2000 Chevrolet Malibu

Change Vehicle
2000 Chevrolet Malibu

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2000 Chevrolet Malibu 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$566–$6,282
Estimated MPG

22 city / 30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

awsome

by gumby from illinois | May 20, 2014

bought the car with 200xxx miles for 500$ and currently at 217xxx and still running strong, still climbs up to the limiter at 105mph, fun car too throw around

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Excellent car

by luv.Malibu from Sacramento, CA | May 15, 2014

This is a great car, very reliable. Perfect 1st car!! Great car for someone who doesnt speed all the time!! Should consider buying this car...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by DriverOne from O.C., CA | August 3, 2013

My 2000 Chevy Malibu has been the most dependable car I've owned. It gets about 29-31 mpg highway and 22-24 city. I guess proper care and maintenance is the difference between some of the other post I've read.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


A sad story

by Used to like chevy from North Conway, NH | April 25, 2011

I bought this car brand new hoping for a good American car, but I got just the opposite, to start, the paint falls off and leaves the car looking like a rustbucket and it isnt particulary the nicest looking car, and part off this to blame is the winters, we get lots of snow soit really must rust the car, and the reliability in the winter is ok, for now, i guess. But the poorest thing about this car is the interior with the cheap cloth that stains easily, and the ajustable passenger seat doesnt exactly work the way it should. Then theres the engine, which sucks, and then theres the muffler that i had to replace, so far i think twice, one thing i forgot to mention, the power controls stopped working last year they work now though. But this is my last GM car, i'm on to bigger and better cars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


alero

by hoody from minn | January 20, 2011

alero was perfect which I would like another one the malibu I saw had a crack winsheild, dirty interior patchwork on body dirty trunk rag under hood proping the fluid bottle three different colors on frame car was hit looks like two or three times.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


we have a 1993 chev van ,with a wheelchair lift ,s

by SIR CD CULVER from | September 18, 2010

we have a 93 chev . van with a chair lift for my wife our son bought for us 5 years ago, and it is our baby it has served us very well and is still going strong the maintenance has been low and it is very dependable . so we are looking FOR ANOTHER CAR AND THE CHEV MAY JUST FILL OUR NEED. THANK YOU. OUR SONS NAME IS MARK C . A FIREMAN IN PERRY TWP.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Read this

by THE TRUE from | February 27, 2010

the motor has flood damage and dirty..water in the lights and no windshield wipers...think before buy please!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great Car

by Spitdevil from Frankfort IN | February 4, 2009

It is a great car. But every car can be a great car as long as u take care of them i have own several cars and as long as u change the oil and give them a tuneup and every hundred thousand miles change and flush the trans and raderater fuild u will always have a great car or truck

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Boy Was I Wrong

by College Bound Teen from Buffalo, NY | December 16, 2008

This is my second time reviewing this car. It got so much worse since I reviewed it last, I had to warn other buyers. I'm the formerly Malibu Teen from Long Island, NY. Ever since I got the car, I've had nothing but problems. While the car has nice features, it would help if they worked. Car came with an alarm, but went out after a few months. Would bug out whenever I opened the door and i had no key pad to stop it. The car whistles when I drive it. Took it to a shop, and they couldnt find the problem. The drivers side window has stopped working, the cd player broke as did the cassette, and now theres something wrong with the display board. And now most of this has occurred in about a week!!! Terrible terrible terrible. Can't wait to just get rid of this thing. It is just one big hastle! But otherwise it had good MPG, but whats one positive against a million negatives?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by MalibuNut from Collingwood, ON, CA | July 21, 2008

The car was purchased a year old with 52,000kms on the clock. The car was owned by the dealership that it was bought from, so I know it was taken care of. The car now has 152,000kms on it and there haven't been any problems what so ever, save for the A/C needing a recharge and there is some rust on the right rear wheel well. All in all the Malibu is a terrific car, that is reliable, dependable and even with 152,000kms at 9 years old, the car still acheives 540kms to a tank! I am looking forward to seeing what GM offers in the current generation Malibu when I am in the merket to get a new one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Malibu

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.