the paint job. It is white and the paint started peeling off 4 years ago. I had it repainted and it's happening AGAIN! I'm guessing its something in the primer that is not letting the paint adhere properly. Other than that, I bet this old girl has another 100k miles in her, easy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


old faithful!

by bri from maryland | June 18, 2011

LOVE MY OL FAITH.! its the most reliable car among all my family and friends. It's old and falling apart but she's still running and won't give out..I'm NOT complaining but its my 1st and only car and I'd like to see myself in a new one soon. Not until this one gives out tho. I got this car at 69,000 miles. my grandmother gave it to me, she bought it new. Alternator, gas pump, water pump, and wheel bearings are the only things that's been replaced..thus far

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


its a good car but could be better

by eddie from calhoun,georgia | September 30, 2009

the only really bad thing about the car is the handling i mean don't get me wrong i love the performance.it has the power when you need it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Unrelenting transportation

by Luminator from Minnesota | April 2, 2008

Love this car. 220K and no signs of dieing at all. I have owned this car for nearly 100K of the miles that are on it and have done nothing but regular maintnence and beat on it. The suspension on the LS model is great after some of the shotty factory strut mounts and shocks are replaced. Corners amazingly flat and I actaully have a video of it catching 8-10 inches of air without bottoming out... Starts in -40 zero Minnesota mornings on the first try, and will go through bowtie high drifts with good tires. Only complaints are it chews through tires amazingly fast with aggressive driving and 3 of the 4 drivers seat supports are broken that needs to be replaced. Take care of it and it'll take care of you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by GM4Ever from San Diego, CA | June 2, 2007

We had the car for 9 years. Gas, Oil, Filters, Tires, Brakes. 167,000 miles and still running strong. I want a new car (but not the payments), but this Chevy just won't die. So I guess l'll have keep driving it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Lumina

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.