2005 Chevrolet Malibu

Change Vehicle
2005 Chevrolet Malibu
Available in 3 styles:  2005 Chevrolet Malibu 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$2,131–$9,155
Estimated MPG

22–24 city / 32–35 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

24 out of 27 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 27 reviews

Great all around car

by Tall guy from Philadelphia, PA | August 16, 2015

I love this car. I bought it used 5 years ago and it has been a tank since. No major issues besides normal maintenance and I've kept normal routines on oil changes etc. Biggest selling point is that I'm much taller than the average man, and I have plenty of leg room. Of course anyone behind me won't have any then, but I'm the driver so I'm they can deal with it. Has been extremely reliable and still runs great at 132,000 miles and going.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2005 Chevy Malibu

by Sports Car Enthusiast from West Palm Beach, Fl | April 3, 2015

Excellent car value for the money. Very reliable, great on gas, comfortable, and safe. The 4-cyl engine is great on gas. Reasonably-priced vehicle in good shape.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Malibu 2005

by cgo from Olympia, WA | October 1, 2013

First off, I wish I had gotten the car in something other than gray. Nobody on the road sees a gray car! I purchased the 2005 Malibu in 2010 from a dealership. The car originated in Hawaii and I think that 'added' to the wiring problems (door locks, windows, mirrors, alarm, clicking in steering column). The front end needed repairs (stabilization bar, joints, bearing). I just replaced the shocks and blown struts, which seems too soon. In 8 years, I have put 5k in repairs and scheduled maintenance; plus more money for tune-ups, oil & fluids. The car has all weather tires, making the road noise louder throughout the interior. Note: severe side winds will move the car in the other lane- it's not a full size car. The front seats can be adjusted to a fairly upright position making it comfortable for my back. The passenger seat broke when i gave a ride to someone around 300 lbs. The seats stain easily, even from just rain. Six months ago I replaced the gas cap. Really? things don't last. The emergency break doesn't work properly, even though it's been repaired. One nice feature is, the car has room inside and the trunk is a good size. With 4 people, it did well on a road trip from Olympia, WA to Calif. Love the 6 cyl! Heater and air-conditioner are great. Even though the upkeep has been costly, it has been reliable and safe.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


very satisfied so far

by mr.ed from elk river ,mn. | May 20, 2013

very comfortable ride and handling.very good power and gas mileage.alot of amenities with this car.(would rate the features with this car 5 stars)has been reliable and a good buy for me.my wife is alot smaller than me and she would rate this car 5 stars.cons for me; cloth interiors stain to easy,center console lid very cheesy,a little tight on seating.But over all we have enjoyed the car very much

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great small family car

by Jeff from Detroit, mi | December 12, 2012

It's great step up from the neon we had. Fits child seat comfortable. Driver seat goes back for plenty of leg room for a 6'5 person.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


LOVE MY MALIBU

by Bu Owner from columbus, oh | May 30, 2012

This, by far, has been the best car I've owned! Can drive all day and never get tired. Great features, all controls are easy to reach. Interior is very comfortable, even my 6'3" hubby enjoys driving it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love this car!

by Judi from Las Cruces, NM | March 31, 2012

I just bought this car from ? & I love it. Only had it for 4 days, though. It's got a great size trunk, the radio is wonderful..haven't tried the CD player yet. Tires are like new & it's so easy to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


ok

by fulasheet from tpa | December 15, 2011

4 cyl eng runs good, plenty of power with 1-2 people problems occur with switch logic circuit boards, window sw assy drivers side, sw's for all windows, $95 to replace. a/c switch module assy had been replaced under warrantee. now turn signal sw circ board intermittanly fails about $120 for that part. later models have more reliable circuits

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


fastest best handling car I have ever owned

by sports car enthusiast from East Smethport,Pa | May 19, 2011

The computer tells you everything you need to know about gas and oil life and 2 trip odometers make sure you can compute your milage correctly. The faux beige convertible top makes a nice unusual touch along with the ruby red bottom.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Awesome car

by Malibu293614 from Florida | December 8, 2010

The price i got for this car was really good. got for $4,200. i had it for 5 months and it hasnt let me down. Im glad i got this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 27 reviews

Featured Services for this Chevrolet Malibu

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.